US public pension profile
Kansas City, MO Police Retirement System.
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Missouri ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 1.0 billion
- Total membership
- 2,702
- Funded ratio
- 66.18%
- Assumed investment return
- 6.75%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 6.86% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 6.69% |
| Ten years | 5.88% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.6 billion | 2,356 | 97.52% | 7.75% |
| 2002 | USD 0.6 billion | 2,366 | 98.00% | 7.75% |
| 2003 | USD 0.5 billion | 2,430 | 96.00% | 7.75% |
| 2004 | USD 0.6 billion | 2,478 | 90.00% | 7.75% |
| 2005 | USD 0.6 billion | 2,469 | 85.00% | 7.75% |
| 2006 | USD 0.7 billion | 2,550 | 82.00% | 7.75% |
| 2007 | USD 0.8 billion | 2,592 | 82.00% | 7.75% |
| 2008 | USD 0.7 billion | 2,633 | 86.00% | 7.75% |
| 2009 | USD 0.5 billion | 2,607 | 87.00% | 7.75% |
| 2010 | USD 0.7 billion | 2,630 | 79.00% | 7.75% |
| 2011 | USD 0.7 billion | 2,613 | 76.00% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 0.7 billion | 2,594 | 76.00% | 7.75% |
| 2013 | USD 0.7 billion | 2,620 | 78.00% | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 0.8 billion | 2,669 | 77.00% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 0.8 billion | 2,669 | 77.48% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 0.8 billion | 2,633 | 76.33% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 0.8 billion | 2,625 | 76.26% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 0.9 billion | 2,649 | 76.32% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 0.9 billion | 2,686 | 75.45% | 7.45% |
| 2020 | USD 0.9 billion | 2,739 | 74.48% | 7.40% |
| 2021 | USD 1.0 billion | 2,727 | 75.33% | 7.25% |
| 2022 | USD 1.0 billion | 2,676 | 75.50% | 7.20% |
| 2023 | USD 1.0 billion | 2,637 | 71.50% | 6.95% |
| 2024 | USD 1.0 billion | 2,673 | 69.28% | 6.85% |
| 2025 | USD 1.0 billion | 2,702 | 66.18% | 6.75% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | 44.00% | 26.62% | 1.85% | 13.32% | 14.21% | 0.00% |
| 2018 | 37.10% | 31.83% | 1.66% | 14.94% | 14.46% | 0.00% |
| 2019 | 42.87% | 29.08% | 1.20% | 12.88% | 13.97% | 0.00% |
| 2020 | 47.01% | 29.57% | 0.90% | 11.80% | 10.72% | 0.00% |
| 2021 | 37.19% | 31.86% | 0.60% | 14.67% | 15.68% | 0.00% |
| 2022 | 35.08% | 28.25% | 0.63% | 17.54% | 18.49% | 0.00% |
| 2023 | 39.01% | 28.93% | 0.44% | 13.24% | 18.38% | 0.00% |
| 2024 | 38.90% | 31.17% | 0.30% | 11.26% | 17.94% | 0.42% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | 13.00% | 9.90% | 8.70% |
| 2008 | 0.30% | 11.60% | 6.00% |
| 2009 | -24.30% | 2.00% | 1.90% |
| 2010 | 27.70% | 5.40% | 3.40% |
| 2011 | 13.30% | 4.40% | 5.80% |
| 2012 | 0.10% | 1.90% | 5.70% |
| 2013 | 8.70% | 3.50% | 7.90% |
| 2014 | 10.00% | 11.60% | 6.40% |
| 2015 | 6.50% | 7.70% | 6.30% |
| 2016 | 0.10% | 5.10% | 4.90% |
| 2017 | 10.10% | 7.10% | 4.70% |
| 2018 | 9.50% | 7.50% | 5.80% |
| 2019 | 4.60% | 6.10% | 9.00% |
| 2020 | 1.50% | 5.10% | 6.50% |
| 2021 | 23.30% | 9.50% | 7.20% |
| 2022 | -1.70% | 6.60% | 6.00% |
| 2023 | -0.35% | 5.30% | 6.10% |
| 2024 | 7.10% | 5.40% | 5.60% |
| 2025 | 6.86% | 6.69% | 5.88% |