US public pension profile· Oregon PERS
Oregon Public Employees Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Oregon ·Fiscal year 2025
Oregon PERS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 88.6 billion
- Total membership
- 419,435
- Funded ratio
- 73.15%
- Assumed investment return
- 6.90%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 0.00% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 25.40% |
| Private equity | 33.29% |
| Real estate | 17.78% |
| Hedge funds | 9.89% |
| Cash | 0.00% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 7.51% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.43% |
| Ten years | 7.61% |
Oregon PERS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 37.4 billion | 285,752 | 96.43% | Not reported |
| 2002 | USD 34.6 billion | 295,809 | 106.70% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 37.0 billion | 302,097 | 91.00% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 45.0 billion | 304,354 | 97.00% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 49.1 billion | 306,035 | 96.20% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 54.3 billion | 334,758 | 104.20% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 62.9 billion | 333,475 | 110.50% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 58.0 billion | 337,207 | 112.20% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 42.9 billion | 342,363 | 80.20% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 47.7 billion | 351,086 | 85.80% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 55.8 billion | 369,650 | 86.90% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 53.7 billion | 329,887 | 82.00% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 58.5 billion | 331,011 | 90.70% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 65.4 billion | 331,515 | 95.88% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 64.9 billion | 338,927 | 83.58% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 62.1 billion | 347,324 | 78.74% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 66.4 billion | 356,587 | 75.41% | 7.20% |
| 2018 | USD 69.3 billion | 363,687 | 80.10% | 7.20% |
| 2019 | USD 70.2 billion | 371,601 | 74.85% | 7.20% |
| 2020 | USD 68.3 billion | 380,527 | 78.61% | 7.20% |
| 2021 | USD 84.3 billion | 385,021 | 75.95% | 6.90% |
| 2022 | USD 83.8 billion | 388,065 | 79.64% | 6.90% |
| 2023 | USD 83.5 billion | 399,351 | 72.76% | 6.90% |
| 2024 | USD 85.1 billion | 411,347 | 72.38% | 6.90% |
| 2025 | USD 88.6 billion | 419,435 | 73.15% | 6.90% |
Oregon PERS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 41.38% | 34.70% | 13.01% | 5.98% | 0.00% | 4.92% |
| 2002 | 50.60% | 28.70% | 9.70% | 4.80% | 0.00% | 6.20% |
| 2003 | 54.70% | 24.20% | 10.40% | 4.50% | 0.00% | 6.20% |
| 2004 | 54.30% | 27.40% | 9.10% | 3.90% | 0.00% | 5.30% |
| 2005 | 53.10% | 27.50% | 8.30% | 5.50% | 0.00% | 5.60% |
| 2006 | 52.60% | 27.00% | 8.80% | 6.60% | 0.00% | 5.00% |
| 2007 | 50.20% | 26.80% | 11.00% | 6.80% | 0.00% | 5.20% |
| 2008 | 43.50% | 29.80% | 17.00% | 8.70% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2009 | 38.26% | 31.23% | 17.88% | 10.52% | 2.11% | 0.00% |
| 2010 | 39.19% | 27.10% | 22.03% | 9.56% | 2.12% | 0.00% |
| 2011 | 39.99% | 24.90% | 22.34% | 10.87% | 1.90% | 0.00% |
| 2012 | 35.93% | 25.15% | 24.99% | 11.61% | 1.60% | 0.00% |
| 2013 | 39.20% | 23.27% | 23.16% | 12.05% | 1.31% | 0.00% |
| 2014 | 42.50% | 22.01% | 21.85% | 10.93% | 1.27% | 0.00% |
| 2015 | 42.47% | 22.04% | 20.99% | 10.89% | 1.51% | 0.00% |
| 2016 | 39.40% | 21.52% | 20.31% | 12.50% | 1.99% | 0.00% |
| 2017 | 40.47% | 20.04% | 20.14% | 11.68% | 2.13% | 0.00% |
| 2018 | 38.77% | 19.78% | 20.80% | 10.68% | 2.27% | 0.00% |
| 2019 | 36.38% | 20.13% | 21.36% | 11.09% | 2.12% | 0.00% |
| 2020 | 33.61% | 19.33% | 23.45% | 11.09% | 2.10% | 0.00% |
| 2021 | 33.98% | 17.04% | 26.44% | 10.43% | 2.19% | 0.00% |
| 2022 | 24.68% | 20.03% | 25.65% | 14.07% | 2.34% | 0.00% |
| 2023 | 23.30% | 20.01% | 26.50% | 13.64% | 7.46% | 0.00% |
| 2024 | 23.00% | 19.10% | 26.90% | 13.20% | 7.70% | 0.00% |
| 2025 | 0.00% | 25.40% | 33.29% | 17.78% | 9.89% | 0.00% |
Oregon PERS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -8.10% | 11.60% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -6.40% | 6.20% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 2.80% | 3.30% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 18.00% | 4.60% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 13.70% | 3.50% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 14.30% | 8.10% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 18.60% | 13.40% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -3.80% | 11.90% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -22.30% | 2.90% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 17.00% | 3.60% | 3.47% |
| 2011 | 22.30% | 5.00% | 6.47% |
| 2012 | 1.60% | 1.80% | 7.35% |
| 2013 | 12.70% | 5.00% | 8.40% |
| 2014 | 16.60% | 13.80% | 8.21% |
| 2015 | 4.30% | 11.20% | 7.28% |
| 2016 | 1.21% | 7.10% | 5.98% |
| 2017 | 11.92% | 9.19% | 5.37% |
| 2018 | 9.40% | 8.59% | 6.73% |
| 2019 | 6.52% | 6.65% | 10.15% |
| 2020 | 0.52% | 5.86% | 8.49% |
| 2021 | 25.54% | 10.53% | 8.78% |
| 2022 | 6.32% | 9.36% | 9.27% |
| 2023 | 3.17% | 8.08% | 8.31% |
| 2024 | 5.96% | 7.96% | 7.28% |
| 2025 | 7.51% | 9.43% | 7.61% |