US public pension profile· PSRSSTL
Public School Retirement System of the City of St. Louis
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Missouri ·Fiscal year 2025
PSRSSTL: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
PSRSSTL: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.9 billion | 10,297 | 80.50% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.9 billion | 11,000 | 82.10% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 1.0 billion | 10,283 | 84.00% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 1.1 billion | 9,703 | 86.30% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 1.1 billion | 10,134 | 87.60% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 1.1 billion | 10,582 | 87.20% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 1.2 billion | 11,112 | 87.60% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.8 billion | 11,198 | 87.60% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 0.9 billion | 11,239 | 88.40% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 0.9 billion | 10,858 | 88.60% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 0.9 billion | 11,282 | 84.90% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 0.9 billion | 10,945 | 84.30% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 1.0 billion | 11,367 | 84.40% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 0.9 billion | 11,647 | 84.76% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 0.9 billion | 11,892 | 84.94% | 8.00% |
| 2016 | USD 0.9 billion | 12,216 | 73.66% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 0.9 billion | 12,455 | 72.81% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 0.8 billion | 12,436 | 71.57% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 0.9 billion | 12,859 | 71.58% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 0.9 billion | 12,930 | 73.22% | 7.50% |
| 2021 | USD 1.0 billion | 13,213 | 73.70% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 0.8 billion | 13,818 | 73.26% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 0.8 billion | 14,061 | 70.54% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 0.9 billion | 14,309 | 68.45% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7.00% |
PSRSSTL: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 47.50% | 35.07% | 5.01% | 0.00% | 10.42% | 2.00% |
| 2002 | 44.00% | 40.80% | 5.00% | 0.00% | 9.90% | 0.30% |
| 2003 | 51.35% | 34.17% | 2.30% | 1.50% | 10.39% | 0.30% |
| 2004 | 48.10% | 26.10% | 1.10% | 4.70% | 17.20% | 2.80% |
| 2005 | 51.20% | 23.65% | 0.70% | 4.61% | 17.23% | 2.60% |
| 2006 | 50.55% | 23.22% | 0.70% | 4.90% | 17.52% | 3.10% |
| 2007 | 48.50% | 23.80% | 1.10% | 4.90% | 19.30% | 2.40% |
| 2008 | 40.46% | 26.07% | 2.30% | 6.59% | 20.68% | 3.90% |
| 2009 | 47.41% | 20.22% | 2.59% | 4.68% | 21.81% | 3.29% |
| 2010 | 48.20% | 19.26% | 2.79% | 5.19% | 21.76% | 2.79% |
| 2011 | 43.11% | 18.80% | 3.00% | 5.50% | 24.00% | 3.00% |
| 2012 | 45.00% | 18.80% | 2.90% | 5.10% | 22.70% | 2.90% |
| 2013 | 47.85% | 16.38% | 2.40% | 5.10% | 21.38% | 4.60% |
| 2014 | 47.00% | 16.37% | 2.00% | 5.19% | 22.36% | 4.99% |
| 2015 | 47.55% | 16.52% | 2.20% | 5.71% | 21.22% | 5.10% |
| 2016 | 45.90% | 19.46% | 2.28% | 6.16% | 20.55% | 5.66% |
| 2017 | 47.85% | 19.28% | 2.80% | 6.09% | 19.18% | 4.80% |
| 2018 | 44.40% | 21.10% | 5.20% | 5.90% | 18.30% | 5.10% |
| 2019 | 49.40% | 22.70% | 5.80% | 5.40% | 10.70% | 6.00% |
| 2020 | 48.85% | 23.48% | 6.19% | 5.79% | 11.59% | 4.10% |
| 2021 | 49.35% | 22.32% | 8.11% | 5.61% | 11.11% | 3.50% |
| 2022 | 48.65% | 19.18% | 10.99% | 7.29% | 9.99% | 3.90% |
| 2023 | 49.85% | 20.92% | 12.21% | 5.71% | 8.91% | 2.40% |
| 2024 | 48.20% | 21.10% | 13.90% | 5.20% | 9.00% | 2.60% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
PSRSSTL: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -2.00% | 5.60% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -5.90% | 4.10% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 22.80% | 6.30% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 12.00% | 5.10% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 6.30% | 6.20% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 13.60% | 9.40% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 9.80% | 12.90% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -24.70% | 2.30% | Not reported |
| 2009 | 20.90% | 3.80% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 14.90% | 5.40% | 5.81% |
| 2011 | -0.10% | 2.80% | 6.01% |
| 2012 | 12.40% | 3.20% | 7.92% |
| 2013 | 15.80% | 12.60% | 7.28% |
| 2014 | 4.50% | 9.30% | 6.54% |
| 2015 | -0.50% | 6.30% | 5.84% |
| 2016 | 6.30% | 7.60% | 5.14% |
| 2017 | 16.20% | 8.30% | 5.74% |
| 2018 | -5.00% | 4.10% | 8.22% |
| 2019 | 16.80% | 6.40% | 7.85% |
| 2020 | 10.40% | 8.50% | 7.42% |
| 2021 | 12.36% | 10.15% | 8.69% |
| 2022 | -10.98% | 4.52% | 6.19% |
| 2023 | 11.43% | 7.88% | 5.78% |
| 2024 | 7.30% | 6.32% | 6.06% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |