US public pension profile· Oklahoma PERS
Oklahoma Public Employees Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Oklahoma ·Fiscal year 2025
Oklahoma PERS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 12.8 billion
- Total membership
- 71,120
- Funded ratio
- 107.80%
- Assumed investment return
- 6.50%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 70.60% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 29.10% |
| Private equity | 0.00% |
| Real estate | 0.00% |
| Hedge funds | 0.00% |
| Cash | 0.30% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 12.50% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.00% |
| Ten years | 7.66% |
Oklahoma PERS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 4.8 billion | 69,800 | 82.60% | 7.50% |
| 2002 | USD 4.5 billion | 71,136 | 79.80% | 7.50% |
| 2003 | USD 4.6 billion | 70,785 | 76.80% | 7.50% |
| 2004 | USD 5.1 billion | 71,472 | 76.00% | 7.50% |
| 2005 | USD 5.5 billion | 73,118 | 72.00% | 7.50% |
| 2006 | USD 5.8 billion | 75,412 | 71.40% | 7.50% |
| 2007 | USD 6.6 billion | 75,582 | 72.60% | 7.50% |
| 2008 | USD 6.3 billion | 76,733 | 73.00% | 7.50% |
| 2009 | USD 5.2 billion | 78,270 | 66.80% | 7.50% |
| 2010 | USD 5.8 billion | 77,503 | 66.00% | 7.50% |
| 2011 | USD 6.8 billion | 75,491 | 80.70% | 7.50% |
| 2012 | USD 6.8 billion | 78,329 | 80.20% | 7.50% |
| 2013 | USD 7.4 billion | 80,003 | 81.60% | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 8.6 billion | 81,451 | 88.64% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 8.6 billion | 82,460 | 93.60% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 8.4 billion | 81,501 | 93.24% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 8.9 billion | 79,403 | 94.48% | 7.00% |
| 2018 | USD 9.4 billion | 77,613 | 97.71% | 7.00% |
| 2019 | USD 9.6 billion | 76,511 | 98.63% | 7.00% |
| 2020 | USD 9.7 billion | 75,376 | 93.32% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 12.1 billion | 74,195 | 99.50% | 6.50% |
| 2022 | USD 10.0 billion | 73,015 | 101.54% | 6.50% |
| 2023 | USD 10.7 billion | 72,331 | 98.52% | 6.50% |
| 2024 | USD 11.7 billion | 71,839 | 102.73% | 6.50% |
| 2025 | USD 12.8 billion | 71,120 | 107.80% | 6.50% |
Oklahoma PERS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 57.10% | 42.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.50% |
| 2002 | 56.00% | 43.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2003 | 57.50% | 42.10% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2004 | 60.20% | 39.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2005 | 60.50% | 39.20% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2006 | 63.80% | 35.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2007 | 63.60% | 36.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2008 | 61.80% | 37.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2009 | 62.20% | 37.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2010 | 61.10% | 38.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.50% |
| 2011 | 66.90% | 32.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2012 | 63.80% | 35.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2013 | 67.30% | 32.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2014 | 70.20% | 29.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2015 | 69.70% | 30.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2016 | 67.13% | 32.47% | 0.00% | 0.20% | 0.00% | 0.20% |
| 2017 | 68.33% | 31.27% | 0.00% | 0.10% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2018 | 69.83% | 29.77% | 0.00% | 0.10% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2019 | 68.20% | 31.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2020 | 66.30% | 33.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2021 | 69.80% | 29.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2022 | 67.53% | 32.07% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2023 | 70.00% | 29.60% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2024 | 69.50% | 30.10% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2025 | 70.60% | 29.10% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
Oklahoma PERS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -5.90% | 9.80% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -5.10% | 5.00% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 5.70% | 2.60% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 14.00% | 3.40% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 10.50% | 3.50% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 8.00% | 6.40% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 16.40% | 10.90% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -4.20% | 8.70% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -15.40% | 2.40% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 13.80% | 3.00% | 3.26% |
| 2011 | 21.20% | 5.40% | 5.91% |
| 2012 | 2.44% | 2.75% | 6.72% |
| 2013 | 12.03% | 6.01% | 7.34% |
| 2014 | 18.00% | 13.30% | 7.72% |
| 2015 | 3.20% | 11.10% | 6.98% |
| 2016 | 0.30% | 7.00% | 6.19% |
| 2017 | 12.80% | 9.10% | 5.86% |
| 2018 | 8.40% | 8.30% | 7.18% |
| 2019 | 6.10% | 6.10% | 9.63% |
| 2020 | 4.50% | 6.30% | 8.70% |
| 2021 | 28.00% | 11.70% | 9.30% |
| 2022 | -14.50% | 5.70% | 7.34% |
| 2023 | 10.90% | 6.20% | 7.23% |
| 2024 | 12.70% | 7.50% | 6.74% |
| 2025 | 12.50% | 9.00% | 7.66% |