US public pension profile
Cincinnati Employees' Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Ohio ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 1.8 billion
- Total membership
- 7,432
- Funded ratio
- 72.00%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.50%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 10.60% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.83% |
| Ten years | 7.06% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 1.6 billion | 8,462 | 115.38% | 8.75% |
| 2002 | USD 1.4 billion | 8,376 | 102.30% | 8.75% |
| 2003 | USD 1.6 billion | 8,431 | 95.04% | 8.75% |
| 2004 | USD 1.6 billion | 8,232 | 94.74% | 8.75% |
| 2005 | USD 1.6 billion | 8,026 | 93.61% | 8.75% |
| 2006 | USD 1.8 billion | 7,941 | 87.42% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 1.8 billion | 7,827 | 86.23% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 1.2 billion | 7,756 | 71.15% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 1.4 billion | 7,737 | 76.75% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 1.4 billion | 7,676 | 75.07% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 1.4 billion | 14,259 | 66.81% | 7.50% |
| 2012 | USD 1.4 billion | 13,552 | 61.34% | 7.50% |
| 2013 | USD 1.4 billion | 13,719 | Not reported | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 1.6 billion | 13,886 | 63.21% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 1.5 billion | 14,490 | 64.34% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 1.7 billion | 14,904 | 77.15% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 1.7 billion | 15,267 | 76.88% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 1.8 billion | 15,945 | 75.52% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 1.7 billion | 7,370 | 72.63% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 1.6 billion | 6,788 | 71.22% | 7.50% |
| 2021 | USD 1.9 billion | 7,313 | 70.53% | 7.50% |
| 2022 | USD 1.7 billion | 7,217 | 71.55% | 7.50% |
| 2023 | USD 1.7 billion | 7,298 | 69.27% | 7.50% |
| 2024 | USD 1.7 billion | 7,368 | 68.82% | 7.50% |
| 2025 | USD 1.8 billion | 7,432 | 72.00% | 7.50% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | 62.30% | 17.10% | 4.20% | 7.00% | 6.70% | 0.00% |
| 2010 | 47.95% | 22.28% | 5.69% | 5.99% | 15.58% | 0.00% |
| 2011 | 51.45% | 16.88% | 6.29% | 7.09% | 14.89% | 0.10% |
| 2012 | 48.95% | 15.42% | 7.51% | 8.21% | 14.41% | 0.10% |
| 2013 | 48.70% | 15.00% | 7.20% | 8.00% | 15.00% | 0.20% |
| 2014 | 50.90% | 14.00% | 6.60% | 8.10% | 14.90% | 0.70% |
| 2015 | 48.90% | 15.00% | 6.50% | 8.80% | 15.30% | 0.30% |
| 2016 | 49.40% | 16.00% | 7.20% | 8.70% | 12.70% | 0.10% |
| 2017 | 54.15% | 16.42% | 7.31% | 10.31% | 5.81% | 1.00% |
| 2018 | 47.70% | 17.60% | 9.00% | 11.40% | 5.20% | 0.40% |
| 2019 | 51.00% | 17.66% | 7.98% | 10.38% | 5.29% | 0.70% |
| 2020 | 50.10% | 17.96% | 8.48% | 10.58% | 4.39% | 0.80% |
| 2021 | 53.50% | 18.00% | 9.40% | 8.10% | 4.40% | 0.20% |
| 2022 | 46.65% | 13.61% | 12.11% | 10.21% | 4.70% | 1.00% |
| 2023 | 47.90% | 16.00% | 12.50% | 8.40% | 2.60% | 0.60% |
| 2024 | 44.40% | 21.00% | 13.80% | 6.70% | 2.60% | 0.80% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -4.40% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -11.90% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 22.30% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 10.20% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 6.80% | 3.93% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 13.20% | 7.50% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 8.10% | 11.99% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -27.90% | 0.76% | Not reported |
| 2009 | 20.50% | 2.57% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 14.10% | 3.94% | 3.93% |
| 2011 | 1.10% | 1.62% | 4.52% |
| 2012 | 12.20% | 2.37% | 7.07% |
| 2013 | 12.50% | 11.90% | 6.18% |
| 2014 | 18.50% | 11.53% | 6.96% |
| 2015 | 2.90% | 9.25% | 6.56% |
| 2016 | -0.53% | 8.89% | 5.19% |
| 2017 | 12.11% | 8.87% | 5.57% |
| 2018 | 7.83% | 7.95% | 9.91% |
| 2019 | 4.15% | 5.20% | 8.32% |
| 2020 | -1.09% | 4.38% | 6.78% |
| 2021 | 26.63% | 9.54% | 9.21% |
| 2022 | -3.94% | 6.20% | 7.53% |
| 2023 | 8.27% | 6.29% | 7.12% |
| 2024 | 9.69% | 7.40% | 6.30% |
| 2025 | 10.60% | 9.83% | 7.06% |