US public pension profile
Georgia Firefighters' Pension Fund
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Georgia ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 1.4 billion
- Total membership
- 25,585
- Funded ratio
- 86.68%
- Assumed investment return
- 5.75%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 57.20% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 30.40% |
| Private equity | 7.90% |
| Real estate | 0.00% |
| Hedge funds | 0.00% |
| Cash | 4.50% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 11.70% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 10.17% |
| Ten years | 7.76% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.4 billion | Not reported | 109.70% | 6.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.4 billion | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | USD 0.4 billion | Not reported | 102.40% | 6.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.5 billion | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | USD 0.5 billion | Not reported | 91.00% | 6.00% |
| 2006 | USD 0.6 billion | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | USD 0.7 billion | Not reported | 91.30% | 6.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.6 billion | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | USD 0.4 billion | Not reported | 66.00% | 6.00% |
| 2010 | USD 0.5 billion | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | USD 0.6 billion | 18,014 | 76.40% | 6.00% |
| 2012 | USD 0.6 billion | 18,892 | Not reported | 6.00% |
| 2013 | USD 0.7 billion | 19,770 | 69.80% | 6.00% |
| 2014 | USD 0.8 billion | 20,100 | 80.02% | 6.00% |
| 2015 | Not reported | 20,556 | 79.76% | 6.00% |
| 2016 | USD 0.8 billion | 20,929 | 79.88% | 6.00% |
| 2017 | USD 0.8 billion | 21,256 | 82.17% | 6.00% |
| 2018 | USD 0.9 billion | 21,767 | 82.18% | 6.00% |
| 2019 | USD 0.9 billion | 22,159 | 83.04% | 6.00% |
| 2020 | USD 0.9 billion | 22,563 | 83.36% | 6.00% |
| 2021 | USD 1.2 billion | 23,028 | 84.12% | 5.75% |
| 2022 | USD 1.1 billion | 23,575 | 80.92% | 5.75% |
| 2023 | USD 1.1 billion | 24,111 | 81.98% | 5.75% |
| 2024 | USD 1.3 billion | 24,894 | 83.90% | 5.75% |
| 2025 | USD 1.4 billion | 25,585 | 86.68% | 5.75% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | 58.00% | 25.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.00% |
| 2009 | 27.27% | 37.37% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 18.18% |
| 2010 | 47.80% | 51.60% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.60% |
| 2011 | 61.30% | 36.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.80% |
| 2012 | 59.50% | 37.70% | 0.60% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.20% |
| 2013 | 62.96% | 35.14% | 1.10% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.80% |
| 2014 | 63.67% | 32.83% | 1.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.00% |
| 2015 | 62.70% | 33.50% | 2.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.30% |
| 2016 | 62.16% | 33.83% | 3.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2017 | 62.26% | 32.23% | 3.10% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.40% |
| 2018 | 61.40% | 32.00% | 3.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.70% |
| 2019 | 61.30% | 33.10% | 4.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.30% |
| 2020 | 58.20% | 32.80% | 5.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.00% |
| 2021 | 63.96% | 27.43% | 5.91% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.70% |
| 2022 | 59.94% | 29.07% | 8.09% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.90% |
| 2023 | 58.18% | 28.64% | 8.08% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.09% |
| 2024 | 57.50% | 28.70% | 8.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.50% |
| 2025 | 57.20% | 30.40% | 7.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.50% |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 1.31% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | 1.21% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 5.24% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 15.58% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 3.70% | 5.28% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 5.36% | 6.11% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 16.69% | 9.17% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -7.10% | 6.48% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -29.10% | -3.43% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 14.10% | -1.57% | 1.80% |
| 2011 | 23.30% | 1.58% | 3.82% |
| 2012 | 0.70% | -1.38% | 3.76% |
| 2013 | 16.60% | 3.21% | 4.83% |
| 2014 | 1.60% | 10.91% | 3.49% |
| 2015 | 1.60% | 8.37% | 3.28% |
| 2016 | 1.50% | 4.23% | 2.89% |
| 2017 | 11.70% | 6.42% | 2.45% |
| 2018 | 8.00% | 4.80% | 4.00% |
| 2019 | 5.90% | 5.67% | 8.26% |
| 2020 | 0.30% | 5.40% | 6.87% |
| 2021 | 32.60% | 11.18% | 7.65% |
| 2022 | -10.50% | 6.36% | 6.39% |
| 2023 | 9.70% | 6.70% | 5.74% |
| 2024 | 11.60% | 7.82% | 6.74% |
| 2025 | 11.70% | 10.17% | 7.76% |