US public pension profile· NPERS State
Nebraska Public Employees Retirement System - State Employees Plan
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Nebraska ·Fiscal year 2025
NPERS State: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Assumed investment return
- 6.95%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
NPERS State: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.7 billion | Not reported | Not reported | 7.60% |
| 2002 | USD 0.7 billion | 4,034 | 100.22% | 7.60% |
| 2003 | USD 0.3 billion | 5,301 | 105.40% | 7.60% |
| 2004 | USD 0.3 billion | 6,333 | 109.30% | 7.60% |
| 2005 | USD 0.4 billion | 7,401 | 113.90% | 7.60% |
| 2006 | USD 0.4 billion | 10,628 | 103.30% | 7.75% |
| 2007 | USD 0.6 billion | 12,886 | 103.40% | 7.75% |
| 2008 | USD 0.5 billion | 14,220 | 96.90% | 7.75% |
| 2009 | USD 0.6 billion | 14,390 | 93.90% | 7.75% |
| 2010 | USD 0.7 billion | 14,596 | 93.60% | 7.75% |
| 2011 | USD 0.7 billion | 15,380 | 91.50% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 1.0 billion | 17,435 | 93.60% | 7.75% |
| 2013 | USD 1.2 billion | 18,591 | 99.20% | 7.75% |
| 2014 | USD 1.3 billion | 19,737 | Not reported | 7.75% |
| 2015 | USD 1.3 billion | 20,800 | 102.52% | 7.75% |
| 2016 | USD 1.4 billion | 21,556 | 105.33% | 7.75% |
| 2017 | USD 1.6 billion | 22,275 | 104.24% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 1.5 billion | 23,259 | 100.62% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 1.8 billion | 24,695 | 102.57% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 2.0 billion | 25,747 | 104.09% | 7.30% |
| 2021 | USD 2.3 billion | 26,480 | 105.73% | 7.20% |
| 2022 | USD 2.0 billion | 28,242 | 100.23% | 7.10% |
| 2023 | USD 2.2 billion | 29,589 | 101.78% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 2.4 billion | 30,832 | 100.68% | 6.95% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6.95% |
NPERS State: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 68.70% | 31.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2005 | 69.60% | 29.90% | 0.00% | 0.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2006 | 68.69% | 28.19% | 0.02% | 3.10% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2007 | 69.00% | 26.70% | 0.10% | 4.20% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2008 | 65.70% | 29.10% | 0.60% | 4.60% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2009 | 56.15% | 36.58% | 1.73% | 5.54% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2010 | 65.60% | 29.10% | 2.24% | 3.06% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2011 | 65.37% | 28.42% | 2.80% | 3.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2012 | 62.64% | 29.52% | 4.02% | 3.81% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2013 | 63.40% | 28.36% | 4.59% | 3.66% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2014 | 66.19% | 25.84% | 4.74% | 3.24% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2015 | 62.65% | 27.76% | 5.54% | 4.05% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2016 | 59.98% | 28.48% | 6.67% | 4.86% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2017 | 59.58% | 27.68% | 7.00% | 5.74% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2018 | 60.50% | 29.10% | 4.70% | 5.60% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2019 | 56.30% | 31.00% | 5.60% | 7.00% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2020 | 59.90% | 28.60% | 5.40% | 6.00% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2021 | 61.60% | 27.10% | 5.70% | 5.50% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2022 | 62.50% | 25.40% | 6.40% | 5.60% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2023 | 55.54% | 29.27% | 7.89% | 7.19% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2024 | 60.72% | 27.12% | 6.78% | 5.28% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
NPERS State: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -1.52% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -7.03% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 4258.27% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 23.60% | 3.90% | 8.90% |
| 2005 | 11.40% | 3.80% | 10.00% |
| 2006 | 7.00% | 5.20% | 8.40% |
| 2007 | 15.20% | 9.10% | 8.70% |
| 2008 | 7.80% | 12.80% | 7.60% |
| 2009 | -27.80% | 1.30% | 2.60% |
| 2010 | 22.10% | 3.30% | 3.60% |
| 2011 | 13.40% | 4.50% | 4.80% |
| 2012 | 46.16% | 1.60% | 5.30% |
| 2013 | 12.90% | 2.60% | 7.60% |
| 2014 | 18.30% | 13.20% | 7.10% |
| 2015 | 6.90% | 10.20% | 6.70% |
| 2016 | 1.10% | 7.70% | 6.10% |
| 2017 | 8.60% | 9.40% | 5.50% |
| 2018 | 16.60% | 10.10% | 6.30% |
| 2019 | -4.20% | 5.60% | 9.30% |
| 2020 | 19.00% | 10.00% | 9.00% |
| 2021 | 12.70% | 10.20% | 9.00% |
| 2022 | 16.40% | 11.70% | 10.60% |
| 2023 | -11.80% | 5.70% | 7.90% |
| 2024 | 14.60% | 9.60% | 7.60% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |