US public pension profile
Kansas City (MO) Civilian Workers in Police Dept.
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Missouri ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 0.2 billion
- Total membership
- 902
- Funded ratio
- 69.79%
- Assumed investment return
- 6.75%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 6.83% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 6.72% |
| Ten years | 5.70% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.1 billion | 652 | 100.00% | Not reported |
| 2002 | USD 0.1 billion | 725 | 98.00% | 7.75% |
| 2003 | USD 0.1 billion | 748 | 82.10% | 7.75% |
| 2004 | USD 0.1 billion | 731 | 78.00% | 7.75% |
| 2005 | USD 0.1 billion | 734 | 75.00% | 7.75% |
| 2006 | USD 0.1 billion | 765 | 74.00% | 7.75% |
| 2007 | USD 0.1 billion | 779 | 81.00% | Not reported |
| 2008 | USD 0.1 billion | 802 | 83.00% | Not reported |
| 2009 | USD 0.1 billion | 795 | 69.00% | Not reported |
| 2010 | USD 0.1 billion | 774 | 77.00% | 7.75% |
| 2011 | USD 0.1 billion | 763 | 75.00% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 0.1 billion | 767 | 76.00% | 7.50% |
| 2013 | USD 0.1 billion | 790 | 76.00% | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 0.1 billion | 796 | 76.69% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 0.1 billion | 813 | 78.54% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 0.1 billion | 804 | 79.12% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 0.1 billion | 787 | 80.16% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 0.1 billion | 823 | 81.42% | 7.45% |
| 2019 | USD 0.1 billion | 871 | 79.63% | 7.40% |
| 2020 | USD 0.1 billion | 873 | 78.32% | 7.40% |
| 2021 | USD 0.2 billion | 870 | 77.90% | 7.10% |
| 2022 | USD 0.2 billion | 862 | 78.29% | 7.05% |
| 2023 | USD 0.2 billion | 870 | 73.70% | 6.95% |
| 2024 | USD 0.2 billion | 879 | 71.00% | 6.85% |
| 2025 | USD 0.2 billion | 902 | 69.79% | 6.75% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | 39.19% | 28.89% | 1.64% | 12.06% | 14.19% | 0.00% |
| 2018 | 36.65% | 31.50% | 1.40% | 12.43% | 18.02% | 0.00% |
| 2019 | 36.27% | 31.95% | 1.04% | 12.11% | 18.63% | 0.00% |
| 2020 | 39.39% | 32.99% | 0.81% | 12.02% | 14.79% | 0.00% |
| 2021 | 39.16% | 32.82% | 0.70% | 13.14% | 14.18% | 0.00% |
| 2022 | 32.53% | 31.80% | 0.57% | 18.29% | 16.80% | 0.00% |
| 2023 | 36.68% | 30.84% | 0.36% | 14.94% | 17.18% | 0.00% |
| 2024 | 39.86% | 29.57% | 0.30% | 11.09% | 15.78% | 3.40% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -4.70% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -2.39% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | -6.50% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 17.48% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 7.79% | 1.95% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 17.55% | 6.32% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 13.00% | 9.90% | 8.70% |
| 2008 | 0.32% | 11.03% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -24.30% | 1.69% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 27.80% | 5.40% | 3.40% |
| 2011 | 13.50% | 4.40% | 5.80% |
| 2012 | -0.10% | 1.60% | 5.70% |
| 2013 | 8.80% | 3.60% | 7.25% |
| 2014 | 9.04% | 11.44% | 6.46% |
| 2015 | 5.74% | 7.30% | 6.25% |
| 2016 | -0.64% | 4.48% | 4.48% |
| 2017 | 9.47% | 6.41% | 4.15% |
| 2018 | 8.93% | 6.44% | 5.01% |
| 2019 | 4.60% | 6.00% | 8.70% |
| 2020 | 1.50% | 5.00% | 6.30% |
| 2021 | 23.30% | 9.50% | 7.20% |
| 2022 | -1.80% | 6.60% | 6.00% |
| 2023 | 0.10% | 4.90% | 6.10% |
| 2024 | 6.90% | 5.40% | 5.50% |
| 2025 | 6.83% | 6.72% | 5.70% |