US public pension profile
St. Louis Police Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Missouri ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 1.0 billion
- Total membership
- 2,837
- Funded ratio
- 81.69%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 5.34% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.93% |
| Ten years | 8.48% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.7 billion | Not reported | Not reported | 8.25% |
| 2002 | USD 0.6 billion | Not reported | Not reported | 7.75% |
| 2003 | USD 0.6 billion | Not reported | Not reported | 7.75% |
| 2004 | USD 0.6 billion | Not reported | Not reported | 7.75% |
| 2005 | USD 0.7 billion | Not reported | Not reported | 7.75% |
| 2006 | USD 0.7 billion | Not reported | 94.10% | 7.75% |
| 2007 | USD 0.7 billion | Not reported | 97.00% | 7.75% |
| 2008 | USD 0.8 billion | Not reported | 93.60% | 7.75% |
| 2009 | USD 0.7 billion | Not reported | 90.90% | 7.75% |
| 2010 | USD 0.6 billion | 3,234 | 88.10% | 7.75% |
| 2011 | USD 0.6 billion | 3,267 | 81.30% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 0.6 billion | 3,212 | 77.90% | 7.75% |
| 2013 | USD 0.7 billion | 3,185 | 78.50% | 7.75% |
| 2014 | USD 0.7 billion | 3,164 | 80.10% | 7.75% |
| 2015 | USD 0.7 billion | 3,145 | 79.93% | 7.75% |
| 2016 | USD 0.7 billion | 3,173 | 78.00% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 0.8 billion | 3,169 | 79.53% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 0.8 billion | 3,181 | 78.36% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 0.8 billion | 3,203 | 79.36% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 0.8 billion | 3,219 | 81.36% | 7.50% |
| 2021 | USD 0.9 billion | 3,115 | 79.76% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 0.8 billion | 3,041 | 79.00% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 0.8 billion | 2,936 | 77.65% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 0.9 billion | 2,875 | 79.88% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 1.0 billion | 2,837 | 81.69% | 7.00% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2018 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2019 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2020 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2021 | 51.48% | 14.85% | 0.00% | 5.94% | 2.97% | 6.93% |
| 2022 | 46.00% | 14.00% | 0.00% | 9.00% | 3.00% | 3.00% |
| 2023 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 9.56% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -6.22% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | -5.71% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 16.37% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 11.43% | 4.67% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 11.47% | 5.03% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 8.67% | 8.17% | Not reported |
| 2008 | 14.42% | 12.44% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -13.81% | 5.89% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 1.00% | 3.83% | 4.25% |
| 2011 | 11.20% | 3.78% | 4.40% |
| 2012 | -1.65% | 1.73% | 4.90% |
| 2013 | 7.08% | 0.39% | 6.24% |
| 2014 | -1.14% | 3.18% | 4.52% |
| 2015 | 7.85% | 4.54% | 4.18% |
| 2016 | 13.09% | 4.89% | 4.33% |
| 2017 | 7.56% | 6.79% | 4.23% |
| 2018 | 6.72% | 6.72% | 3.50% |
| 2019 | 2.29% | 7.45% | 5.29% |
| 2020 | 5.90% | 7.06% | 5.79% |
| 2021 | 25.82% | 9.36% | 7.10% |
| 2022 | -7.27% | 6.17% | 6.48% |
| 2023 | 13.02% | 7.39% | 7.05% |
| 2024 | 15.56% | 10.04% | 8.74% |
| 2025 | 5.34% | 9.93% | 8.48% |