US public pension profile
Louisiana Municipal Employees
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Louisiana ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 1.4 billion
- Funded ratio
- 83.65%
- Assumed investment return
- 6.85%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 9.40% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 8.24% |
| Ten years | 5.80% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.5 billion | 13,556 | 88.35% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.5 billion | 13,740 | 88.13% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 0.5 billion | 13,919 | 87.73% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.6 billion | 13,912 | 87.90% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 0.6 billion | 13,918 | 88.71% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 0.7 billion | 13,701 | 89.67% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 0.8 billion | 14,397 | 90.50% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.8 billion | 14,619 | 91.07% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 0.7 billion | 14,872 | 91.05% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 0.8 billion | 14,915 | 91.44% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 0.8 billion | 14,962 | 91.67% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 0.8 billion | 15,069 | 91.69% | 7.75% |
| 2013 | USD 0.8 billion | 15,154 | 91.71% | 7.75% |
| 2014 | USD 0.9 billion | 15,250 | 78.23% | 7.75% |
| 2015 | USD 0.8 billion | 15,549 | 74.78% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 0.8 billion | 15,715 | 72.70% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 0.8 billion | 15,986 | 71.49% | 7.40% |
| 2018 | USD 0.9 billion | 16,224 | 70.98% | 7.27% |
| 2019 | USD 0.9 billion | 16,529 | 69.47% | 7.00% |
| 2020 | USD 1.0 billion | 16,812 | 69.30% | 6.95% |
| 2021 | USD 1.2 billion | 16,942 | 72.83% | 6.85% |
| 2022 | USD 1.1 billion | 17,112 | 74.47% | 6.85% |
| 2023 | USD 1.2 billion | 17,626 | 76.75% | 6.85% |
| 2024 | USD 1.3 billion | Not reported | 80.45% | 6.85% |
| 2025 | USD 1.4 billion | Not reported | 83.65% | 6.85% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2018 | 53.95% | 33.57% | 6.49% | 3.30% | 0.40% | 1.00% |
| 2019 | 55.00% | 36.00% | 2.00% | 3.00% | 0.00% | 3.00% |
| 2020 | 53.54% | 36.36% | 1.01% | 8.08% | 0.00% | 1.01% |
| 2021 | 58.59% | 34.34% | 1.01% | 5.05% | 0.00% | 1.01% |
| 2022 | 54.94% | 34.17% | 0.50% | 9.49% | 0.00% | 0.90% |
| 2023 | 58.00% | 29.80% | 3.50% | 8.30% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2024 | 58.74% | 27.57% | 3.20% | 9.89% | 0.00% | 0.60% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 4.45% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | 0.97% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | -1.13% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 3.44% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 7.20% | 2.94% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 8.58% | 3.75% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 17.98% | 7.03% | Not reported |
| 2008 | 1.13% | 7.52% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -13.78% | 3.67% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 10.98% | 4.39% | 3.67% |
| 2011 | 10.50% | 4.76% | 4.25% |
| 2012 | -4.78% | 0.36% | 3.64% |
| 2013 | 4.26% | 0.98% | 4.19% |
| 2014 | 13.00% | 6.59% | 5.12% |
| 2015 | -2.57% | 3.85% | 4.12% |
| 2016 | -2.94% | 1.19% | 2.96% |
| 2017 | 3.84% | 2.96% | 1.65% |
| 2018 | 4.67% | 3.04% | 2.00% |
| 2019 | 9.38% | 2.37% | 4.46% |
| 2020 | 2.48% | 3.41% | 3.63% |
| 2021 | 25.74% | 8.90% | 4.98% |
| 2022 | -10.90% | 5.00% | 4.40% |
| 2023 | 9.20% | 5.60% | 4.50% |
| 2024 | 11.00% | 6.80% | 4.40% |
| 2025 | 9.40% | 8.24% | 5.80% |