US public pension profile
Sioux Falls City Employee's Retirement System (CERS)
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
South Dakota ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 0.7 billion
- Funded ratio
- 106.22%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 13.57% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 6.88% |
| Ten years | 8.62% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,157 | 98.30% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,220 | 95.60% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,262 | 95.10% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,297 | 93.30% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,327 | 92.50% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,343 | 95.80% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,368 | 96.70% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,384 | 92.60% | 7.75% |
| 2009 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,413 | 87.70% | 7.75% |
| 2010 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,434 | 89.50% | 7.75% |
| 2011 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,465 | 87.40% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,493 | 81.30% | 7.75% |
| 2013 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,501 | 83.40% | 7.65% |
| 2014 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,478 | 84.22% | 7.65% |
| 2015 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,442 | 84.33% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,416 | 87.25% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 0.5 billion | 1,399 | 106.89% | 7.30% |
| 2018 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,382 | 101.41% | 7.30% |
| 2019 | USD 0.5 billion | 1,365 | 99.89% | 7.30% |
| 2020 | USD 0.6 billion | 1,344 | 101.34% | 7.30% |
| 2021 | USD 0.6 billion | 1,328 | 115.60% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 0.5 billion | 1,313 | 110.84% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 0.6 billion | 1,296 | 108.88% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 0.6 billion | Not reported | 106.98% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 0.7 billion | Not reported | 106.22% | 7.00% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | 70.73% | 22.08% | 0.00% | 6.29% | 0.00% | 0.90% |
| 2018 | 65.53% | 25.37% | 0.00% | 7.69% | 0.00% | 1.40% |
| 2019 | 68.60% | 24.50% | 0.00% | 6.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2020 | 70.80% | 22.90% | 0.00% | 6.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2021 | 67.70% | 22.90% | 0.00% | 7.80% | 0.00% | 1.60% |
| 2022 | 65.00% | 25.00% | 0.00% | 10.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2023 | 68.30% | 23.90% | 0.00% | 7.70% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2024 | 62.20% | 28.00% | 0.00% | 7.20% | 0.00% | 2.60% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -1.08% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -9.85% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 26.38% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 14.29% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 8.58% | 6.94% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 15.54% | 10.31% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 8.05% | 14.38% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -27.58% | 2.33% | Not reported |
| 2009 | 24.78% | 4.14% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 14.08% | 5.17% | 6.05% |
| 2011 | 1.92% | 2.57% | 6.37% |
| 2012 | 14.83% | 3.82% | 8.98% |
| 2013 | 20.16% | 14.89% | 8.43% |
| 2014 | 6.90% | 11.39% | 7.70% |
| 2015 | -0.20% | 8.45% | 6.80% |
| 2016 | 8.42% | 9.80% | 6.12% |
| 2017 | 16.68% | 10.15% | 6.94% |
| 2018 | -4.30% | 5.25% | 9.96% |
| 2019 | 20.11% | 7.73% | 9.55% |
| 2020 | 12.76% | 10.40% | 9.42% |
| 2021 | 14.21% | 11.55% | 10.67% |
| 2022 | -14.10% | 4.92% | 7.51% |
| 2023 | 13.41% | 8.55% | 6.89% |
| 2024 | 10.35% | 6.72% | 7.23% |
| 2025 | 13.57% | 6.88% | 8.62% |