US public pension profile· Oklahoma TRS
Teachers' Retirement System of Oklahoma
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Oklahoma ·Fiscal year 2025
Oklahoma TRS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 24.7 billion
- Total membership
- 210,405
- Funded ratio
- 79.95%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 53.46% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 26.64% |
| Private equity | 9.66% |
| Real estate | 6.68% |
| Hedge funds | 0.00% |
| Cash | 3.55% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 10.70% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.90% |
| Ten years | 7.60% |
Oklahoma TRS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 6.0 billion | 131,369 | 51.40% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 5.7 billion | 134,211 | 51.40% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 5.9 billion | 133,945 | 54.00% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 7.0 billion | 134,543 | 47.30% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 7.5 billion | 138,245 | 49.50% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 8.2 billion | 141,753 | 49.30% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 9.7 billion | 144,889 | 52.60% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 8.9 billion | 147,739 | 50.50% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 7.5 billion | 151,105 | 49.80% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 8.4 billion | 153,297 | 47.90% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 10.2 billion | 154,137 | 56.70% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 10.2 billion | 157,745 | 54.80% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 11.8 billion | 161,960 | 57.20% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 14.4 billion | 166,398 | 63.19% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 14.6 billion | 169,704 | 66.55% | 8.00% |
| 2016 | USD 14.0 billion | 173,363 | 65.69% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 15.6 billion | 175,052 | 70.36% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 16.8 billion | 177,888 | 72.90% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 17.3 billion | 181,135 | 72.42% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 17.1 billion | 184,026 | 67.28% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 22.1 billion | 184,173 | 71.50% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 19.7 billion | 195,166 | 73.54% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 20.4 billion | 200,384 | 75.08% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 22.5 billion | 205,396 | 77.04% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 24.7 billion | 210,405 | 79.95% | 7.00% |
Oklahoma TRS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 59.10% | 37.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.90% |
| 2002 | 58.10% | 36.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.10% |
| 2003 | 67.30% | 26.20% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.50% |
| 2004 | 69.60% | 23.10% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 7.30% |
| 2005 | 68.40% | 26.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.80% |
| 2006 | 66.40% | 27.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.70% |
| 2007 | 68.00% | 27.10% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.90% |
| 2008 | 64.30% | 30.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.80% |
| 2009 | 54.91% | 43.24% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.85% |
| 2010 | 60.74% | 39.26% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2011 | 60.00% | 32.00% | 5.50% | 0.40% | 0.00% | 2.10% |
| 2012 | 58.00% | 29.10% | 6.40% | 4.70% | 1.80% | 0.00% |
| 2013 | 60.20% | 25.00% | 8.40% | 4.40% | 0.00% | 2.00% |
| 2014 | 62.49% | 20.46% | 11.43% | 4.41% | 1.20% | 0.00% |
| 2015 | 61.61% | 20.44% | 11.27% | 5.28% | 1.10% | 0.30% |
| 2016 | 55.80% | 22.60% | 13.20% | 7.00% | 1.10% | 0.30% |
| 2017 | 57.80% | 23.60% | 11.30% | 7.20% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2018 | 58.38% | 22.16% | 11.58% | 7.38% | 0.00% | 0.50% |
| 2019 | 57.00% | 23.50% | 10.80% | 7.80% | 0.00% | 0.90% |
| 2020 | 58.84% | 21.28% | 9.52% | 6.86% | 0.00% | 3.50% |
| 2021 | 63.15% | 19.75% | 8.96% | 5.83% | 0.00% | 2.31% |
| 2022 | 55.12% | 24.68% | 9.91% | 8.23% | 0.00% | 2.06% |
| 2023 | 58.90% | 23.70% | 8.30% | 7.80% | 0.00% | 1.30% |
| 2024 | 58.51% | 22.55% | 9.59% | 6.85% | 0.00% | 2.50% |
| 2025 | 53.46% | 26.64% | 9.66% | 6.68% | 0.00% | 3.55% |
Oklahoma TRS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -2.30% | 12.30% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -5.40% | 7.00% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 5.30% | 3.90% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 20.60% | 5.50% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 10.40% | 5.40% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 9.70% | 7.90% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 18.50% | 12.80% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -7.20% | 10.00% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -15.54% | 1.00% | 4.00% |
| 2010 | 17.00% | 3.33% | 4.00% |
| 2011 | 23.50% | 5.90% | 6.92% |
| 2012 | 1.80% | 2.70% | 7.71% |
| 2013 | 17.80% | 7.70% | 8.92% |
| 2014 | 22.40% | 16.10% | 9.08% |
| 2015 | 3.50% | 13.40% | 8.38% |
| 2016 | -2.00% | 8.30% | 7.17% |
| 2017 | 15.28% | 11.01% | 6.87% |
| 2018 | 9.70% | 9.10% | 8.67% |
| 2019 | 5.20% | 5.90% | 11.09% |
| 2020 | 0.77% | 5.43% | 9.11% |
| 2021 | 32.95% | 12.16% | 9.97% |
| 2022 | -9.55% | 6.94% | 8.72% |
| 2023 | 8.00% | 6.60% | 7.80% |
| 2024 | 11.40% | 7.80% | 6.90% |
| 2025 | 10.70% | 9.90% | 7.60% |