US public pension profile· WV PERS
West Virginia Public Employees’ Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
West Virginia ·Fiscal year 2025
WV PERS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 9.7 billion
- Total membership
- 99,880
- Funded ratio
- 102.65%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.25%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 49.60% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 14.40% |
| Private equity | 0.00% |
| Real estate | 0.00% |
| Hedge funds | 11.00% |
| Cash | 0.30% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 11.10% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 10.70% |
| Ten years | 8.70% |
WV PERS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 2.7 billion | 61,778 | 84.40% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 2.6 billion | 63,124 | 75.40% | 7.50% |
| 2003 | USD 2.7 billion | 64,580 | 73.10% | 7.50% |
| 2004 | USD 3.1 billion | 65,394 | 80.00% | 7.50% |
| 2005 | USD 3.4 billion | 66,925 | 83.60% | 7.50% |
| 2006 | USD 3.7 billion | 68,278 | 86.80% | 7.50% |
| 2007 | USD 4.3 billion | 69,807 | 97.00% | 7.50% |
| 2008 | USD 3.9 billion | 70,963 | 84.20% | 7.50% |
| 2009 | USD 3.2 billion | 72,339 | 79.70% | 7.50% |
| 2010 | USD 3.9 billion | 73,381 | 74.60% | 7.50% |
| 2011 | USD 4.5 billion | 75,078 | 78.40% | 7.50% |
| 2012 | USD 4.5 billion | 76,551 | 77.60% | 7.50% |
| 2013 | USD 5.0 billion | 78,251 | 79.70% | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 5.8 billion | 79,747 | 83.05% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 5.9 billion | 81,443 | 86.78% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 5.7 billion | 83,131 | 89.01% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 6.4 billion | 85,200 | 91.45% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 6.8 billion | 86,433 | 92.94% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 6.9 billion | 88,366 | 93.85% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 6.9 billion | 90,162 | 94.97% | 7.50% |
| 2021 | USD 8.8 billion | 91,962 | 97.53% | 7.25% |
| 2022 | USD 8.0 billion | 93,365 | 98.84% | 7.25% |
| 2023 | USD 8.4 billion | 95,500 | 97.61% | 7.25% |
| 2024 | USD 9.1 billion | 98,314 | 101.94% | 7.25% |
| 2025 | USD 9.7 billion | 99,880 | 102.65% | 7.25% |
WV PERS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 59.00% | 41.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2002 | 59.00% | 40.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2003 | 61.00% | 38.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2004 | 61.00% | 38.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2005 | 60.40% | 38.61% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.99% |
| 2006 | 57.43% | 41.58% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.99% |
| 2007 | 61.39% | 37.62% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.99% |
| 2008 | 48.00% | 41.00% | 11.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2009 | 51.14% | 28.66% | 7.76% | 0.50% | 11.44% | 0.50% |
| 2010 | 47.51% | 25.10% | 10.86% | 5.88% | 10.26% | 0.40% |
| 2011 | 50.10% | 28.09% | 10.06% | 2.49% | 8.86% | 0.40% |
| 2012 | 49.10% | 23.96% | 9.94% | 6.26% | 10.14% | 0.60% |
| 2013 | 50.95% | 20.74% | 9.67% | 8.18% | 10.17% | 0.30% |
| 2014 | 55.14% | 15.35% | 9.77% | 9.17% | 10.27% | 0.30% |
| 2015 | 54.08% | 14.74% | 9.76% | 10.36% | 10.66% | 0.40% |
| 2016 | 54.40% | 13.30% | 10.40% | 10.90% | 10.90% | 0.10% |
| 2017 | 53.30% | 14.10% | 10.50% | 10.40% | 11.50% | 0.20% |
| 2018 | 50.30% | 13.60% | 11.33% | 9.75% | 14.92% | 0.10% |
| 2019 | 50.30% | 12.00% | 11.82% | 10.20% | 15.47% | 0.20% |
| 2020 | 49.99% | 11.78% | 12.98% | 10.45% | 14.47% | 0.33% |
| 2021 | 50.10% | 14.00% | 13.86% | 8.80% | 13.04% | 0.20% |
| 2022 | 46.60% | 13.60% | 14.62% | 10.82% | 14.26% | 0.10% |
| 2023 | 47.50% | 14.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 10.10% | 0.10% |
| 2024 | 47.50% | 15.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 11.00% | 0.30% |
| 2025 | 49.60% | 14.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 11.00% | 0.30% |
WV PERS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -0.30% | 6.70% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -2.90% | 4.40% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 4.90% | 3.30% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 15.20% | 4.80% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 10.70% | 5.30% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 9.50% | 7.50% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 17.60% | 11.50% | 7.90% |
| 2008 | -6.50% | 8.90% | 6.10% |
| 2009 | -15.60% | 2.40% | 3.60% |
| 2010 | 16.00% | 3.30% | 4.30% |
| 2011 | 20.70% | 5.40% | 6.30% |
| 2012 | 1.10% | 2.20% | 6.80% |
| 2013 | 13.10% | 6.20% | 7.60% |
| 2014 | 17.90% | 13.60% | 7.80% |
| 2015 | 3.90% | 11.10% | 7.10% |
| 2016 | -0.10% | 7.00% | 6.20% |
| 2017 | 15.80% | 9.90% | 6.00% |
| 2018 | 9.80% | 9.30% | 7.70% |
| 2019 | 6.00% | 6.90% | 10.20% |
| 2020 | 3.30% | 6.80% | 8.90% |
| 2021 | 32.10% | 12.90% | 9.90% |
| 2022 | -6.40% | 8.20% | 9.10% |
| 2023 | 8.60% | 8.00% | 8.60% |
| 2024 | 11.50% | 9.10% | 8.00% |
| 2025 | 11.10% | 10.70% | 8.70% |