US public pension profile
Firemen's Annuity and Benefit Fund of Chicago
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Illinois ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Assumed investment return
- 6.75%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 1.1 billion | 9,424 | 60.19% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.9 billion | 9,430 | 57.92% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 1.1 billion | 9,375 | 47.43% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 1.2 billion | 9,366 | 42.33% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 1.3 billion | 9,529 | 41.75% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 1.4 billion | 9,631 | 40.95% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 1.5 billion | 9,496 | 42.76% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.9 billion | 9,485 | 40.34% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 1.1 billion | 9,643 | 37.02% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 1.1 billion | 9,514 | 32.78% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 1.0 billion | 9,380 | 28.60% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 1.0 billion | 9,411 | 24.71% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 1.1 billion | 9,382 | 24.01% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 1.0 billion | 9,577 | 22.78% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 1.0 billion | 9,540 | 23.18% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 1.0 billion | 9,625 | 21.30% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 1.1 billion | 9,568 | 20.12% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 1.0 billion | 9,601 | 18.36% | 6.75% |
| 2019 | USD 1.1 billion | 9,853 | 18.18% | 6.75% |
| 2020 | USD 1.3 billion | 10,042 | 19.42% | 6.75% |
| 2021 | USD 1.5 billion | 10,154 | 20.13% | 6.75% |
| 2022 | USD 1.4 billion | 10,206 | 20.77% | 6.75% |
| 2023 | USD 1.6 billion | 10,226 | 22.80% | 6.75% |
| 2024 | USD 1.8 billion | 10,394 | 24.40% | 6.75% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6.75% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | 74.70% | 24.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.20% |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 78.52% | 18.58% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | 69.00% | 24.60% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2011 | 71.10% | 21.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2013 | 71.80% | 22.20% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2014 | 69.70% | 24.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2015 | 70.40% | 24.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2016 | 65.90% | 28.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2017 | 68.40% | 27.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2018 | 67.00% | 25.20% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2019 | 66.00% | 25.90% | 1.00% | 4.40% | 0.00% | 0.70% |
| 2020 | 60.40% | 23.80% | 1.20% | 8.10% | 0.00% | 0.90% |
| 2021 | 62.30% | 22.30% | 2.00% | 7.40% | 0.00% | 1.50% |
| 2022 | 59.34% | 24.68% | 3.60% | 8.59% | 0.40% | 0.20% |
| 2023 | 61.20% | 22.30% | 3.60% | 7.20% | 0.80% | 0.30% |
| 2024 | 57.20% | 22.00% | 3.10% | 7.60% | 1.50% | 3.10% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -6.11% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -13.60% | 2.20% | 8.30% |
| 2003 | 31.50% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 14.80% | 4.10% | 11.40% |
| 2005 | 10.70% | 6.30% | 10.00% |
| 2006 | 15.50% | 10.77% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 12.20% | 16.71% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -36.10% | 1.03% | Not reported |
| 2009 | 27.80% | 3.22% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 17.70% | 4.49% | 5.38% |
| 2011 | -2.00% | 1.11% | 5.83% |
| 2012 | 16.20% | 1.82% | 9.01% |
| 2013 | 22.00% | 15.88% | 8.20% |
| 2014 | 3.90% | 11.18% | 7.13% |
| 2015 | 0.40% | 7.70% | 6.08% |
| 2016 | 8.00% | 9.82% | 5.38% |
| 2017 | 18.30% | 10.21% | 5.93% |
| 2018 | -6.20% | 4.57% | 10.08% |
| 2019 | 21.00% | 7.80% | 9.48% |
| 2020 | 12.40% | 10.26% | 8.98% |
| 2021 | 32.00% | 12.10% | 9.30% |
| 2022 | -14.20% | 4.70% | 7.40% |
| 2023 | 14.50% | 8.90% | 6.70% |
| 2024 | 9.20% | 6.70% | 7.30% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |