US public pension profile
Texas Law Enforcement and Custodial Officer Supplemental Retirement Fund
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Texas ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 2.1 billion
- Total membership
- 90,270
- Funded ratio
- 102.13%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 52.26% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 10.99% |
| Private equity | 0.00% |
| Real estate | 0.00% |
| Hedge funds | 5.68% |
| Cash | 12.85% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 8.90% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 10.06% |
| Ten years | 8.67% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.6 billion | 43,176 | 131.60% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.6 billion | 44,443 | 124.70% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 0.6 billion | 44,527 | 111.50% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.6 billion | 42,895 | 109.30% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 0.7 billion | 42,232 | 103.10% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 0.7 billion | 42,454 | 101.70% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 0.8 billion | 42,245 | 98.00% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.7 billion | 39,881 | 92.00% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 0.6 billion | 44,505 | 89.70% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 0.7 billion | 49,205 | 86.30% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 0.7 billion | 50,319 | 86.40% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 0.7 billion | 53,010 | 82.00% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 0.8 billion | 56,691 | 73.30% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 0.9 billion | 58,419 | 73.22% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 0.8 billion | 62,333 | 72.03% | 8.00% |
| 2016 | USD 0.9 billion | 65,784 | 71.13% | 8.00% |
| 2017 | USD 0.9 billion | 67,554 | 66.00% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 1.0 billion | 70,089 | 65.61% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 0.9 billion | 72,484 | 65.30% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 0.9 billion | 75,438 | 60.14% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 1.1 billion | 77,467 | 60.45% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 1.0 billion | 79,369 | 58.64% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 1.0 billion | 83,194 | 100.01% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 2.0 billion | 85,441 | 101.49% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 2.1 billion | 90,270 | 102.13% | 7.00% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 58.36% | 41.60% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.04% |
| 2004 | 59.85% | 40.09% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.06% |
| 2005 | 62.44% | 37.19% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.37% |
| 2006 | 62.50% | 36.95% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.55% |
| 2007 | 63.21% | 36.12% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.67% |
| 2008 | 60.68% | 36.93% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.27% |
| 2009 | 57.65% | 38.75% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.27% |
| 2010 | 60.14% | 35.71% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.10% |
| 2011 | 59.28% | 34.28% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.09% |
| 2012 | 55.78% | 34.43% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.17% |
| 2013 | 53.81% | 31.61% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.91% |
| 2014 | 53.89% | 25.62% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.75% |
| 2015 | 50.93% | 23.24% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.90% |
| 2016 | 47.86% | 23.58% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.30% |
| 2017 | 47.44% | 23.47% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.02% |
| 2018 | 46.94% | 23.16% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.27% |
| 2019 | 40.60% | 26.94% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.53% |
| 2020 | 40.60% | 26.94% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.53% |
| 2021 | 40.46% | 20.85% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.90% |
| 2022 | 35.83% | 20.42% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.71% |
| 2023 | 32.17% | 20.97% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.77% |
| 2024 | 33.99% | 19.61% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.26% |
| 2025 | 52.26% | 10.99% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.68% | 12.85% |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -6.91% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -7.17% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 9.20% | 3.72% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 11.69% | 2.89% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 12.71% | 3.50% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 8.83% | 6.79% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 13.88% | 11.24% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -4.58% | 8.28% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -6.60% | 4.48% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 6.65% | 3.33% | 3.42% |
| 2011 | 12.58% | 4.03% | 5.40% |
| 2012 | 8.22% | 2.98% | 7.03% |
| 2013 | 10.07% | 5.96% | 7.12% |
| 2014 | 14.70% | 10.41% | 7.40% |
| 2015 | 0.49% | 9.10% | 6.18% |
| 2016 | 5.32% | 7.66% | 5.83% |
| 2017 | 12.15% | 8.43% | 5.67% |
| 2018 | 9.58% | 8.33% | 7.14% |
| 2019 | 3.04% | 6.03% | 8.20% |
| 2020 | 6.85% | 7.34% | 8.22% |
| 2021 | 25.51% | 11.17% | 9.32% |
| 2022 | -1.55% | 8.31% | 8.37% |
| 2023 | 6.75% | 7.75% | 8.04% |
| 2024 | 12.51% | 9.63% | 7.79% |
| 2025 | 8.90% | 10.06% | 8.67% |