US public pension profile
Providence Employee Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Rhode Island ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 0.6 billion
- Total membership
- 7,214
- Funded ratio
- 28.02%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 11.93% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.96% |
| Ten years | 7.36% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.3 billion | 6,352 | 41.64% | 8.50% |
| 2002 | USD 0.3 billion | 6,168 | 39.26% | 8.50% |
| 2003 | USD 0.3 billion | 6,019 | 37.24% | 8.50% |
| 2004 | USD 0.3 billion | 6,156 | 36.29% | 8.50% |
| 2005 | USD 0.3 billion | 6,266 | 37.93% | 8.50% |
| 2006 | USD 0.4 billion | 6,246 | 37.40% | 8.50% |
| 2007 | USD 0.4 billion | 6,095 | 39.49% | 8.50% |
| 2008 | USD 0.4 billion | 6,152 | 38.57% | 8.50% |
| 2009 | USD 0.3 billion | 6,348 | 33.49% | 8.50% |
| 2010 | USD 0.3 billion | 6,359 | 34.06% | 8.50% |
| 2011 | USD 0.4 billion | 6,420 | 31.94% | 8.25% |
| 2012 | USD 0.3 billion | 6,460 | 33.60% | 8.25% |
| 2013 | USD 0.3 billion | 6,499 | 31.39% | 8.25% |
| 2014 | USD 0.4 billion | 6,522 | 25.56% | 8.25% |
| 2015 | USD 0.4 billion | 6,538 | 27.08% | 8.00% |
| 2016 | USD 0.3 billion | 6,547 | 26.24% | 8.00% |
| 2017 | USD 0.3 billion | 6,658 | 26.25% | 8.00% |
| 2018 | USD 0.4 billion | 6,678 | 26.67% | 8.00% |
| 2019 | USD 0.4 billion | 6,772 | 23.87% | 7.00% |
| 2020 | USD 0.4 billion | 6,646 | 23.94% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 0.4 billion | 6,779 | 24.66% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 0.4 billion | 6,941 | 25.43% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 0.5 billion | 7,068 | 26.32% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 0.5 billion | 7,214 | 28.02% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 0.6 billion | 7,214 | 28.02% | 7.00% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | 90.10% | 6.58% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.32% |
| 2007 | 86.98% | 8.70% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.31% |
| 2008 | 83.12% | 11.71% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.16% |
| 2009 | 77.39% | 21.61% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2010 | 83.96% | 14.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.65% |
| 2011 | 97.18% | 1.87% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.95% |
| 2012 | 81.86% | 15.94% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.19% |
| 2013 | 77.97% | 20.66% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.38% |
| 2014 | 81.28% | 17.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.91% |
| 2015 | 80.34% | 18.85% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.82% |
| 2016 | 69.27% | 20.14% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.77% |
| 2017 | 69.72% | 22.95% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.20% |
| 2018 | 66.32% | 22.27% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 8.42% |
| 2019 | 69.12% | 24.62% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.88% |
| 2020 | 78.67% | 16.04% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.15% |
| 2021 | 79.87% | 17.86% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.28% |
| 2022 | 81.16% | 14.64% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.20% |
| 2023 | 79.99% | 18.54% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.46% |
| 2024 | 84.90% | 14.56% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.53% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -2.10% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -2.90% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 1.90% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 23.50% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 8.30% | 5.32% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 12.00% | 8.19% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 18.90% | 12.66% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -10.50% | 9.60% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -15.40% | 1.80% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 13.60% | 2.70% | 4.03% |
| 2011 | 26.40% | 5.30% | 6.72% |
| 2012 | 0.20% | 1.70% | 7.06% |
| 2013 | 13.40% | 6.70% | 8.21% |
| 2014 | 17.50% | 13.90% | 7.67% |
| 2015 | 5.56% | 12.24% | 7.39% |
| 2016 | 2.60% | 7.66% | 6.46% |
| 2017 | 12.20% | 10.12% | 5.84% |
| 2018 | 7.30% | 8.91% | 7.78% |
| 2019 | 4.50% | 6.38% | 10.08% |
| 2020 | -2.00% | 4.81% | 8.46% |
| 2021 | 27.00% | 9.38% | 8.52% |
| 2022 | -11.10% | 4.41% | 7.22% |
| 2023 | 11.30% | 5.17% | 7.02% |
| 2024 | 14.30% | 7.08% | 6.73% |
| 2025 | 11.93% | 9.96% | 7.36% |