US public pension profile
New Castle County Pension Program
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Delaware ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 0.6 billion
- Total membership
- 2,580
- Funded ratio
- 73.23%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 9.89% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 8.83% |
| Ten years | 7.24% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.3 billion | 0 | 119.00% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.3 billion | 0 | 116.90% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 0.3 billion | 0 | 107.30% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.3 billion | 0 | 96.80% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 0.4 billion | 0 | 90.90% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 0.4 billion | 0 | 89.20% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 0.4 billion | 0 | 91.10% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.4 billion | 0 | 92.90% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 0.3 billion | 0 | 77.40% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 0.3 billion | 2,505 | 87.80% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 0.4 billion | 2,520 | 87.00% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 0.4 billion | 2,498 | 78.90% | 7.50% |
| 2013 | USD 0.4 billion | 2,510 | 72.20% | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 0.4 billion | 2,464 | 74.50% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 0.4 billion | 2,532 | 75.29% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 0.4 billion | 2,550 | 74.86% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 0.4 billion | 2,544 | 74.98% | 7.25% |
| 2018 | USD 0.4 billion | 2,529 | 72.98% | 7.25% |
| 2019 | USD 0.5 billion | 2,545 | 68.10% | 7.00% |
| 2020 | USD 0.5 billion | 2,521 | 67.90% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 0.6 billion | 2,564 | 67.26% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 0.5 billion | 2,560 | 72.02% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 0.5 billion | 2,597 | 71.56% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 0.5 billion | 2,580 | 73.23% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 0.6 billion | 2,580 | 73.23% | 7.00% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 31.62% | 35.58% | 0.00% | 0.01% | 0.00% | 8.37% |
| 2004 | 41.66% | 25.36% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.84% |
| 2005 | 45.64% | 25.26% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.44% |
| 2006 | 40.44% | 22.13% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.39% |
| 2007 | 44.10% | 28.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.68% |
| 2008 | 39.83% | 30.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.79% |
| 2009 | 36.08% | 32.99% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.60% |
| 2010 | 39.66% | 30.45% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.69% |
| 2011 | 30.54% | 25.61% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.07% |
| 2012 | 27.24% | 24.61% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.62% |
| 2013 | 27.82% | 23.38% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.67% |
| 2014 | 57.83% | 38.69% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.80% |
| 2015 | 27.29% | 13.48% | 3.90% | 3.01% | 0.00% | 1.34% |
| 2016 | 53.90% | 29.70% | 4.01% | 5.73% | 4.47% | 1.85% |
| 2017 | 58.57% | 23.33% | 4.03% | 5.70% | 2.31% | 5.75% |
| 2018 | 56.08% | 26.90% | 4.93% | 5.67% | 4.08% | 2.02% |
| 2019 | 57.94% | 28.74% | 4.72% | 4.51% | 2.09% | 1.63% |
| 2020 | 48.18% | 33.38% | 6.08% | 4.82% | 4.93% | 2.14% |
| 2021 | 48.18% | 29.16% | 7.19% | 5.64% | 6.78% | 2.62% |
| 2022 | 41.25% | 28.79% | 10.28% | 8.56% | 7.57% | 2.90% |
| 2023 | 42.60% | 28.54% | 10.61% | 7.35% | 7.37% | 2.79% |
| 2024 | 42.60% | 28.54% | 10.61% | 7.35% | 7.37% | 2.79% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 2.11% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -1.40% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 1.52% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 15.15% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 10.90% | 5.47% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 10.80% | 7.21% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 17.00% | 10.94% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -6.64% | 9.10% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -22.05% | 0.91% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 14.39% | 1.54% | 3.48% |
| 2011 | 21.21% | 3.38% | 5.27% |
| 2012 | -1.98% | -0.22% | 5.21% |
| 2013 | 11.70% | 3.42% | 6.22% |
| 2014 | 12.38% | 11.28% | 5.96% |
| 2015 | 3.64% | 9.10% | 5.25% |
| 2016 | -2.14% | 4.53% | 3.95% |
| 2017 | 11.87% | 7.33% | 3.49% |
| 2018 | 8.85% | 6.78% | 5.09% |
| 2019 | 6.16% | 5.57% | 8.38% |
| 2020 | 4.18% | 5.68% | 7.38% |
| 2021 | 24.19% | 10.83% | 7.64% |
| 2022 | -8.24% | 6.53% | 6.93% |
| 2023 | 7.49% | 6.26% | 6.52% |
| 2024 | 13.40% | 7.67% | 6.61% |
| 2025 | 9.89% | 8.83% | 7.24% |