US public pension profile· MPERS
Missouri Department of Transportation and Highway Patrol Employees' Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Missouri ·Fiscal year 2025
MPERS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 4.1 billion
- Total membership
- 19,065
- Funded ratio
- 75.68%
- Assumed investment return
- 6.50%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 34.28% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 25.92% |
| Private equity | 10.38% |
| Real estate | 9.37% |
| Hedge funds | 8.96% |
| Cash | 0.14% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 12.71% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 13.58% |
| Ten years | 9.47% |
MPERS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 1.4 billion | 16,320 | 66.08% | 8.25% |
| 2002 | USD 1.3 billion | 16,235 | 61.50% | 8.25% |
| 2003 | USD 1.2 billion | 16,588 | 56.20% | 8.25% |
| 2004 | USD 1.4 billion | 17,018 | 53.41% | 8.25% |
| 2005 | USD 1.4 billion | 17,379 | 53.94% | 8.25% |
| 2006 | USD 1.6 billion | 17,495 | 55.51% | 8.25% |
| 2007 | USD 1.8 billion | 17,390 | 58.19% | 8.25% |
| 2008 | USD 1.7 billion | 17,611 | 59.08% | 8.25% |
| 2009 | USD 1.2 billion | 17,987 | 47.26% | 8.25% |
| 2010 | USD 1.3 billion | 17,850 | 42.22% | 8.25% |
| 2011 | USD 1.6 billion | 17,852 | 43.28% | 8.25% |
| 2012 | USD 1.5 billion | 17,538 | 46.31% | 8.25% |
| 2013 | USD 1.7 billion | 17,761 | 46.24% | 7.75% |
| 2014 | USD 2.0 billion | 18,003 | 49.18% | 7.75% |
| 2015 | USD 2.0 billion | 18,234 | 52.94% | 7.75% |
| 2016 | USD 2.0 billion | 18,459 | 55.47% | 7.75% |
| 2017 | USD 2.2 billion | 18,611 | 57.14% | 7.75% |
| 2018 | USD 2.3 billion | 18,287 | 57.12% | 7.00% |
| 2019 | USD 2.4 billion | 18,498 | 59.82% | 7.00% |
| 2020 | USD 2.4 billion | 18,631 | 60.64% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 3.0 billion | 18,587 | 62.41% | 6.50% |
| 2022 | USD 3.1 billion | 18,547 | 66.33% | 6.50% |
| 2023 | USD 3.3 billion | 18,464 | 68.97% | 6.50% |
| 2024 | USD 3.7 billion | 18,824 | 70.60% | 6.50% |
| 2025 | USD 4.1 billion | 19,065 | 75.68% | 6.50% |
MPERS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 62.47% | 31.80% | 0.00% | 2.49% | 0.00% | 3.24% |
| 2002 | 59.51% | 34.35% | 0.00% | 3.14% | 0.00% | 3.00% |
| 2003 | 61.00% | 34.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.00% |
| 2004 | 63.76% | 28.81% | 0.00% | 3.81% | 0.00% | 0.58% |
| 2005 | 54.60% | 30.90% | 0.00% | 11.40% | 0.00% | 1.20% |
| 2006 | 45.46% | 28.77% | 10.09% | 12.99% | 0.00% | 1.10% |
| 2007 | 46.25% | 27.37% | 9.79% | 13.59% | 0.00% | 3.00% |
| 2008 | 44.70% | 27.80% | 9.50% | 13.40% | 0.00% | 4.60% |
| 2009 | 45.00% | 28.90% | 9.40% | 12.70% | 0.00% | 4.00% |
| 2010 | 41.60% | 34.40% | 11.90% | 11.10% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2011 | 31.50% | 23.00% | 15.80% | 17.00% | 11.10% | 1.60% |
| 2012 | 29.50% | 23.20% | 19.30% | 16.90% | 10.80% | 0.30% |
| 2013 | 32.30% | 20.50% | 17.40% | 13.90% | 10.40% | 1.20% |
| 2014 | 31.42% | 22.05% | 18.34% | 12.27% | 10.58% | 0.40% |
| 2015 | 29.66% | 22.35% | 18.74% | 11.30% | 12.14% | 0.75% |
| 2016 | 28.99% | 23.01% | 17.57% | 12.54% | 7.83% | 2.57% |
| 2017 | 30.70% | 24.20% | 16.13% | 10.43% | 6.90% | 1.39% |
| 2018 | 29.46% | 26.51% | 15.99% | 9.73% | 6.36% | 0.87% |
| 2019 | 29.35% | 27.03% | 15.32% | 10.17% | 5.59% | 0.40% |
| 2020 | 32.65% | 26.28% | 14.62% | 8.82% | 5.24% | 0.46% |
| 2021 | 31.61% | 25.77% | 15.90% | 7.10% | 4.40% | 4.11% |
| 2022 | 33.17% | 26.99% | 16.13% | 8.88% | 0.00% | 0.38% |
| 2023 | 32.65% | 21.12% | 13.36% | 13.55% | 10.08% | 0.00% |
| 2024 | 35.31% | 21.03% | 11.97% | 9.92% | 9.64% | 0.21% |
| 2025 | 34.28% | 25.92% | 10.38% | 9.37% | 8.96% | 0.14% |
MPERS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -2.60% | 8.13% | 9.21% |
| 2002 | -5.69% | 3.92% | 7.30% |
| 2003 | 3.20% | 1.85% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 15.24% | 2.48% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 11.38% | 3.80% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 14.97% | 7.20% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 18.09% | 12.28% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -2.41% | 11.06% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -24.70% | 2.06% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 12.91% | 2.40% | 3.20% |
| 2011 | 21.78% | 3.61% | 5.54% |
| 2012 | 2.75% | 0.75% | 6.44% |
| 2013 | 13.42% | 3.82% | 7.38% |
| 2014 | 17.59% | 13.50% | 7.63% |
| 2015 | 6.62% | 12.21% | 7.20% |
| 2016 | 1.01% | 8.10% | 5.77% |
| 2017 | 11.22% | 9.82% | 5.19% |
| 2018 | 9.42% | 9.04% | 6.40% |
| 2019 | 6.84% | 6.97% | 10.18% |
| 2020 | -0.46% | 5.51% | 8.80% |
| 2021 | 30.80% | 11.10% | 9.59% |
| 2022 | 3.94% | 9.61% | 9.72% |
| 2023 | 8.88% | 9.50% | 9.27% |
| 2024 | 13.29% | 10.79% | 8.86% |
| 2025 | 12.71% | 13.58% | 9.47% |