US public pension profile
Charlotte Firefighters' Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
North Carolina ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 0.7 billion
- Total membership
- 2,011
- Funded ratio
- 68.80%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 11.80% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 7.94% |
| Ten years | 7.08% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,244 | 96.80% | 7.75% |
| 2002 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,269 | 95.60% | 7.75% |
| 2003 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,305 | 93.90% | 7.75% |
| 2004 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,333 | 94.10% | 7.75% |
| 2005 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,380 | 97.00% | 7.75% |
| 2006 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,408 | 97.80% | 7.75% |
| 2007 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,407 | 100.50% | 7.75% |
| 2008 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,426 | 99.20% | 7.75% |
| 2009 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,472 | 95.70% | 7.75% |
| 2010 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,528 | 90.50% | 7.75% |
| 2011 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,541 | 89.50% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,556 | 85.00% | 7.75% |
| 2013 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,577 | 84.40% | 7.75% |
| 2014 | USD 0.5 billion | 1,609 | 88.90% | 7.75% |
| 2015 | USD 0.5 billion | 1,657 | 92.68% | 7.75% |
| 2016 | USD 0.5 billion | 1,691 | 86.95% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 0.5 billion | 1,735 | 86.16% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 0.6 billion | 1,771 | 87.58% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 0.6 billion | 1,812 | 82.71% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 0.6 billion | 1,848 | 76.47% | 7.25% |
| 2021 | USD 0.7 billion | 1,897 | 76.92% | 7.25% |
| 2022 | USD 0.6 billion | 1,932 | 73.29% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 0.6 billion | 1,951 | 70.07% | 7.25% |
| 2024 | USD 0.6 billion | 2,011 | 68.80% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 0.7 billion | 2,011 | 68.80% | 7.00% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 65.19% | 27.96% | 0.00% | 3.75% | 0.00% | 3.10% |
| 2002 | 61.09% | 32.16% | 0.00% | 4.12% | 0.00% | 2.63% |
| 2003 | 66.37% | 25.00% | 0.00% | 5.37% | 0.00% | 3.26% |
| 2004 | 71.08% | 21.72% | 0.00% | 4.97% | 0.00% | 2.23% |
| 2005 | 69.62% | 23.74% | 0.00% | 5.10% | 0.00% | 1.54% |
| 2006 | 71.01% | 23.00% | 0.00% | 5.62% | 0.00% | 0.37% |
| 2007 | 73.28% | 19.84% | 0.00% | 5.71% | 0.00% | 1.17% |
| 2008 | 68.58% | 23.01% | 0.00% | 6.42% | 0.00% | 1.99% |
| 2009 | 62.82% | 30.83% | 0.00% | 4.85% | 0.00% | 1.50% |
| 2010 | 64.74% | 29.92% | 0.00% | 3.51% | 0.00% | 1.83% |
| 2011 | 70.32% | 25.07% | 0.00% | 3.35% | 0.00% | 1.26% |
| 2012 | 68.46% | 26.17% | 0.00% | 3.66% | 0.00% | 1.71% |
| 2013 | 69.77% | 23.01% | 0.00% | 2.61% | 0.00% | 4.61% |
| 2014 | 67.61% | 25.50% | 0.00% | 2.45% | 0.00% | 4.44% |
| 2015 | 67.61% | 24.85% | 0.00% | 5.76% | 0.00% | 1.78% |
| 2016 | 60.98% | 27.18% | 0.00% | 10.68% | 0.00% | 1.16% |
| 2017 | 64.92% | 24.50% | 0.00% | 9.69% | 0.00% | 0.89% |
| 2018 | 64.69% | 24.71% | 0.00% | 9.41% | 0.00% | 1.19% |
| 2019 | 63.20% | 26.12% | 0.00% | 9.43% | 0.00% | 1.25% |
| 2020 | 62.92% | 27.97% | 0.00% | 9.11% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2021 | 66.46% | 25.70% | 0.00% | 7.85% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2022 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2023 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -5.34% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -4.16% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 4.07% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 18.11% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 10.54% | 4.27% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 10.83% | 7.61% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 18.71% | 12.32% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -4.49% | 10.41% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -19.23% | 2.33% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 10.90% | 2.39% | 3.33% |
| 2011 | 26.22% | 5.09% | 6.35% |
| 2012 | 1.14% | 1.78% | 6.92% |
| 2013 | 14.82% | 5.60% | 7.98% |
| 2014 | 18.73% | 14.06% | 8.03% |
| 2015 | 4.87% | 12.80% | 7.46% |
| 2016 | 1.05% | 7.89% | 6.48% |
| 2017 | 12.88% | 10.28% | 5.94% |
| 2018 | 9.73% | 9.28% | 7.42% |
| 2019 | 4.61% | 6.54% | 10.24% |
| 2020 | 3.32% | 6.23% | 9.46% |
| 2021 | 25.35% | 10.91% | 9.38% |
| 2022 | -12.83% | 5.41% | 7.82% |
| 2023 | 8.62% | 5.23% | 7.24% |
| 2024 | 10.45% | 6.38% | 6.46% |
| 2025 | 11.80% | 7.94% | 7.08% |