US public pension profile
St. Louis Employees
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Missouri ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 0.9 billion
- Total membership
- 12,625
- Funded ratio
- 73.48%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.25%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 9.69% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 8.35% |
| Ten years | 7.66% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.4 billion | 11,900 | 86.01% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.4 billion | 12,074 | 75.26% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 0.4 billion | 12,045 | 73.75% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.5 billion | 11,841 | 71.64% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 0.5 billion | 11,903 | 79.22% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 0.6 billion | 11,866 | 79.62% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 0.7 billion | 11,966 | 88.26% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.6 billion | 12,068 | 88.01% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 0.6 billion | 12,076 | 84.02% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 0.6 billion | 11,915 | 81.84% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 0.6 billion | 11,797 | 78.64% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 0.7 billion | 11,913 | 75.33% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 0.7 billion | 12,115 | 77.06% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 0.8 billion | 12,190 | 80.92% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 0.7 billion | 12,247 | 80.62% | 8.00% |
| 2016 | USD 0.8 billion | 12,305 | 81.88% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 0.8 billion | 12,350 | 82.66% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 0.8 billion | 12,392 | 83.39% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 0.8 billion | 12,487 | 81.80% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 0.8 billion | 12,435 | 77.62% | 7.25% |
| 2021 | USD 0.9 billion | 12,264 | 79.26% | 7.25% |
| 2022 | USD 0.8 billion | 12,156 | 76.89% | 7.25% |
| 2023 | USD 0.8 billion | 12,384 | 73.50% | 7.25% |
| 2024 | USD 0.9 billion | 12,625 | 73.48% | 7.25% |
| 2025 | USD 0.9 billion | 12,625 | 73.48% | 7.25% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | 61.78% | 23.81% | 0.00% | 10.28% | 2.68% | 1.45% |
| 2010 | 62.91% | 25.90% | 0.00% | 8.71% | 1.43% | 1.05% |
| 2011 | 64.38% | 22.53% | 0.00% | 8.89% | 3.65% | 0.55% |
| 2012 | 62.16% | 24.03% | 0.00% | 9.98% | 3.39% | 0.44% |
| 2013 | 52.11% | 22.40% | 7.33% | 10.21% | 7.78% | 0.18% |
| 2014 | 50.60% | 20.93% | 8.53% | 9.78% | 9.81% | 0.34% |
| 2015 | 50.29% | 21.35% | 7.07% | 10.60% | 9.96% | 0.73% |
| 2016 | 48.72% | 23.02% | 6.04% | 12.23% | 9.62% | 0.38% |
| 2017 | 51.87% | 21.39% | 5.75% | 11.20% | 9.40% | 0.39% |
| 2018 | 52.54% | 21.03% | 5.50% | 10.70% | 9.66% | 0.57% |
| 2019 | 55.30% | 25.20% | 0.00% | 11.80% | 7.40% | 0.30% |
| 2020 | 57.16% | 21.42% | 0.00% | 11.91% | 7.41% | 2.10% |
| 2021 | 57.80% | 21.90% | 0.00% | 12.50% | 7.00% | 0.80% |
| 2022 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2023 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -11.86% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -6.37% | 0.94% | 7.56% |
| 2003 | 17.54% | 3.59% | 8.16% |
| 2004 | 11.22% | 3.01% | 8.01% |
| 2005 | 14.99% | 4.60% | 7.94% |
| 2006 | 11.35% | 9.81% | 8.06% |
| 2007 | 14.65% | 13.83% | 7.52% |
| 2008 | -12.76% | 6.55% | 5.21% |
| 2009 | -3.09% | 3.85% | 4.49% |
| 2010 | 10.11% | 3.51% | 3.96% |
| 2011 | 1.79% | 1.67% | 5.47% |
| 2012 | 16.95% | 2.08% | 7.84% |
| 2013 | 13.04% | 7.50% | 7.42% |
| 2014 | 9.71% | 10.20% | 7.27% |
| 2015 | -3.79% | 7.27% | 5.38% |
| 2016 | 9.45% | 8.84% | 5.19% |
| 2017 | 11.90% | 7.88% | 4.94% |
| 2018 | 6.48% | 6.60% | 7.05% |
| 2019 | 1.51% | 4.96% | 7.55% |
| 2020 | 5.80% | 6.97% | 7.12% |
| 2021 | 21.10% | 9.16% | 9.00% |
| 2022 | -13.43% | 3.69% | 5.77% |
| 2023 | 9.63% | 4.30% | 5.44% |
| 2024 | 18.46% | 7.57% | 6.26% |
| 2025 | 9.69% | 8.35% | 7.66% |