US public pension profile
Hartford Municipal Employees' Retirement Fund
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Connecticut ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 1.2 billion
- Total membership
- 5,520
- Funded ratio
- 69.07%
- Assumed investment return
- 6.75%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 9.51% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 8.36% |
| Ten years | 7.01% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 1.0 billion | 6,031 | 113.10% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.9 billion | 5,932 | 108.70% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 0.9 billion | 5,999 | 104.70% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 1.0 billion | 6,031 | 99.60% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 1.0 billion | 5,236 | 101.70% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 1.0 billion | 5,336 | 101.90% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 1.2 billion | 5,388 | 100.10% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 1.1 billion | 5,471 | 102.20% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 0.9 billion | 5,301 | 96.60% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 0.9 billion | 5,243 | 88.60% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 1.0 billion | 5,297 | 83.50% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 0.9 billion | 5,270 | 79.00% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 1.0 billion | 5,408 | 74.70% | 7.75% |
| 2014 | USD 1.1 billion | 5,411 | 76.88% | 7.75% |
| 2015 | USD 1.0 billion | 5,509 | 77.59% | 7.75% |
| 2016 | USD 1.0 billion | 5,192 | 74.84% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 1.0 billion | 5,389 | 74.38% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 1.0 billion | 5,497 | 73.14% | 7.38% |
| 2019 | USD 1.0 billion | 5,567 | 71.09% | 7.25% |
| 2020 | USD 1.0 billion | 5,576 | 66.46% | 6.75% |
| 2021 | USD 1.2 billion | 5,471 | 68.14% | 6.75% |
| 2022 | USD 1.0 billion | 5,475 | 68.68% | 6.75% |
| 2023 | USD 1.1 billion | 5,482 | 68.56% | 6.75% |
| 2024 | USD 1.1 billion | 5,520 | 69.07% | 6.75% |
| 2025 | USD 1.2 billion | 5,520 | 69.07% | 6.75% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2013 | 44.96% | 36.76% | 6.99% | 1.40% | 5.00% | 4.90% |
| 2014 | 41.24% | 32.33% | 9.31% | 2.90% | 11.61% | 2.60% |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | 36.30% | 30.80% | 11.00% | 6.90% | 10.30% | 3.40% |
| 2018 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2019 | 39.08% | 21.94% | 11.12% | 7.32% | 5.41% | 4.31% |
| 2020 | 41.86% | 17.16% | 9.71% | 7.16% | 8.43% | 4.71% |
| 2021 | 45.22% | 19.57% | 9.92% | 5.62% | 7.12% | 3.46% |
| 2022 | 42.76% | 11.53% | 15.17% | 8.18% | 6.30% | 4.63% |
| 2023 | 43.76% | 17.58% | 17.68% | 7.69% | 5.59% | 2.80% |
| 2024 | 41.66% | 18.48% | 18.98% | 7.29% | 5.89% | 2.30% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -2.01% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -3.44% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 4.07% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 14.62% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 9.20% | 4.27% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 8.67% | 6.45% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 15.31% | 10.29% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -1.44% | 9.10% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -14.47% | 2.90% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 10.79% | 3.20% | 3.73% |
| 2011 | 17.59% | 4.84% | 5.64% |
| 2012 | 2.13% | 2.32% | 6.23% |
| 2013 | 8.30% | 4.30% | 6.66% |
| 2014 | 13.60% | 10.30% | 6.56% |
| 2015 | 2.00% | 8.55% | 5.84% |
| 2016 | 0.86% | 5.27% | 5.05% |
| 2017 | 10.44% | 6.93% | 4.60% |
| 2018 | 7.60% | 7.30% | 5.52% |
| 2019 | 7.50% | 6.00% | 7.96% |
| 2020 | 2.30% | 5.60% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | 25.40% | 10.40% | 7.70% |
| 2022 | -10.00% | 5.70% | 6.44% |
| 2023 | 10.00% | 6.30% | 6.61% |
| 2024 | 9.90% | 6.90% | 6.25% |
| 2025 | 9.51% | 8.36% | 7.01% |