US public pension profile· SPTRFA
St. Paul Teachers Retirement Fund
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Minnesota ·Fiscal year 2025
SPTRFA: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 1.4 billion
- Total membership
- 13,695
- Funded ratio
- 69.68%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 10.80% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 10.31% |
| Ten years | 8.05% |
SPTRFA: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.8 billion | 8,716 | 81.91% | 8.50% |
| 2002 | USD 0.8 billion | 9,335 | 78.82% | 8.50% |
| 2003 | USD 0.8 billion | 9,403 | 75.57% | 8.50% |
| 2004 | USD 0.9 billion | 9,854 | 71.82% | 8.50% |
| 2005 | USD 0.9 billion | 9,909 | 69.65% | 8.50% |
| 2006 | USD 1.0 billion | 9,944 | 69.11% | 8.50% |
| 2007 | USD 1.2 billion | 9,949 | 73.01% | 8.50% |
| 2008 | USD 1.0 billion | 10,070 | 75.13% | 8.50% |
| 2009 | USD 0.8 billion | 10,147 | 72.20% | 8.50% |
| 2010 | USD 0.8 billion | 10,163 | 68.05% | 8.50% |
| 2011 | USD 1.0 billion | 10,368 | 69.99% | 8.50% |
| 2012 | USD 0.9 billion | 10,432 | 61.98% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 0.9 billion | 10,688 | 60.40% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 1.0 billion | 10,933 | 61.81% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 1.0 billion | 11,262 | 62.61% | 8.00% |
| 2016 | USD 1.0 billion | 12,192 | 63.25% | 8.00% |
| 2017 | USD 1.0 billion | 12,380 | 64.45% | 8.00% |
| 2018 | USD 1.1 billion | 12,536 | 63.70% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 1.1 billion | 12,702 | 63.81% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 1.0 billion | 12,872 | 64.46% | 7.50% |
| 2021 | USD 1.3 billion | 12,927 | 67.06% | 7.50% |
| 2022 | USD 1.2 billion | 13,210 | 68.73% | 7.50% |
| 2023 | USD 1.2 billion | 13,384 | 65.25% | 7.50% |
| 2024 | USD 1.3 billion | 13,637 | 67.24% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 1.4 billion | 13,695 | 69.68% | 7.00% |
SPTRFA: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 70.09% | 27.81% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.49% |
| 2002 | 66.79% | 31.08% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.63% |
| 2003 | 66.85% | 31.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.57% |
| 2004 | 71.54% | 25.38% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.03% |
| 2005 | 72.01% | 18.83% | 0.00% | 8.35% | 0.00% | 0.34% |
| 2006 | 72.26% | 16.83% | 0.00% | 8.94% | 0.00% | 1.32% |
| 2007 | 72.85% | 17.20% | 0.00% | 8.22% | 0.00% | 0.33% |
| 2008 | 68.74% | 21.04% | 0.00% | 8.74% | 0.00% | 0.39% |
| 2009 | 71.87% | 17.69% | 0.00% | 8.03% | 0.00% | 1.05% |
| 2010 | 66.57% | 20.63% | 0.00% | 8.39% | 0.00% | 2.43% |
| 2011 | 71.24% | 15.93% | 0.00% | 8.74% | 0.00% | 1.91% |
| 2012 | 67.72% | 18.06% | 0.00% | 10.43% | 0.00% | 1.93% |
| 2013 | 68.19% | 16.75% | 1.36% | 10.16% | 2.65% | 0.90% |
| 2014 | 65.57% | 20.02% | 1.52% | 0.00% | 2.63% | 0.84% |
| 2015 | 60.45% | 20.25% | 2.59% | 0.00% | 1.81% | 1.28% |
| 2016 | 57.78% | 17.15% | 3.47% | 0.00% | 2.31% | 4.04% |
| 2017 | 59.75% | 16.89% | 4.30% | 0.00% | 3.03% | 1.85% |
| 2018 | 60.42% | 15.17% | 5.27% | 0.00% | 2.66% | 2.68% |
| 2019 | 56.10% | 15.85% | 6.44% | 0.00% | 1.57% | 6.42% |
| 2020 | 59.25% | 13.64% | 8.92% | 0.00% | 0.70% | 4.27% |
| 2021 | 61.52% | 13.32% | 8.46% | 0.00% | 3.22% | 6.18% |
| 2022 | 55.56% | 12.88% | 12.33% | 0.00% | 2.80% | 6.98% |
| 2023 | 62.26% | 14.43% | 12.28% | 0.00% | 3.02% | 1.41% |
| 2024 | 59.28% | 21.30% | 11.88% | 0.00% | 0.56% | 1.07% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SPTRFA: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -2.35% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -3.65% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 2.90% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 20.09% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 12.09% | 5.44% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 12.60% | 8.49% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 19.80% | 13.32% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -6.60% | 11.14% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -18.80% | 2.78% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 13.40% | 3.02% | 4.22% |
| 2011 | 25.01% | 5.19% | 6.83% |
| 2012 | 0.15% | 1.49% | 7.24% |
| 2013 | 13.50% | 5.52% | 8.30% |
| 2014 | 18.50% | 13.81% | 8.15% |
| 2015 | 2.65% | 11.57% | 7.21% |
| 2016 | 0.34% | 6.77% | 5.98% |
| 2017 | 13.93% | 9.56% | 5.45% |
| 2018 | 9.75% | 8.82% | 7.16% |
| 2019 | 5.73% | 6.37% | 10.03% |
| 2020 | 0.10% | 5.84% | 8.66% |
| 2021 | 32.65% | 11.91% | 9.31% |
| 2022 | -9.37% | 6.91% | 8.22% |
| 2023 | 9.43% | 6.84% | 7.83% |
| 2024 | 12.04% | 8.09% | 7.23% |
| 2025 | 10.80% | 10.31% | 8.05% |