US public pension profile
Municipal Fire and Police Retirement System of Iowa
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Iowa ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 3.5 billion
- Total membership
- 9,354
- Funded ratio
- 85.42%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.50%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 21.52% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 7.31% |
| Private equity | 26.13% |
| Real estate | 4.81% |
| Hedge funds | 3.80% |
| Cash | 0.80% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 9.20% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.50% |
| Ten years | 7.40% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 1.2 billion | 7,197 | 99.05% | 7.50% |
| 2002 | USD 1.1 billion | 7,297 | 93.74% | 7.50% |
| 2003 | USD 1.1 billion | 7,407 | 87.83% | 7.50% |
| 2004 | USD 1.3 billion | 7,446 | 84.21% | 7.50% |
| 2005 | USD 1.5 billion | 7,523 | 85.42% | 7.50% |
| 2006 | USD 1.7 billion | 7,633 | 89.00% | 7.50% |
| 2007 | USD 2.0 billion | 7,740 | 87.20% | 7.50% |
| 2008 | USD 1.9 billion | 7,812 | 89.70% | 7.50% |
| 2009 | USD 1.4 billion | 7,871 | 85.60% | 7.50% |
| 2010 | USD 1.5 billion | 7,918 | 81.10% | 7.50% |
| 2011 | USD 1.8 billion | 7,959 | 78.20% | 7.50% |
| 2012 | USD 1.8 billion | 8,000 | 73.70% | 7.50% |
| 2013 | USD 2.0 billion | 8,043 | 73.90% | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 2.3 billion | 8,102 | 77.81% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 2.3 billion | 8,155 | 80.85% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 2.2 billion | 8,253 | 81.38% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 2.4 billion | 8,369 | 81.40% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 2.5 billion | 8,477 | 82.00% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 2.6 billion | 8,608 | 81.04% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 2.6 billion | 8,649 | 79.93% | 7.50% |
| 2021 | USD 3.3 billion | 8,807 | 82.95% | 7.50% |
| 2022 | USD 3.1 billion | 8,961 | 84.44% | 7.50% |
| 2023 | USD 3.2 billion | 9,066 | 84.57% | 7.50% |
| 2024 | USD 3.3 billion | 9,250 | 84.47% | 7.50% |
| 2025 | USD 3.5 billion | 9,354 | 85.42% | 7.50% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 55.52% | 37.36% | 0.00% | 7.12% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2002 | 55.66% | 35.34% | 0.00% | 7.41% | 0.00% | 1.60% |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 34.65% | 31.63% | 12.86% | 10.50% | 0.00% | 10.37% |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | 50.65% | 24.42% | 10.45% | 10.65% | 0.00% | 3.82% |
| 2008 | 45.88% | 22.09% | 11.95% | 14.16% | 0.00% | 5.92% |
| 2009 | 22.50% | 10.79% | 12.88% | 9.32% | 44.52% | 0.00% |
| 2010 | 23.11% | 9.06% | 15.90% | 6.74% | 45.16% | 0.04% |
| 2011 | 25.74% | 10.50% | 24.52% | 8.41% | 30.63% | 0.19% |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | 36.04% | 30.54% | 21.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2017 | 37.42% | 31.48% | 19.92% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2018 | 35.97% | 33.51% | 20.20% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2019 | 23.68% | 5.59% | 23.48% | 5.99% | 0.00% | 2.70% |
| 2020 | 23.98% | 10.79% | 20.08% | 6.09% | 0.00% | 1.40% |
| 2021 | 25.90% | 8.80% | 22.70% | 5.00% | 0.60% | 0.80% |
| 2022 | 18.68% | 9.39% | 25.77% | 6.79% | 1.60% | 0.80% |
| 2023 | 19.18% | 7.09% | 25.17% | 5.89% | 4.20% | 1.40% |
| 2024 | 21.50% | 7.20% | 25.90% | 4.90% | 4.00% | 0.90% |
| 2025 | 21.52% | 7.31% | 26.13% | 4.81% | 3.80% | 0.80% |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -5.26% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -2.64% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 4.40% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 18.60% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 12.30% | 5.00% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 13.70% | 9.00% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 18.90% | 13.50% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -2.10% | 12.00% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -21.80% | 3.10% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 10.70% | 2.80% | 3.92% |
| 2011 | 23.10% | 4.40% | 6.68% |
| 2012 | 0.33% | 0.92% | 7.01% |
| 2013 | 12.84% | 3.84% | 7.85% |
| 2014 | 18.20% | 12.80% | 7.80% |
| 2015 | 3.10% | 11.20% | 6.90% |
| 2016 | 0.22% | 6.74% | 5.57% |
| 2017 | 11.80% | 9.10% | 4.90% |
| 2018 | 7.60% | 8.00% | 5.90% |
| 2019 | 5.32% | 5.54% | 9.09% |
| 2020 | 2.35% | 5.40% | 8.30% |
| 2021 | 30.70% | 11.20% | 8.90% |
| 2022 | -3.50% | 7.90% | 8.50% |
| 2023 | 6.00% | 7.60% | 7.80% |
| 2024 | 7.90% | 8.10% | 6.80% |
| 2025 | 9.20% | 9.50% | 7.40% |