US public pension profile
Seattle Employees' Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Washington ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Assumed investment return
- 6.75%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 1.4 billion | 13,491 | 87.50% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | Not reported | 14,166 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | USD 1.5 billion | 14,840 | 85.90% | 7.75% |
| 2004 | USD 1.7 billion | 15,149 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | USD 1.8 billion | 15,398 | 88.80% | 7.75% |
| 2006 | USD 2.0 billion | 15,586 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | USD 2.1 billion | 16,093 | 92.40% | 7.75% |
| 2008 | USD 1.5 billion | 16,305 | Not reported | 7.75% |
| 2009 | USD 1.6 billion | 16,381 | 62.00% | 7.75% |
| 2010 | USD 1.8 billion | 16,025 | 74.30% | 7.75% |
| 2011 | USD 1.8 billion | 16,059 | 68.30% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 2.0 billion | 16,180 | 63.50% | 7.75% |
| 2013 | USD 2.2 billion | 16,520 | 64.20% | 7.75% |
| 2014 | USD 2.3 billion | 16,892 | 66.03% | 7.75% |
| 2015 | USD 2.3 billion | 17,302 | 66.49% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 2.5 billion | 17,885 | 68.08% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 2.9 billion | 18,320 | 69.90% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 2.7 billion | 18,815 | 68.24% | 7.25% |
| 2019 | USD 3.1 billion | 19,281 | 68.93% | 7.25% |
| 2020 | USD 3.6 billion | 19,419 | 71.60% | 7.25% |
| 2021 | USD 4.1 billion | 19,619 | 74.96% | 6.75% |
| 2022 | USD 3.6 billion | 20,308 | 75.67% | 6.75% |
| 2023 | USD 4.0 billion | 21,023 | 75.75% | 6.75% |
| 2024 | USD 4.3 billion | 21,369 | 76.01% | 6.75% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6.75% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | 59.68% | 23.69% | 0.00% | 12.19% | 0.00% | 4.44% |
| 2012 | 58.00% | 20.30% | 0.00% | 10.60% | 0.00% | 0.50% |
| 2013 | 60.44% | 21.08% | 0.00% | 10.39% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2014 | 58.26% | 21.42% | 1.70% | 10.61% | 0.00% | 2.50% |
| 2015 | 50.50% | 25.80% | 2.50% | 11.20% | 2.50% | 5.80% |
| 2016 | 55.89% | 26.15% | 4.39% | 11.28% | 2.30% | 0.00% |
| 2017 | 55.33% | 26.56% | 5.33% | 10.56% | 1.91% | 0.30% |
| 2018 | 52.16% | 25.69% | 8.37% | 11.52% | 2.02% | 0.24% |
| 2019 | 52.57% | 27.09% | 8.53% | 10.26% | 1.56% | 0.00% |
| 2020 | 53.09% | 25.71% | 10.30% | 10.79% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2021 | 49.97% | 25.67% | 12.96% | 11.32% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2022 | 45.10% | 22.70% | 13.68% | 13.53% | 2.22% | 0.00% |
| 2023 | 44.95% | 24.90% | 13.34% | 11.34% | 2.35% | 0.00% |
| 2024 | 46.56% | 23.36% | 12.26% | 9.78% | 2.98% | 2.16% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -6.00% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 23.60% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 11.50% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 8.10% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | 13.90% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | 7.30% | 12.73% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -26.80% | 1.52% | Not reported |
| 2009 | 10.80% | 1.39% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 13.20% | 2.33% | Not reported |
| 2011 | -0.88% | -0.48% | Not reported |
| 2012 | 14.00% | 0.74% | 6.57% |
| 2013 | 15.52% | 10.32% | 5.85% |
| 2014 | 5.32% | 8.94% | 5.25% |
| 2015 | 0.10% | 6.38% | 4.44% |
| 2016 | 8.45% | 8.21% | 3.93% |
| 2017 | 15.76% | 8.76% | 4.72% |
| 2018 | -3.72% | 4.95% | 7.63% |
| 2019 | 17.19% | 7.21% | 8.07% |
| 2020 | 12.58% | 9.76% | 8.06% |
| 2021 | 16.78% | 11.41% | 9.79% |
| 2022 | -9.83% | 5.98% | 7.36% |
| 2023 | 11.50% | 9.14% | 7.02% |
| 2024 | 8.73% | 7.52% | 7.36% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |