US public pension profile· STRS Ohio
Ohio State Teachers Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Ohio ·Fiscal year 2025
STRS Ohio: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 92.7 billion
- Funded ratio
- 80.93%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 45.50% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 23.20% |
| Private equity | 0.00% |
| Real estate | 9.50% |
| Hedge funds | 0.00% |
| Cash | 2.10% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 10.42% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 10.29% |
| Ten years | 8.52% |
STRS Ohio: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 50.1 billion | 402,589 | 91.19% | 7.75% |
| 2002 | USD 44.9 billion | 408,441 | 77.43% | 7.75% |
| 2003 | USD 44.8 billion | 419,838 | 74.14% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 51.4 billion | 425,417 | 74.76% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 56.2 billion | 430,411 | 72.78% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 62.1 billion | 436,280 | 74.88% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 72.9 billion | 442,741 | 80.11% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 66.8 billion | 448,392 | 79.07% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 50.1 billion | 456,007 | 59.91% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 54.1 billion | 462,043 | 58.89% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 63.1 billion | 467,276 | 58.61% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 60.7 billion | 468,599 | 55.72% | 7.75% |
| 2013 | USD 64.7 billion | 472,352 | 66.08% | 7.75% |
| 2014 | USD 71.0 billion | 473,383 | 69.04% | 7.75% |
| 2015 | USD 70.4 billion | 475,709 | 69.04% | 7.75% |
| 2016 | USD 66.3 billion | 480,515 | 69.27% | 7.75% |
| 2017 | USD 71.1 billion | 484,107 | 74.80% | 7.45% |
| 2018 | USD 73.5 billion | 484,240 | 75.08% | 7.45% |
| 2019 | USD 74.1 billion | 485,646 | 76.05% | 7.45% |
| 2020 | USD 72.7 billion | Not reported | 77.38% | 7.45% |
| 2021 | USD 89.4 billion | Not reported | 80.08% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 80.9 billion | Not reported | 80.88% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 83.7 billion | Not reported | 81.26% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 87.9 billion | Not reported | 82.82% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 92.7 billion | Not reported | 80.93% | 7.00% |
STRS Ohio: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 66.00% | 19.10% | 0.00% | 12.00% | 0.00% | 1.20% |
| 2002 | 66.30% | 18.70% | 0.00% | 12.20% | 0.00% | 0.90% |
| 2003 | 66.60% | 16.90% | 0.00% | 10.90% | 0.00% | 3.50% |
| 2004 | 67.70% | 18.40% | 0.00% | 9.20% | 0.00% | 2.50% |
| 2005 | 63.30% | 21.50% | 0.00% | 8.50% | 0.00% | 4.10% |
| 2006 | 62.05% | 22.70% | 0.00% | 10.51% | 0.00% | 1.87% |
| 2007 | 59.95% | 22.26% | 0.00% | 10.67% | 0.00% | 3.70% |
| 2008 | 54.85% | 20.90% | 0.00% | 12.57% | 0.00% | 6.69% |
| 2009 | 52.70% | 20.10% | 0.00% | 12.83% | 0.00% | 5.72% |
| 2010 | 52.44% | 23.92% | 0.00% | 11.29% | 0.00% | 5.32% |
| 2011 | 54.95% | 19.44% | 0.00% | 10.48% | 0.00% | 6.42% |
| 2012 | 53.23% | 17.99% | 0.00% | 12.09% | 0.00% | 5.88% |
| 2013 | 52.79% | 20.19% | 0.00% | 11.95% | 0.00% | 4.17% |
| 2014 | 53.52% | 20.49% | 0.00% | 11.23% | 0.00% | 2.93% |
| 2015 | 53.37% | 19.38% | 0.00% | 12.26% | 0.00% | 2.38% |
| 2016 | 54.10% | 15.80% | 0.00% | 14.40% | 0.00% | 1.80% |
| 2017 | 53.30% | 18.90% | 0.00% | 12.70% | 0.00% | 1.60% |
| 2018 | 50.70% | 19.70% | 0.00% | 12.30% | 0.00% | 1.80% |
| 2019 | 48.70% | 20.50% | 0.00% | 12.00% | 0.00% | 2.60% |
| 2020 | 48.10% | 19.40% | 0.00% | 12.00% | 0.00% | 2.60% |
| 2021 | 48.70% | 19.20% | 0.00% | 10.20% | 0.00% | 1.60% |
| 2022 | 46.40% | 16.70% | 0.00% | 13.10% | 0.00% | 3.10% |
| 2023 | 47.90% | 20.00% | 0.00% | 9.80% | 0.00% | 1.50% |
| 2024 | 46.80% | 21.50% | 0.00% | 10.50% | 0.00% | 1.40% |
| 2025 | 45.50% | 23.20% | 0.00% | 9.50% | 0.00% | 2.10% |
STRS Ohio: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -8.20% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -8.13% | 4.18% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 2.32% | 1.86% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 17.70% | 2.74% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 12.25% | 3.07% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 13.73% | 7.15% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 20.73% | 13.17% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -5.44% | 11.40% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -21.66% | 2.69% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 13.54% | 2.92% | 2.79% |
| 2011 | 22.59% | 4.48% | 5.80% |
| 2012 | 2.34% | 1.08% | 6.95% |
| 2013 | 13.66% | 4.87% | 8.08% |
| 2014 | 16.83% | 13.60% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | 5.45% | 11.93% | 7.33% |
| 2016 | 0.92% | 7.66% | 6.06% |
| 2017 | 14.29% | 10.06% | 5.48% |
| 2018 | 9.57% | 9.26% | 7.04% |
| 2019 | 7.13% | 7.38% | 10.44% |
| 2020 | 3.14% | 6.91% | 9.39% |
| 2021 | 29.16% | 12.21% | 9.84% |
| 2022 | -3.73% | 8.44% | 9.19% |
| 2023 | 7.55% | 8.07% | 8.60% |
| 2024 | 10.53% | 8.77% | 8.01% |
| 2025 | 10.42% | 10.29% | 8.52% |