US public pension profile· Illinois TRS
Teachers' Retirement System of The State of Illinois
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Illinois ·Fiscal year 2025
Illinois TRS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 77.3 billion
- Total membership
- 461,174
- Funded ratio
- 47.80%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 53.30% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 25.60% |
| Private equity | 0.00% |
| Real estate | 0.00% |
| Hedge funds | 4.40% |
| Cash | 0.00% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 9.70% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.70% |
| Ten years | 7.40% |
Illinois TRS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 23.3 billion | 276,616 | 59.50% | 8.50% |
| 2002 | USD 22.4 billion | 289,799 | 52.00% | 8.50% |
| 2003 | USD 23.1 billion | 304,009 | 49.30% | 8.50% |
| 2004 | USD 31.5 billion | 316,375 | 61.90% | 8.50% |
| 2005 | USD 34.1 billion | 328,416 | 60.80% | 8.50% |
| 2006 | USD 36.6 billion | 335,693 | 62.00% | 8.50% |
| 2007 | USD 41.9 billion | 347,800 | 63.80% | 8.50% |
| 2008 | USD 38.4 billion | 357,232 | 56.00% | 8.50% |
| 2009 | USD 28.5 billion | 368,309 | 52.10% | 8.50% |
| 2010 | USD 31.3 billion | 378,827 | 48.40% | 8.50% |
| 2011 | USD 37.5 billion | 386,837 | 46.50% | 8.50% |
| 2012 | USD 36.5 billion | 393,152 | 42.10% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 39.9 billion | 393,657 | 40.60% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 45.8 billion | 398,091 | 40.63% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 46.4 billion | 403,105 | 42.02% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 45.3 billion | 408,679 | 39.81% | 7.00% |
| 2017 | USD 49.4 billion | 414,430 | 40.25% | 7.00% |
| 2018 | USD 52.0 billion | 420,147 | 40.73% | 7.00% |
| 2019 | USD 53.3 billion | 423,206 | 40.62% | 7.00% |
| 2020 | USD 52.3 billion | 429,137 | 40.48% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 64.2 billion | 434,117 | 42.46% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 62.8 billion | 438,836 | 43.83% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 66.5 billion | 444,993 | 44.81% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 71.4 billion | 454,516 | 45.80% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 77.3 billion | 461,174 | 47.80% | 7.00% |
Illinois TRS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 51.50% | 35.00% | 3.00% | 10.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2002 | 49.60% | 37.80% | 2.70% | 9.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2003 | 60.00% | 26.60% | 2.90% | 10.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2004 | 64.60% | 24.20% | 2.70% | 8.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2005 | 61.90% | 24.40% | 3.20% | 10.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2006 | 61.20% | 23.80% | 4.20% | 10.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2007 | 62.10% | 18.80% | 4.60% | 11.30% | 1.20% | 0.00% |
| 2008 | 54.60% | 17.30% | 6.30% | 12.50% | 1.30% | 0.00% |
| 2009 | 50.30% | 20.10% | 8.20% | 11.90% | 2.50% | 0.00% |
| 2010 | 47.90% | 18.40% | 9.50% | 10.40% | 3.90% | 0.00% |
| 2011 | 47.20% | 18.50% | 9.70% | 10.80% | 4.00% | 0.00% |
| 2012 | 43.90% | 17.20% | 11.50% | 12.50% | 5.50% | 0.00% |
| 2013 | 43.90% | 18.00% | 11.90% | 12.00% | 5.30% | 0.00% |
| 2014 | 42.80% | 18.90% | 11.10% | 12.40% | 5.80% | 0.00% |
| 2015 | 40.90% | 18.00% | 11.60% | 13.60% | 7.50% | 0.00% |
| 2016 | 36.50% | 20.60% | 12.30% | 15.50% | 7.30% | 0.00% |
| 2017 | 36.50% | 21.50% | 13.20% | 16.80% | 6.30% | 0.00% |
| 2018 | 35.90% | 23.00% | 13.20% | 14.00% | 11.40% | 0.00% |
| 2019 | 34.40% | 26.50% | 13.70% | 14.00% | 10.40% | 0.00% |
| 2020 | 32.90% | 28.00% | 12.60% | 15.00% | 10.80% | 0.00% |
| 2021 | 35.70% | 24.70% | 15.90% | 13.90% | 8.70% | 0.00% |
| 2022 | 32.50% | 24.30% | 16.30% | 17.80% | 7.20% | 0.00% |
| 2023 | 34.70% | 24.60% | 17.00% | 15.90% | 5.10% | 0.00% |
| 2024 | 52.30% | 28.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.40% | 0.00% |
| 2025 | 53.30% | 25.60% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.40% | 0.00% |
Illinois TRS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -4.20% | 10.10% | 10.60% |
| 2002 | -3.20% | 5.80% | 9.10% |
| 2003 | 4.90% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 16.50% | 4.60% | 9.60% |
| 2005 | 10.80% | 4.70% | 9.50% |
| 2006 | 11.80% | 7.90% | 9.00% |
| 2007 | 19.20% | 12.50% | 9.10% |
| 2008 | -5.00% | 10.30% | 6.90% |
| 2009 | -22.70% | 1.70% | 3.10% |
| 2010 | 12.90% | 2.00% | 3.30% |
| 2011 | 23.60% | 4.10% | 6.00% |
| 2012 | 0.80% | 0.70% | 6.40% |
| 2013 | 12.80% | 4.20% | 7.20% |
| 2014 | 17.40% | 13.20% | 7.30% |
| 2015 | 4.00% | 11.40% | 6.60% |
| 2016 | 0.01% | 6.80% | 5.40% |
| 2017 | 12.60% | 9.20% | 4.80% |
| 2018 | 8.50% | 8.30% | 6.20% |
| 2019 | 5.20% | 5.90% | 9.50% |
| 2020 | 0.60% | 5.20% | 8.30% |
| 2021 | 25.50% | 10.10% | 8.40% |
| 2022 | -1.20% | 7.30% | 8.20% |
| 2023 | 7.20% | 7.10% | 7.70% |
| 2024 | 8.80% | 7.80% | 6.90% |
| 2025 | 9.70% | 9.70% | 7.40% |