US public pension profile
Louisiana State Parochial Employees Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Louisiana ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Assumed investment return
- 6.40%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 1.3 billion | Not reported | 92.29% | Not reported |
| 2002 | USD 1.3 billion | 27,717 | 92.50% | Not reported |
| 2003 | USD 1.5 billion | 28,147 | 92.80% | Not reported |
| 2004 | USD 1.7 billion | 28,457 | 93.50% | Not reported |
| 2005 | USD 1.8 billion | 28,331 | 94.30% | Not reported |
| 2006 | USD 2.1 billion | 28,849 | 95.00% | Not reported |
| 2007 | USD 2.2 billion | 29,362 | 96.90% | 7.50% |
| 2008 | USD 1.7 billion | 30,876 | 96.00% | 7.50% |
| 2009 | USD 2.0 billion | 31,775 | 96.90% | 7.50% |
| 2010 | USD 2.4 billion | 32,084 | 97.20% | 7.50% |
| 2011 | USD 2.4 billion | 32,234 | 97.60% | 7.50% |
| 2012 | USD 2.8 billion | 32,308 | 86.80% | 7.50% |
| 2013 | USD 3.3 billion | 32,561 | 92.50% | 7.25% |
| 2014 | USD 3.4 billion | 32,971 | 96.85% | 7.25% |
| 2015 | USD 3.4 billion | 33,728 | 97.21% | 7.00% |
| 2016 | USD 3.6 billion | 34,365 | 99.29% | 7.00% |
| 2017 | USD 4.2 billion | 34,786 | 99.62% | 6.75% |
| 2018 | USD 3.8 billion | 35,339 | 96.27% | 6.50% |
| 2019 | USD 4.5 billion | 35,803 | 97.57% | 6.50% |
| 2020 | USD 5.0 billion | 36,194 | 98.13% | 6.40% |
| 2021 | USD 5.4 billion | 36,839 | 103.48% | 6.40% |
| 2022 | USD 4.7 billion | 37,634 | 102.40% | 6.40% |
| 2023 | USD 5.2 billion | 38,839 | 103.03% | 6.40% |
| 2024 | USD 5.7 billion | Not reported | 102.45% | 6.40% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6.40% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | 57.47% | 32.27% | 0.00% | 4.80% | 0.00% | 1.16% |
| 2018 | 52.35% | 34.25% | 0.00% | 5.86% | 0.00% | 0.91% |
| 2019 | 53.67% | 31.98% | 0.00% | 5.30% | 0.00% | 1.83% |
| 2020 | 54.23% | 29.46% | 0.00% | 4.44% | 0.00% | 3.81% |
| 2021 | 54.61% | 28.67% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.23% |
| 2022 | 49.22% | 31.54% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.85% |
| 2023 | 52.09% | 30.44% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.69% |
| 2024 | 47.30% | 35.21% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -0.48% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -0.58% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | -2.37% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 10.33% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 6.49% | 2.56% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 13.12% | 5.22% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 7.89% | 6.96% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -25.50% | 1.33% | Not reported |
| 2009 | 21.76% | 3.35% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 15.24% | 4.99% | 3.77% |
| 2011 | -0.65% | 2.30% | 3.75% |
| 2012 | 15.61% | 3.72% | 5.33% |
| 2013 | 18.16% | 13.75% | 7.36% |
| 2014 | 4.19% | 10.26% | 6.75% |
| 2015 | -0.58% | 7.05% | 6.02% |
| 2016 | 7.65% | 8.78% | 5.49% |
| 2017 | 17.30% | 9.10% | 6.38% |
| 2018 | -5.67% | 4.29% | 8.92% |
| 2019 | 17.70% | 6.87% | 8.55% |
| 2020 | 13.40% | 9.72% | 8.38% |
| 2021 | 11.12% | 10.41% | 9.60% |
| 2022 | -11.92% | 4.27% | 6.65% |
| 2023 | 13.58% | 8.21% | 6.24% |
| 2024 | 11.43% | 7.03% | 6.95% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |