US public pension profile
Cook County Employees' Annuity Benefit Fund
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Illinois ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 5.5 billion | 46,428 | 88.88% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 5.2 billion | 47,171 | 74.70% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 6.1 billion | 49,073 | 67.52% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 6.6 billion | 49,701 | 70.90% | 7.50% |
| 2005 | USD 7.0 billion | 49,837 | 75.80% | 7.50% |
| 2006 | USD 7.7 billion | 50,616 | 75.30% | 7.50% |
| 2007 | USD 8.1 billion | 49,157 | 77.30% | 7.50% |
| 2008 | USD 6.1 billion | 50,018 | 72.60% | 7.50% |
| 2009 | USD 6.9 billion | 50,311 | 63.20% | 7.50% |
| 2010 | USD 7.6 billion | 50,646 | 60.70% | 7.50% |
| 2011 | USD 7.4 billion | 50,487 | 57.50% | 7.50% |
| 2012 | USD 8.1 billion | 49,477 | 53.55% | 7.50% |
| 2013 | USD 8.9 billion | 50,711 | 56.59% | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 9.1 billion | 51,926 | 57.51% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 8.6 billion | 52,383 | 55.39% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 9.1 billion | Not reported | 56.73% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 10.4 billion | Not reported | 60.09% | 7.25% |
| 2018 | USD 9.9 billion | Not reported | 60.75% | 7.25% |
| 2019 | USD 11.5 billion | Not reported | 61.19% | 7.25% |
| 2020 | USD 12.6 billion | Not reported | 63.87% | 7.25% |
| 2021 | USD 14.3 billion | Not reported | 67.16% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 12.0 billion | Not reported | 66.46% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 13.0 billion | Not reported | 65.90% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 13.7 billion | 58,856 | 65.93% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | 53.00% | 42.00% | 1.00% | 1.00% | 0.00% | 3.00% |
| 2009 | 59.00% | 36.00% | 1.00% | 1.00% | 0.00% | 3.00% |
| 2010 | 57.00% | 35.00% | 1.00% | 2.00% | 0.00% | 5.00% |
| 2011 | 42.00% | 38.00% | 1.00% | 6.00% | 0.00% | 13.00% |
| 2012 | 44.00% | 31.00% | 1.00% | 7.00% | 9.00% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | 52.00% | 24.00% | 1.00% | 8.00% | 9.00% | 6.00% |
| 2014 | 50.50% | 24.75% | 0.99% | 7.92% | 8.91% | 6.93% |
| 2015 | 51.00% | 24.00% | 2.00% | 9.00% | 9.00% | 5.00% |
| 2016 | 53.00% | 23.00% | 3.00% | 7.00% | 7.00% | 7.00% |
| 2017 | 60.00% | 21.00% | 3.00% | 7.00% | 6.00% | 3.00% |
| 2018 | 53.00% | 26.00% | 5.00% | 7.00% | 7.00% | 2.00% |
| 2019 | 57.00% | 22.00% | 6.00% | 6.00% | 6.00% | 3.00% |
| 2020 | 56.00% | 22.00% | 8.00% | 6.00% | 6.00% | 2.00% |
| 2021 | 57.00% | 23.00% | 8.00% | 6.00% | 6.00% | 0.00% |
| 2022 | 51.90% | 22.60% | 7.50% | 10.40% | 6.80% | 0.80% |
| 2023 | 56.64% | 22.28% | 6.49% | 8.59% | 5.00% | 1.00% |
| 2024 | 56.95% | 22.91% | 5.69% | 7.81% | 4.70% | 1.14% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -0.60% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -6.60% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 18.80% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 9.30% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 4.80% | 4.79% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 11.40% | 7.20% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 6.30% | 10.01% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -24.50% | 0.48% | Not reported |
| 2009 | 18.00% | 2.00% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 12.40% | 3.50% | 4.12% |
| 2011 | 1.20% | 1.60% | 4.31% |
| 2012 | 12.50% | 2.70% | 6.27% |
| 2013 | 15.10% | 11.70% | 5.94% |
| 2014 | 5.90% | 9.30% | 5.60% |
| 2015 | -0.10% | 6.70% | 5.10% |
| 2016 | 7.70% | 8.00% | 4.74% |
| 2017 | 15.35% | 8.49% | 5.60% |
| 2018 | -3.79% | 4.69% | 8.19% |
| 2019 | 19.07% | 7.25% | 8.29% |
| 2020 | 12.74% | 9.91% | 8.25% |
| 2021 | 17.15% | 11.78% | 9.85% |
| 2022 | -13.01% | 5.65% | 7.13% |
| 2023 | 12.27% | 8.96% | 6.86% |
| 2024 | 9.59% | 7.17% | 7.23% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |