US public pension profile
Minneapolis Employees Retirement Fund
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Minnesota ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 1.5 billion | 6,212 | 93.27% | 6.00% |
| 2002 | USD 1.3 billion | 6,057 | 92.35% | 6.00% |
| 2003 | USD 1.2 billion | 5,854 | 92.31% | 6.00% |
| 2004 | USD 1.3 billion | 5,714 | 92.10% | 6.00% |
| 2005 | USD 1.3 billion | 5,544 | 91.71% | 6.00% |
| 2006 | USD 1.3 billion | 5,389 | 92.13% | 6.00% |
| 2007 | USD 1.4 billion | 5,193 | 85.90% | 6.00% |
| 2008 | USD 1.2 billion | 4,991 | 76.42% | 6.00% |
| 2009 | USD 0.9 billion | 4,787 | 55.88% | 6.00% |
| 2010 | USD 0.8 billion | 4,588 | 65.62% | 8.50% |
| 2011 | USD 0.9 billion | 4,388 | 73.54% | 8.50% |
| 2012 | USD 0.8 billion | 4,204 | 69.10% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 0.9 billion | 4,030 | 74.44% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 0.9 billion | 3,862 | 82.03% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2018 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2019 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2020 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2021 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2022 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2023 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 46.84% | 37.06% | 0.00% | 3.94% | 0.00% | 8.07% |
| 2002 | 48.92% | 37.18% | 0.00% | 4.03% | 0.00% | 6.90% |
| 2003 | 46.87% | 30.74% | 0.00% | 4.26% | 0.00% | 15.56% |
| 2004 | 49.94% | 35.78% | 0.00% | 4.52% | 0.00% | 2.74% |
| 2005 | 55.45% | 38.30% | 0.00% | 5.18% | 0.00% | 1.07% |
| 2006 | 47.42% | 30.40% | 0.00% | 4.58% | 0.00% | 2.00% |
| 2007 | 48.38% | 31.54% | 0.00% | 3.75% | 0.00% | 2.63% |
| 2008 | 49.94% | 33.55% | 0.00% | 4.19% | 0.00% | 2.52% |
| 2009 | 55.46% | 25.97% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.82% |
| 2010 | 57.80% | 24.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.00% |
| 2011 | 60.80% | 22.20% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.40% |
| 2012 | 60.10% | 22.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.90% |
| 2013 | 60.00% | 23.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.50% |
| 2014 | 61.40% | 23.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.60% |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2018 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2019 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2020 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2021 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2022 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2023 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -6.30% | 10.20% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -7.30% | 4.70% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 2.20% | -0.90% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 16.50% | 4.70% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 10.40% | 2.70% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 10.40% | 6.11% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 16.90% | 11.30% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -5.00% | 9.60% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -17.50% | 2.20% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 15.20% | 3.40% | 2.90% |
| 2011 | 23.30% | 5.30% | 5.90% |
| 2012 | 2.40% | 2.30% | 7.00% |
| 2013 | 14.20% | 6.20% | 8.20% |
| 2014 | 18.60% | 14.50% | 8.40% |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2018 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2019 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2020 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2021 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2022 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2023 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |