US public pension profile
Louisiana Firefighters’ Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Louisiana ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 2.8 billion
- Total membership
- 9,272
- Funded ratio
- 86.75%
- Assumed investment return
- 6.90%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 11.77% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 8.52% |
| Ten years | 6.72% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.6 billion | 4,786 | 79.40% | 7.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.6 billion | 4,908 | 72.30% | 7.00% |
| 2003 | USD 0.7 billion | 4,974 | 69.70% | 7.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.8 billion | 5,147 | 71.84% | 7.00% |
| 2005 | USD 0.8 billion | 5,303 | 80.88% | 7.50% |
| 2006 | USD 1.0 billion | 5,423 | 83.66% | 7.50% |
| 2007 | USD 1.1 billion | 5,673 | 86.02% | 7.50% |
| 2008 | USD 1.1 billion | 5,987 | 85.78% | 7.50% |
| 2009 | USD 0.9 billion | 6,179 | 76.13% | 7.50% |
| 2010 | USD 1.0 billion | 6,401 | 74.21% | 7.50% |
| 2011 | USD 1.2 billion | 6,533 | 74.33% | 7.50% |
| 2012 | USD 1.1 billion | 6,616 | 71.66% | 7.50% |
| 2013 | USD 1.3 billion | 6,763 | 71.13% | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 1.4 billion | 6,891 | 74.66% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 1.4 billion | 7,101 | 76.09% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 1.4 billion | 7,378 | 75.48% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 1.6 billion | 7,560 | 75.82% | 7.40% |
| 2018 | USD 1.7 billion | 7,675 | 76.40% | 7.30% |
| 2019 | USD 1.8 billion | 7,816 | 75.72% | 7.15% |
| 2020 | USD 1.8 billion | 7,991 | 75.63% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 2.3 billion | 8,179 | 78.76% | 6.90% |
| 2022 | USD 2.1 billion | 8,384 | 80.41% | 6.90% |
| 2023 | USD 2.3 billion | 8,613 | 80.71% | 6.90% |
| 2024 | USD 2.5 billion | 8,911 | 81.86% | 6.90% |
| 2025 | USD 2.8 billion | 9,272 | 86.75% | 6.90% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | 55.00% | 23.00% | 0.00% | 7.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2008 | 38.24% | 21.57% | 1.96% | 9.80% | 23.53% | 4.90% |
| 2009 | 31.25% | 33.33% | 5.21% | 0.00% | 26.04% | 0.00% |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | 45.65% | 24.22% | 7.81% | 7.11% | 12.11% | 3.10% |
| 2012 | 43.20% | 21.00% | 11.90% | 7.50% | 11.70% | 4.70% |
| 2013 | 50.60% | 18.40% | 8.80% | 7.70% | 9.80% | 4.70% |
| 2014 | 56.41% | 19.74% | 4.51% | 6.91% | 10.52% | 1.90% |
| 2015 | 51.90% | 22.00% | 3.60% | 7.30% | 10.30% | 4.90% |
| 2016 | 54.40% | 23.10% | 3.30% | 8.40% | 10.10% | 0.70% |
| 2017 | 57.26% | 21.82% | 3.00% | 7.71% | 9.51% | 0.70% |
| 2018 | 56.76% | 20.82% | 3.40% | 7.11% | 9.51% | 2.40% |
| 2019 | 48.70% | 30.10% | 3.70% | 6.90% | 9.70% | 0.90% |
| 2020 | 48.40% | 30.70% | 4.10% | 6.20% | 9.20% | 1.40% |
| 2021 | 56.80% | 26.00% | 3.70% | 5.30% | 7.30% | 0.90% |
| 2022 | 54.50% | 26.60% | 5.50% | 7.60% | 4.10% | 1.70% |
| 2023 | 57.09% | 24.28% | 5.25% | 7.04% | 4.06% | 1.29% |
| 2024 | 55.34% | 29.37% | 5.89% | 5.89% | 1.60% | 1.70% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 1.12% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -0.79% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 5.40% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 11.40% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 10.90% | 5.49% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 14.56% | 8.16% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 19.27% | 12.21% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -3.20% | 10.32% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -21.70% | 1.80% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 12.70% | 2.10% | 4.31% |
| 2011 | 18.70% | 3.00% | 5.99% |
| 2012 | -4.00% | -1.10% | 5.64% |
| 2013 | 9.40% | 1.70% | 5.40% |
| 2014 | 12.10% | 9.30% | 5.50% |
| 2015 | -0.60% | 6.70% | 4.30% |
| 2016 | -2.40% | 2.70% | 2.80% |
| 2017 | 13.90% | 6.30% | 2.50% |
| 2018 | 6.80% | 5.80% | 3.70% |
| 2019 | 3.90% | 4.20% | 6.70% |
| 2020 | 3.20% | 5.00% | 5.90% |
| 2021 | 24.90% | 10.20% | 6.40% |
| 2022 | -11.10% | 5.10% | 5.70% |
| 2023 | 9.28% | 5.70% | 5.70% |
| 2024 | 11.00% | 7.00% | 5.60% |
| 2025 | 11.77% | 8.52% | 6.72% |