US public pension profile· PERSI
Public Employee Retirement System of Idaho
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Idaho ·Fiscal year 2025
PERSI: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 24.2 billion
- Funded ratio
- 90.59%
- Assumed investment return
- 6.55%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 56.10% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 28.70% |
| Private equity | 7.70% |
| Real estate | 7.20% |
| Hedge funds | 0.00% |
| Cash | 0.30% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 11.10% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.00% |
| Ten years | 7.90% |
PERSI: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 6.5 billion | 104,101 | 97.20% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 6.1 billion | 101,661 | 84.90% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 6.3 billion | 108,437 | 83.80% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 7.4 billion | 108,265 | 91.70% | 7.75% |
| 2005 | USD 8.2 billion | 111,665 | 94.20% | 7.75% |
| 2006 | USD 9.2 billion | 115,048 | 95.20% | 7.75% |
| 2007 | USD 11.0 billion | 118,109 | 105.50% | 7.75% |
| 2008 | USD 10.4 billion | 121,389 | 93.30% | 7.75% |
| 2009 | USD 8.7 billion | 123,096 | 74.10% | 7.75% |
| 2010 | USD 9.6 billion | 124,764 | 78.90% | 7.75% |
| 2011 | USD 11.4 billion | 126,621 | 90.20% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 11.3 billion | 129,102 | 84.70% | 7.50% |
| 2013 | USD 12.1 billion | 131,592 | 85.30% | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 13.9 billion | 135,272 | 92.66% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 14.0 billion | 139,492 | 90.11% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 13.9 billion | 144,560 | 86.09% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 15.3 billion | 149,692 | 89.45% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 16.3 billion | 155,607 | 90.29% | 7.05% |
| 2019 | USD 17.3 billion | 160,489 | 92.17% | 7.00% |
| 2020 | USD 17.4 billion | 165,175 | 87.61% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 21.8 billion | 170,172 | 99.68% | 6.30% |
| 2022 | USD 19.4 billion | 177,802 | 82.54% | 6.30% |
| 2023 | USD 20.7 billion | 183,422 | 83.70% | 6.35% |
| 2024 | USD 22.1 billion | Not reported | 85.36% | 6.35% |
| 2025 | USD 24.2 billion | Not reported | 90.59% | 6.55% |
PERSI: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 66.27% | 28.53% | 2.40% | 2.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2002 | 62.94% | 30.87% | 2.70% | 3.40% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2003 | 65.10% | 28.90% | 2.50% | 3.40% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2004 | 64.80% | 28.90% | 2.50% | 3.60% | 0.00% | 0.20% |
| 2005 | 63.20% | 29.50% | 2.80% | 4.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2006 | 63.43% | 27.86% | 3.41% | 5.31% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2007 | 66.03% | 24.25% | 4.01% | 5.71% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2008 | 56.29% | 28.45% | 7.06% | 7.17% | 0.00% | 1.02% |
| 2009 | 56.06% | 28.33% | 7.11% | 8.41% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2010 | 55.88% | 29.38% | 7.97% | 6.77% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2011 | 58.50% | 25.50% | 8.10% | 7.80% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2012 | 54.40% | 27.40% | 9.00% | 9.00% | 0.00% | 0.20% |
| 2013 | 58.40% | 24.90% | 8.20% | 8.20% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2014 | 61.94% | 22.68% | 6.99% | 8.19% | 0.00% | 0.20% |
| 2015 | 58.30% | 26.10% | 6.90% | 8.60% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2016 | 56.00% | 27.00% | 6.60% | 10.00% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2017 | 55.60% | 28.60% | 6.00% | 9.70% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2018 | 58.20% | 26.70% | 6.20% | 8.70% | 0.00% | 0.20% |
| 2019 | 57.20% | 27.40% | 5.90% | 9.20% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2020 | 56.37% | 27.88% | 5.72% | 9.03% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2021 | 55.36% | 29.33% | 6.31% | 8.51% | 0.00% | 0.50% |
| 2022 | 51.05% | 29.99% | 8.12% | 10.53% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2023 | 53.95% | 28.73% | 7.61% | 9.31% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2024 | 55.25% | 29.43% | 7.51% | 7.61% | 0.00% | 0.20% |
| 2025 | 56.10% | 28.70% | 7.70% | 7.20% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
PERSI: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -6.10% | 10.80% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -7.10% | 5.30% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 3.70% | 2.70% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 18.10% | 3.90% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 10.80% | 3.40% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 12.20% | 7.20% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 20.00% | 12.80% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -4.20% | 11.00% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -16.00% | 3.70% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 12.40% | 4.00% | 3.72% |
| 2011 | 20.70% | 5.50% | 6.40% |
| 2012 | 1.60% | 2.10% | 7.30% |
| 2013 | 9.10% | 4.80% | 7.80% |
| 2014 | 17.20% | 12.00% | 7.80% |
| 2015 | 3.00% | 10.10% | 7.00% |
| 2016 | 1.80% | 6.40% | 6.00% |
| 2017 | 12.70% | 8.60% | 5.30% |
| 2018 | 8.70% | 8.60% | 6.60% |
| 2019 | 8.40% | 6.90% | 9.40% |
| 2020 | 3.10% | 6.90% | 8.50% |
| 2021 | 27.90% | 11.90% | 9.10% |
| 2022 | -9.50% | 7.10% | 7.80% |
| 2023 | 9.60% | 7.20% | 7.90% |
| 2024 | 9.20% | 7.40% | 7.10% |
| 2025 | 11.10% | 9.00% | 7.90% |