US public pension profile· KPERS
Kansas Public Employees Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Kansas ·Fiscal year 2025
KPERS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 29.4 billion
- Total membership
- 350,613
- Funded ratio
- 73.98%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 50.10% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 23.30% |
| Private equity | 0.00% |
| Real estate | 9.40% |
| Hedge funds | 0.00% |
| Cash | 2.80% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 10.30% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.40% |
| Ten years | 7.70% |
KPERS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 9.7 billion | 233,469 | 88.00% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 8.9 billion | 240,081 | 85.00% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 8.9 billion | 245,295 | 78.00% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 10.4 billion | 248,584 | 75.00% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 11.3 billion | 250,145 | 70.00% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 12.4 billion | 253,847 | 69.00% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 14.2 billion | 258,072 | 69.00% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 13.2 billion | 262,289 | 71.00% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 10.2 billion | 268,389 | 59.00% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 11.4 billion | 277,319 | 64.00% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 13.5 billion | 278,648 | 62.00% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 13.1 billion | 281,259 | 59.00% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 14.4 billion | 286,164 | 56.00% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 16.5 billion | 289,773 | 59.86% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 16.6 billion | 295,151 | 62.32% | 8.00% |
| 2016 | USD 17.2 billion | 299,200 | 67.09% | 8.00% |
| 2017 | USD 18.6 billion | 304,648 | 66.83% | 7.75% |
| 2018 | USD 19.7 billion | 311,460 | 68.36% | 7.75% |
| 2019 | USD 20.6 billion | 318,283 | 68.38% | 7.75% |
| 2020 | USD 20.6 billion | 325,130 | 69.96% | 7.75% |
| 2021 | USD 25.3 billion | 326,602 | 72.54% | 7.75% |
| 2022 | USD 24.5 billion | 333,098 | 71.62% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 25.8 billion | 340,637 | 73.44% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 27.5 billion | 346,341 | 74.01% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 29.4 billion | 350,613 | 73.98% | 7.00% |
KPERS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 54.00% | 33.00% | 5.00% | 7.00% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2002 | 52.00% | 33.00% | 5.00% | 8.00% | 0.00% | 2.00% |
| 2003 | 53.00% | 34.40% | 5.30% | 7.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2004 | 53.00% | 34.40% | 5.30% | 7.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2005 | 53.22% | 30.46% | 4.46% | 7.29% | 0.00% | 4.57% |
| 2006 | 54.95% | 29.42% | 4.25% | 7.21% | 0.00% | 4.17% |
| 2007 | 56.07% | 30.89% | 3.08% | 6.94% | 0.00% | 3.02% |
| 2008 | 51.71% | 34.63% | 2.98% | 7.06% | 0.00% | 3.62% |
| 2009 | 49.65% | 30.81% | 3.61% | 6.16% | 0.00% | 9.77% |
| 2010 | 48.97% | 34.49% | 3.41% | 7.89% | 0.00% | 5.24% |
| 2011 | 61.00% | 17.70% | 2.80% | 6.60% | 0.00% | 2.60% |
| 2012 | 60.40% | 19.30% | 3.00% | 8.50% | 0.00% | 1.30% |
| 2013 | 61.14% | 19.88% | 2.60% | 8.69% | 0.00% | 1.60% |
| 2014 | 58.40% | 20.40% | 0.00% | 7.90% | 0.00% | 2.00% |
| 2015 | 54.66% | 19.72% | 0.00% | 8.91% | 0.00% | 2.40% |
| 2016 | 51.10% | 20.50% | 0.00% | 9.90% | 0.00% | 2.70% |
| 2017 | 52.00% | 18.40% | 0.00% | 9.20% | 0.00% | 4.50% |
| 2018 | 50.20% | 18.61% | 0.00% | 9.90% | 0.00% | 4.36% |
| 2019 | 49.30% | 18.90% | 0.00% | 9.60% | 0.00% | 3.30% |
| 2020 | 49.80% | 16.73% | 0.00% | 9.52% | 0.00% | 4.01% |
| 2021 | 53.10% | 14.90% | 0.00% | 9.40% | 0.00% | 3.00% |
| 2022 | 43.50% | 15.40% | 0.00% | 12.70% | 0.00% | 5.80% |
| 2023 | 47.70% | 15.10% | 0.00% | 11.60% | 0.00% | 4.30% |
| 2024 | 53.72% | 27.75% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.22% |
| 2025 | 50.10% | 23.30% | 0.00% | 9.40% | 0.00% | 2.80% |
KPERS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -7.30% | 9.40% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -4.70% | 5.40% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 4.00% | 3.10% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 15.40% | 3.80% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 12.10% | 3.90% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 12.30% | 7.60% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 18.03% | 12.28% | 8.79% |
| 2008 | -4.43% | 10.39% | 6.66% |
| 2009 | -19.64% | 2.69% | 3.25% |
| 2010 | 14.90% | 3.20% | 3.30% |
| 2011 | 22.60% | 5.00% | 6.30% |
| 2012 | 1.00% | 1.80% | 6.90% |
| 2013 | 14.00% | 5.50% | 7.90% |
| 2014 | 18.40% | 14.00% | 8.20% |
| 2015 | 3.70% | 11.70% | 7.40% |
| 2016 | 0.70% | 7.40% | 6.20% |
| 2017 | 12.70% | 9.70% | 5.70% |
| 2018 | 8.70% | 8.70% | 7.10% |
| 2019 | 6.70% | 6.40% | 10.10% |
| 2020 | 2.10% | 6.10% | 8.80% |
| 2021 | 26.30% | 11.00% | 9.20% |
| 2022 | -4.70% | 7.40% | 8.50% |
| 2023 | 7.40% | 7.10% | 7.90% |
| 2024 | 9.70% | 7.70% | 7.10% |
| 2025 | 10.30% | 9.40% | 7.70% |