US public pension profile
Sioux Falls City Firefighters’ Pension Fund (CFPF)
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
South Dakota ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.1 billion | 254 | 104.70% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.1 billion | 267 | 101.40% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 0.1 billion | 280 | 98.40% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.1 billion | 289 | 93.10% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 0.1 billion | 298 | 92.00% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 0.1 billion | 316 | 94.30% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 0.1 billion | 318 | 97.90% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.1 billion | 327 | 91.20% | 7.75% |
| 2009 | USD 0.1 billion | 331 | 86.40% | 7.75% |
| 2010 | USD 0.1 billion | 334 | 87.00% | 7.75% |
| 2011 | USD 0.1 billion | 336 | 84.10% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 0.1 billion | 341 | 78.70% | 7.75% |
| 2013 | USD 0.1 billion | 337 | 80.40% | 7.65% |
| 2014 | USD 0.1 billion | 331 | 81.96% | 7.65% |
| 2015 | USD 0.1 billion | 326 | 82.44% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 0.1 billion | 324 | 85.73% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 0.2 billion | 322 | 99.52% | 7.30% |
| 2018 | USD 0.2 billion | 318 | 98.50% | 7.30% |
| 2019 | USD 0.2 billion | 315 | 97.95% | 7.00% |
| 2020 | USD 0.2 billion | 310 | 98.63% | 7.30% |
| 2021 | USD 0.2 billion | 308 | 114.24% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 0.2 billion | 306 | 111.04% | 7.30% |
| 2023 | USD 0.2 billion | 301 | 109.79% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 0.2 billion | 297 | 107.92% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | 69.80% | 24.40% | 0.00% | 5.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2013 | 72.43% | 21.98% | 0.00% | 5.59% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2015 | 68.90% | 24.10% | 0.00% | 7.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2016 | 70.20% | 22.80% | 0.00% | 7.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2017 | 70.17% | 22.32% | 0.00% | 6.61% | 0.00% | 0.90% |
| 2018 | 64.80% | 25.60% | 0.00% | 7.90% | 0.00% | 1.70% |
| 2019 | 68.60% | 24.50% | 0.00% | 6.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2020 | 71.30% | 22.50% | 0.00% | 6.20% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2021 | 68.20% | 22.70% | 0.00% | 7.80% | 0.00% | 1.30% |
| 2022 | 65.30% | 24.70% | 0.00% | 10.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2023 | 68.70% | 23.50% | 0.00% | 7.70% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -1.59% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -10.54% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 27.10% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 14.20% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 9.20% | 6.89% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 16.30% | 10.52% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 8.60% | 14.89% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -26.40% | 3.00% | Not reported |
| 2009 | 24.40% | 4.78% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 14.80% | 5.83% | 6.36% |
| 2011 | 2.60% | 3.21% | 6.80% |
| 2012 | 14.80% | 4.40% | 9.50% |
| 2013 | 20.50% | 15.20% | 8.90% |
| 2014 | 7.10% | 11.78% | 8.22% |
| 2015 | 0.15% | 8.77% | 7.28% |
| 2016 | 8.76% | 10.06% | 6.57% |
| 2017 | 17.03% | 10.48% | 7.37% |
| 2018 | -3.83% | 5.60% | 10.29% |
| 2019 | 20.49% | 8.11% | 9.94% |
| 2020 | 13.17% | 10.79% | 9.78% |
| 2021 | 14.88% | 12.01% | 11.03% |
| 2022 | -13.99% | 5.32% | 7.87% |
| 2023 | 13.63% | 8.89% | 7.23% |
| 2024 | 10.33% | 6.99% | 7.55% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |