US public pension profile· TRSL
Louisiana State Teachers Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Louisiana ·Fiscal year 2025
TRSL: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 29.3 billion
- Total membership
- 221,684
- Funded ratio
- 80.35%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.25%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 31.94% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 13.06% |
| Private equity | 0.00% |
| Real estate | 15.14% |
| Hedge funds | 0.00% |
| Cash | 4.67% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 11.10% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 10.20% |
| Ten years | 8.80% |
TRSL: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 11.9 billion | 148,778 | 78.40% | 8.25% |
| 2002 | USD 10.6 billion | 153,017 | 73.90% | 8.25% |
| 2003 | USD 10.5 billion | 154,843 | 68.80% | 8.25% |
| 2004 | USD 11.9 billion | 159,434 | 63.10% | 8.25% |
| 2005 | USD 12.7 billion | 161,796 | 64.60% | 8.25% |
| 2006 | USD 14.0 billion | 162,689 | 67.50% | 8.25% |
| 2007 | USD 16.1 billion | 164,507 | 71.30% | 8.25% |
| 2008 | USD 15.0 billion | 167,423 | 70.20% | 8.25% |
| 2009 | USD 11.3 billion | 170,821 | 59.10% | 8.25% |
| 2010 | USD 12.0 billion | 178,118 | 54.40% | 8.25% |
| 2011 | USD 14.6 billion | 178,748 | 55.10% | 8.25% |
| 2012 | USD 14.2 billion | 179,315 | 55.40% | 8.25% |
| 2013 | USD 15.5 billion | 180,738 | 56.40% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 17.9 billion | 183,282 | 57.42% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 17.9 billion | 186,755 | 60.94% | 7.75% |
| 2016 | USD 17.5 billion | 188,929 | 62.36% | 7.75% |
| 2017 | USD 19.5 billion | 191,885 | 64.54% | 7.70% |
| 2018 | USD 21.0 billion | 195,463 | 65.82% | 7.65% |
| 2019 | USD 21.7 billion | 199,191 | 67.09% | 7.55% |
| 2020 | USD 21.2 billion | 202,768 | 67.94% | 7.45% |
| 2021 | USD 27.7 billion | 203,877 | 71.82% | 7.40% |
| 2022 | USD 25.1 billion | 208,103 | 73.72% | 7.25% |
| 2023 | USD 26.1 billion | 213,459 | 75.80% | 7.25% |
| 2024 | USD 27.4 billion | 217,371 | 77.58% | 7.25% |
| 2025 | USD 29.3 billion | 221,684 | 80.35% | 7.25% |
TRSL: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 56.83% | 19.61% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.02% |
| 2002 | 53.87% | 22.59% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.47% |
| 2003 | 53.03% | 20.44% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.18% |
| 2004 | 54.19% | 18.86% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 7.73% |
| 2005 | 62.17% | 19.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.38% |
| 2006 | 64.11% | 18.69% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.48% |
| 2007 | 59.57% | 16.71% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.12% |
| 2008 | 54.57% | 19.37% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.23% |
| 2009 | 52.00% | 18.67% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.06% |
| 2010 | 54.45% | 16.09% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.07% |
| 2011 | 56.73% | 14.37% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.19% |
| 2012 | 48.17% | 17.62% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.36% |
| 2013 | 49.22% | 18.28% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.63% |
| 2014 | 50.76% | 19.63% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.98% |
| 2015 | 50.84% | 18.64% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.65% |
| 2016 | 47.72% | 18.58% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 7.49% |
| 2017 | 48.91% | 18.13% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.38% |
| 2018 | 47.08% | 17.26% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.09% |
| 2019 | 45.36% | 17.23% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.17% |
| 2020 | 42.88% | 16.79% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.08% |
| 2021 | 44.62% | 12.25% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.90% |
| 2022 | 36.25% | 11.43% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.17% |
| 2023 | 37.74% | 9.92% | 0.00% | 11.96% | 0.00% | 4.65% |
| 2024 | 34.43% | 13.88% | 0.00% | 12.18% | 0.00% | 3.67% |
| 2025 | 31.94% | 13.06% | 0.00% | 15.14% | 0.00% | 4.67% |
TRSL: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -4.10% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -7.60% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 2.70% | 2.60% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 18.20% | 4.20% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 10.90% | 3.60% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 14.30% | 7.40% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 19.70% | 14.00% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -4.80% | 11.40% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -22.30% | 2.40% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 12.60% | 2.60% | 3.12% |
| 2011 | 26.80% | 4.80% | 6.10% |
| 2012 | 0.10% | 1.10% | 6.90% |
| 2013 | 13.90% | 4.80% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | 19.90% | 14.30% | 8.20% |
| 2015 | 3.10% | 12.30% | 7.40% |
| 2016 | 1.60% | 7.50% | 6.10% |
| 2017 | 16.50% | 10.80% | 5.80% |
| 2018 | 12.10% | 10.40% | 7.60% |
| 2019 | 6.60% | 7.80% | 11.00% |
| 2020 | 1.40% | 7.50% | 9.90% |
| 2021 | 36.40% | 14.00% | 10.70% |
| 2022 | -7.30% | 8.90% | 9.80% |
| 2023 | 7.30% | 8.00% | 9.20% |
| 2024 | 7.70% | 8.00% | 8.00% |
| 2025 | 11.10% | 10.20% | 8.80% |