US public pension profile· PFRS
The Police and Firemen’s Retirement System of New Jersey
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
New Jersey ·Fiscal year 2025
PFRS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 37.5 billion
- Total membership
- 94,065
- Funded ratio
- 67.67%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 10.96% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.68% |
| Ten years | 7.63% |
PFRS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 16.8 billion | 67,398 | 100.85% | 8.75% |
| 2002 | USD 15.2 billion | 69,158 | 95.82% | 8.75% |
| 2003 | USD 14.9 billion | 70,724 | 88.45% | 8.75% |
| 2004 | USD 16.4 billion | 72,128 | 83.95% | 8.25% |
| 2005 | USD 17.4 billion | 73,532 | 80.06% | 8.25% |
| 2006 | USD 18.9 billion | 75,312 | 78.36% | 8.25% |
| 2007 | USD 21.6 billion | 75,773 | 77.59% | 8.25% |
| 2008 | USD 21.1 billion | 77,287 | 74.31% | 8.25% |
| 2009 | USD 18.1 billion | 78,071 | 70.83% | 8.25% |
| 2010 | USD 19.8 billion | 78,596 | 77.06% | 8.25% |
| 2011 | USD 21.3 billion | 78,338 | 74.98% | 7.95% |
| 2012 | USD 21.0 billion | 78,681 | 74.29% | 7.90% |
| 2013 | USD 22.5 billion | 79,567 | 73.12% | 7.90% |
| 2014 | USD 25.0 billion | 82,737 | 72.62% | 7.90% |
| 2015 | USD 25.1 billion | 84,662 | 72.61% | 7.90% |
| 2016 | USD 24.0 billion | 86,461 | 70.32% | 7.65% |
| 2017 | USD 25.8 billion | 88,107 | 68.80% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 27.1 billion | 86,904 | 69.08% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 27.8 billion | 88,122 | 67.36% | 7.30% |
| 2020 | USD 27.4 billion | 89,070 | 66.94% | 7.30% |
| 2021 | USD 33.5 billion | 89,766 | 66.52% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 30.7 billion | 90,632 | 67.12% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 32.6 billion | 91,626 | 67.41% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 34.9 billion | 92,872 | 68.04% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 37.5 billion | 94,065 | 67.67% | 7.00% |
PFRS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | 67.13% | 24.48% | 0.00% | 1.70% | 0.80% | 5.89% |
| 2007 | 59.20% | 25.10% | 0.00% | 1.40% | 6.10% | 8.20% |
| 2008 | 49.35% | 29.73% | 0.00% | 1.60% | 12.11% | 7.21% |
| 2009 | 44.79% | 35.00% | 4.75% | 2.53% | 4.27% | 7.65% |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | 45.57% | 29.24% | 7.30% | 3.70% | 5.30% | 5.72% |
| 2012 | 45.22% | 28.01% | 7.83% | 4.69% | 7.83% | 1.71% |
| 2013 | 46.94% | 21.29% | 8.07% | 5.05% | 9.84% | 4.57% |
| 2014 | 45.14% | 19.38% | 9.07% | 4.57% | 10.67% | 6.70% |
| 2015 | 45.32% | 17.98% | 9.72% | 4.70% | 12.25% | 5.83% |
| 2016 | 42.80% | 18.07% | 10.59% | 5.91% | 11.52% | 6.19% |
| 2017 | 46.28% | 19.01% | 10.32% | 5.99% | 8.00% | 5.25% |
| 2018 | 47.90% | 18.01% | 11.14% | 6.15% | 6.37% | 4.92% |
| 2019 | 47.46% | 19.11% | 10.93% | 6.15% | 5.85% | 7.73% |
| 2020 | 45.62% | 14.94% | 11.68% | 6.26% | 10.66% | 6.74% |
| 2021 | 46.34% | 17.46% | 12.60% | 5.62% | 9.31% | 6.25% |
| 2022 | 42.26% | 14.75% | 12.63% | 6.37% | 10.50% | 9.07% |
| 2023 | 45.46% | 16.00% | 11.95% | 5.68% | 9.95% | 8.43% |
| 2024 | 44.76% | 15.08% | 11.04% | 5.05% | 10.03% | 11.44% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
PFRS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -10.40% | 11.80% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -9.00% | 5.40% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 3.30% | 1.80% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 14.10% | 1.50% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 8.70% | 0.90% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 9.80% | 5.10% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 17.10% | 10.50% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -2.66% | 9.22% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -14.27% | 3.15% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 13.36% | 3.71% | 2.42% |
| 2011 | 18.03% | 5.23% | 5.20% |
| 2012 | 2.52% | 2.46% | 6.42% |
| 2013 | 11.78% | 5.32% | 7.26% |
| 2014 | 16.87% | 12.37% | 7.51% |
| 2015 | 4.16% | 10.49% | 7.05% |
| 2016 | -0.93% | 6.64% | 5.92% |
| 2017 | 13.07% | 8.75% | 5.55% |
| 2018 | 9.06% | 8.23% | 6.75% |
| 2019 | 6.27% | 6.21% | 9.22% |
| 2020 | 1.21% | 5.61% | 7.99% |
| 2021 | 28.63% | 11.27% | 8.93% |
| 2022 | -7.90% | 6.80% | 7.77% |
| 2023 | 9.06% | 6.80% | 7.51% |
| 2024 | 10.74% | 7.69% | 6.94% |
| 2025 | 10.96% | 9.68% | 7.63% |