US public pension profile
Pittsburgh Policemen's Relief and Pension Fund
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Pennsylvania ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | USD 0.1 billion | 2,618 | 32.88% | 8.75% |
| 2003 | USD 0.1 billion | 2,548 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | USD 0.1 billion | 2,477 | 33.33% | 8.75% |
| 2005 | USD 0.1 billion | 2,480 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | USD 0.1 billion | 2,483 | 32.50% | 8.75% |
| 2007 | USD 0.1 billion | 2,489 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | USD 0.1 billion | 2,494 | 27.22% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 0.1 billion | 2,462 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | USD 0.2 billion | 2,429 | 32.57% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 0.2 billion | 2,417 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | USD 0.2 billion | 2,404 | 56.60% | 7.50% |
| 2013 | USD 0.2 billion | 2,381 | Not reported | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 0.2 billion | 2,357 | 55.51% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 0.2 billion | 2,398 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | USD 0.3 billion | 2,439 | 54.03% | 7.25% |
| 2017 | USD 0.3 billion | 2,442 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2018 | USD 0.3 billion | 2,445 | 55.17% | 7.25% |
| 2019 | USD 0.3 billion | 2,432 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2020 | USD 0.3 billion | 2,418 | 65.57% | 7.25% |
| 2021 | USD 0.3 billion | 2,302 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2022 | USD 0.3 billion | 2,185 | 70.41% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 0.4 billion | 2,197 | 70.41% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 0.4 billion | 2,208 | 69.90% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2013 | 63.80% | 21.90% | 2.70% | 0.00% | 8.40% | 3.20% |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2015 | 53.85% | 19.38% | 3.40% | 9.79% | 9.89% | 3.70% |
| 2016 | 55.64% | 17.68% | 2.90% | 9.99% | 9.89% | 3.90% |
| 2017 | 58.00% | 16.70% | 2.50% | 9.40% | 10.80% | 2.60% |
| 2018 | 56.57% | 17.23% | 2.09% | 10.36% | 11.16% | 2.59% |
| 2019 | 59.10% | 18.60% | 2.10% | 8.90% | 9.70% | 1.60% |
| 2020 | 59.64% | 17.68% | 2.40% | 6.69% | 9.19% | 4.40% |
| 2021 | 62.60% | 15.00% | 3.20% | 6.90% | 8.50% | 3.80% |
| 2022 | 57.46% | 18.22% | 4.70% | 8.31% | 8.91% | 2.40% |
| 2023 | 61.44% | 16.68% | 4.80% | 5.69% | 8.49% | 2.90% |
| 2024 | 61.32% | 15.23% | 8.22% | 4.51% | 8.42% | 2.30% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 24.50% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 11.10% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 7.60% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | 12.10% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | 11.60% | 13.24% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -27.00% | 1.77% | Not reported |
| 2009 | 23.30% | 3.91% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 5.60% | 3.52% | Not reported |
| 2011 | -2.50% | 0.68% | Not reported |
| 2012 | 14.10% | 1.12% | 7.01% |
| 2013 | 17.60% | 11.20% | 6.40% |
| 2014 | 6.48% | 8.02% | 5.95% |
| 2015 | Not reported | 6.90% | 5.20% |
| 2016 | 8.40% | 9.20% | 4.80% |
| 2017 | 14.80% | 9.30% | 5.20% |
| 2018 | -4.60% | 4.90% | 8.00% |
| 2019 | 19.50% | 7.20% | 7.60% |
| 2020 | 11.90% | 9.60% | 8.20% |
| 2021 | 15.50% | 11.00% | 10.10% |
| 2022 | -12.40% | 5.30% | 7.30% |
| 2023 | 11.40% | 8.70% | 7.50% |
| 2024 | 10.40% | 7.70% | 7.60% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |