US public pension profile· NPERS Schools
Nebraska Public Employees Retirement System - School Employees Plan
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Nebraska ·Fiscal year 2025
NPERS Schools: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 18.5 billion
- Total membership
- 106,690
- Funded ratio
- 102.14%
- Assumed investment return
- 6.95%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 11.73% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 13.81% |
| Ten years | 10.79% |
NPERS Schools: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 4.3 billion | 61,676 | 87.20% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 4.0 billion | 61,639 | 94.90% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 4.3 billion | 63,150 | 90.60% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 4.9 billion | 64,331 | 87.20% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 5.4 billion | 66,018 | 85.60% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 6.0 billion | 67,896 | 87.20% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 7.0 billion | 69,707 | 90.50% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 6.6 billion | 72,166 | 90.60% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 5.3 billion | 74,593 | 86.60% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 5.9 billion | 76,438 | 82.40% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 7.3 billion | 78,026 | 80.40% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 7.2 billion | 79,545 | 76.60% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 8.1 billion | 80,492 | 77.10% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 9.5 billion | 82,051 | 82.70% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 9.7 billion | 83,843 | 88.01% | 8.00% |
| 2016 | USD 9.7 billion | 85,885 | 89.64% | 8.00% |
| 2017 | USD 10.9 billion | 87,898 | 86.72% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 11.6 billion | 89,944 | 88.80% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 12.2 billion | 91,909 | 90.29% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 12.3 billion | 94,126 | 91.65% | 7.50% |
| 2021 | USD 15.7 billion | 96,227 | 97.41% | 7.30% |
| 2022 | USD 14.1 billion | 98,874 | 98.42% | 7.20% |
| 2023 | USD 15.2 billion | 101,771 | 98.57% | 7.10% |
| 2024 | USD 16.9 billion | 104,330 | 99.91% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 18.5 billion | 106,690 | 102.14% | 6.95% |
NPERS Schools: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | 63.00% | 37.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2003 | 61.00% | 39.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2004 | 68.70% | 31.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2005 | 69.60% | 29.90% | 0.00% | 0.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2006 | 68.69% | 28.19% | 0.02% | 3.10% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2007 | 69.00% | 26.70% | 0.10% | 4.20% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2008 | 65.70% | 29.10% | 0.60% | 4.60% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2009 | 56.15% | 36.58% | 1.73% | 5.54% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2010 | 65.60% | 29.10% | 2.24% | 3.06% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2011 | 65.37% | 28.42% | 2.80% | 3.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2012 | 62.64% | 29.52% | 4.02% | 3.81% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2013 | 63.40% | 28.36% | 4.59% | 3.66% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2014 | 66.19% | 25.84% | 4.74% | 3.24% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2015 | 62.65% | 27.76% | 5.54% | 4.05% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2016 | 59.98% | 28.48% | 6.67% | 4.86% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2017 | 59.58% | 27.68% | 7.00% | 5.74% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2018 | 60.50% | 29.10% | 4.70% | 5.60% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2019 | 56.30% | 31.00% | 5.60% | 7.00% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2020 | 59.90% | 28.60% | 5.40% | 6.00% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2021 | 61.60% | 27.10% | 5.70% | 5.50% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2022 | 62.50% | 25.40% | 6.40% | 5.60% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2023 | 55.54% | 29.27% | 7.89% | 7.19% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2024 | 60.72% | 27.12% | 6.78% | 5.28% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
NPERS Schools: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -4.23% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -4.20% | 8.30% | 9.00% |
| 2003 | -8.80% | 2.60% | 7.40% |
| 2004 | 23.60% | 3.90% | 8.90% |
| 2005 | 11.40% | 3.80% | 10.00% |
| 2006 | 7.00% | 5.20% | 8.40% |
| 2007 | 15.20% | 9.10% | 8.70% |
| 2008 | 7.80% | 12.80% | 7.60% |
| 2009 | -27.80% | 1.30% | 2.60% |
| 2010 | 22.10% | 3.30% | 3.60% |
| 2011 | 13.40% | 4.50% | 4.80% |
| 2012 | 0.85% | 1.60% | 5.30% |
| 2013 | 12.90% | 2.60% | 7.60% |
| 2014 | 18.30% | 13.20% | 7.10% |
| 2015 | 6.90% | 10.20% | 6.70% |
| 2016 | 1.10% | 7.70% | 6.10% |
| 2017 | 8.60% | 9.40% | 5.50% |
| 2018 | 16.60% | 10.10% | 6.30% |
| 2019 | -4.20% | 5.60% | 9.30% |
| 2020 | 19.00% | 10.00% | 9.00% |
| 2021 | 12.70% | 10.20% | 9.00% |
| 2022 | 16.60% | 11.80% | 10.60% |
| 2023 | 14.60% | 9.60% | 7.60% |
| 2024 | 13.50% | 8.60% | 7.70% |
| 2025 | 11.73% | 13.81% | 10.79% |