US public pension profile· NYCTRS
Teachers’ Retirement System of the City of New York
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
New York ·Fiscal year 2025
NYCTRS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 82.1 billion
- Total membership
- 269,696
- Funded ratio
- 85.35%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 54.50% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 26.82% |
| Private equity | 17.25% |
| Real estate | 0.00% |
| Hedge funds | 0.00% |
| Cash | 1.43% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 10.86% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 8.14% |
| Ten years | 7.52% |
NYCTRS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 31.6 billion | 150,959 | 97.98% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 27.0 billion | 154,221 | 93.56% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 26.1 billion | 160,426 | 88.16% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 29.3 billion | 172,873 | 81.10% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 30.5 billion | 187,828 | 77.07% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 32.2 billion | 193,973 | 71.79% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 37.1 billion | 195,030 | 69.62% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 32.3 billion | 200,218 | 65.24% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 23.1 billion | 200,132 | 64.11% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 26.4 billion | 202,976 | 58.90% | 7.00% |
| 2011 | USD 33.6 billion | 203,570 | 58.23% | 7.00% |
| 2012 | USD 32.8 billion | 208,556 | 57.62% | 7.00% |
| 2013 | USD 36.9 billion | 208,208 | 57.70% | 7.00% |
| 2014 | USD 44.5 billion | 213,196 | 57.74% | 7.00% |
| 2015 | USD 44.3 billion | 218,258 | 56.43% | 7.00% |
| 2016 | USD 43.6 billion | 224,088 | 58.62% | 7.00% |
| 2017 | USD 50.1 billion | 228,822 | 63.81% | 7.00% |
| 2018 | USD 54.5 billion | 233,908 | 69.26% | 7.00% |
| 2019 | USD 58.0 billion | 233,427 | 82.74% | 7.00% |
| 2020 | USD 59.3 billion | 234,918 | 82.78% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 78.3 billion | 232,910 | 83.80% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 64.0 billion | 240,666 | 85.53% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 67.9 billion | 269,696 | 85.35% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 74.5 billion | 269,696 | 85.35% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 82.1 billion | 269,696 | 85.35% | 7.00% |
NYCTRS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 57.71% | 23.39% | 14.69% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.21% |
| 2002 | 54.64% | 25.70% | 15.54% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.12% |
| 2003 | 59.10% | 24.34% | 11.93% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.63% |
| 2004 | 59.98% | 22.86% | 14.01% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.15% |
| 2005 | 58.15% | 21.20% | 16.75% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.90% |
| 2006 | 61.40% | 17.90% | 17.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.30% |
| 2007 | 59.60% | 18.20% | 18.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.40% |
| 2008 | 56.30% | 20.20% | 20.20% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.30% |
| 2009 | 48.16% | 24.88% | 23.13% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.83% |
| 2010 | 61.35% | 23.31% | 9.82% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.52% |
| 2011 | 63.40% | 19.66% | 9.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 7.04% |
| 2012 | 61.50% | 26.97% | 7.35% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.18% |
| 2013 | 64.04% | 25.38% | 7.87% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.71% |
| 2014 | 65.97% | 22.75% | 7.46% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.82% |
| 2015 | 60.54% | 25.87% | 8.20% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.39% |
| 2016 | 59.97% | 27.33% | 9.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.20% |
| 2017 | 62.99% | 26.21% | 9.26% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.54% |
| 2018 | 58.09% | 29.57% | 10.11% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.23% |
| 2019 | 58.65% | 28.54% | 10.78% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.03% |
| 2020 | 56.45% | 28.86% | 11.07% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.62% |
| 2021 | 57.25% | 28.71% | 11.43% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.61% |
| 2022 | 51.12% | 29.22% | 16.77% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.89% |
| 2023 | 54.00% | 27.47% | 17.27% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.26% |
| 2024 | 52.97% | 27.86% | 17.36% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.81% |
| 2025 | 54.50% | 26.82% | 17.25% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.43% |
NYCTRS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -8.20% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -8.10% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 4.00% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 15.90% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 10.60% | 2.38% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 9.95% | 6.14% | 8.27% |
| 2007 | 17.46% | 11.47% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | -6.21% | 9.20% | 5.40% |
| 2009 | -18.12% | 1.87% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 14.38% | 2.55% | 2.47% |
| 2011 | 23.28% | 4.94% | 5.53% |
| 2012 | 1.85% | 1.99% | 6.62% |
| 2013 | 11.90% | 5.65% | 7.41% |
| 2014 | 17.62% | 13.60% | 7.57% |
| 2015 | 2.99% | 11.22% | 6.80% |
| 2016 | 1.86% | 7.06% | 5.99% |
| 2017 | 12.89% | 9.29% | 5.57% |
| 2018 | 8.33% | 8.58% | 7.11% |
| 2019 | 7.76% | 6.69% | 10.09% |
| 2020 | 5.10% | 7.13% | 9.16% |
| 2021 | 25.13% | 11.62% | 9.32% |
| 2022 | -9.39% | 6.82% | 8.06% |
| 2023 | 8.24% | 6.81% | 7.69% |
| 2024 | 9.96% | 6.95% | 6.71% |
| 2025 | 10.86% | 8.14% | 7.52% |