US public pension profile
Louisiana School Employees' Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Louisiana ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 2.4 billion
- Total membership
- 32,472
- Funded ratio
- 84.30%
- Assumed investment return
- 6.80%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 7.95% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 10.01% |
| Ten years | 7.54% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 1.5 billion | 24,790 | 103.00% | Not reported |
| 2002 | USD 1.4 billion | 25,199 | 90.60% | Not reported |
| 2003 | USD 1.3 billion | 25,407 | 79.10% | 7.50% |
| 2004 | USD 1.4 billion | 25,769 | 75.80% | 7.50% |
| 2005 | USD 1.5 billion | 26,002 | 75.30% | 7.50% |
| 2006 | USD 1.5 billion | 25,790 | 79.10% | 7.50% |
| 2007 | USD 1.7 billion | 26,010 | 80.00% | 7.50% |
| 2008 | USD 1.5 billion | 26,280 | 76.60% | 7.50% |
| 2009 | USD 1.2 billion | 26,504 | 65.50% | 7.50% |
| 2010 | USD 1.3 billion | 26,570 | 61.00% | 7.50% |
| 2011 | USD 1.5 billion | 26,541 | 59.90% | 7.50% |
| 2012 | USD 1.5 billion | 26,297 | 61.60% | 7.50% |
| 2013 | USD 1.6 billion | 26,467 | 62.10% | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 1.9 billion | 25,715 | 66.92% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 1.9 billion | 29,961 | 70.70% | 7.00% |
| 2016 | USD 1.8 billion | 30,072 | 72.54% | 7.12% |
| 2017 | USD 1.9 billion | 30,610 | 74.16% | 7.12% |
| 2018 | USD 1.9 billion | 30,960 | 74.59% | 7.06% |
| 2019 | USD 1.9 billion | 30,834 | 74.39% | 7.00% |
| 2020 | USD 1.8 billion | 30,997 | 74.14% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 2.2 billion | 31,122 | 75.70% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 2.1 billion | 31,386 | 75.52% | 6.80% |
| 2023 | USD 2.2 billion | 31,776 | 77.44% | 6.80% |
| 2024 | USD 2.3 billion | 32,161 | 80.16% | 6.80% |
| 2025 | USD 2.4 billion | 32,472 | 84.30% | 6.80% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | 59.56% | 33.99% | 0.00% | 3.22% | 0.00% | 3.23% |
| 2007 | 61.92% | 26.61% | 0.40% | 6.40% | 0.00% | 4.67% |
| 2008 | 59.64% | 28.51% | 1.01% | 6.57% | 0.00% | 4.27% |
| 2009 | 58.45% | 32.85% | 1.78% | 5.39% | 0.00% | 1.53% |
| 2010 | 59.14% | 31.67% | 2.80% | 4.49% | 0.00% | 1.90% |
| 2011 | 61.47% | 25.86% | 5.00% | 5.99% | 0.00% | 1.68% |
| 2012 | 61.38% | 25.30% | 4.25% | 8.40% | 0.00% | 0.18% |
| 2013 | 62.70% | 22.52% | 5.03% | 8.53% | 0.00% | 0.26% |
| 2014 | 60.67% | 20.73% | 6.22% | 9.10% | 0.00% | 3.28% |
| 2015 | 62.05% | 21.19% | 5.35% | 10.30% | 0.00% | 0.16% |
| 2016 | 48.68% | 33.05% | 5.13% | 11.80% | 0.00% | 0.36% |
| 2017 | 53.47% | 29.50% | 4.47% | 10.52% | 0.00% | 1.16% |
| 2018 | 57.65% | 26.35% | 4.75% | 8.21% | 0.00% | 0.78% |
| 2019 | 49.60% | 28.01% | 3.56% | 12.05% | 0.00% | 1.27% |
| 2020 | 46.44% | 25.83% | 2.97% | 7.72% | 4.91% | 0.15% |
| 2021 | 45.20% | 25.40% | 4.50% | 6.10% | 6.10% | 0.50% |
| 2022 | 30.40% | 28.70% | 7.30% | 8.10% | 11.10% | 1.40% |
| 2023 | 28.61% | 27.71% | 13.96% | 14.86% | 1.81% | 0.80% |
| 2024 | 26.16% | 31.49% | 18.71% | 9.36% | 1.01% | 1.51% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -1.87% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -2.37% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 3.75% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 12.06% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 8.19% | 3.80% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 9.74% | 6.56% | 8.06% |
| 2007 | 15.52% | 9.18% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -4.83% | 7.21% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -16.54% | 1.03% | 2.50% |
| 2010 | 13.29% | 1.95% | 2.97% |
| 2011 | 23.95% | 5.23% | 5.40% |
| 2012 | 2.46% | 2.77% | 5.93% |
| 2013 | 14.11% | 6.55% | 6.88% |
| 2014 | 17.16% | 14.05% | 7.35% |
| 2015 | 3.13% | 12.05% | 6.88% |
| 2016 | -0.19% | 7.29% | 6.27% |
| 2017 | 14.37% | 9.73% | 6.19% |
| 2018 | 6.62% | 8.22% | 7.40% |
| 2019 | 5.17% | 5.81% | 9.92% |
| 2020 | 0.27% | 5.18% | 8.57% |
| 2021 | 28.38% | 10.56% | 8.94% |
| 2022 | -0.87% | 7.44% | 8.58% |
| 2023 | 7.22% | 7.43% | 7.65% |
| 2024 | 9.39% | 8.39% | 6.90% |
| 2025 | 7.95% | 10.01% | 7.54% |