US public pension profile
Burlington Employees Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Vermont ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 0.3 billion
- Total membership
- 2,623
- Funded ratio
- 66.27%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.10%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
| One year | 12.64% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.76% |
| Ten years | 6.72% |
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,342 | 112.29% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,376 | 103.54% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,420 | 93.57% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,430 | 91.48% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,458 | 81.70% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,488 | 77.05% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,586 | 79.86% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,582 | 82.59% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,627 | 76.68% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,669 | 72.83% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,684 | 71.03% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,727 | 70.20% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 0.1 billion | 1,789 | 69.40% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,877 | 71.05% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,839 | 73.34% | 8.00% |
| 2016 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,890 | 71.46% | 8.00% |
| 2017 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,890 | 72.82% | 8.00% |
| 2018 | USD 0.2 billion | 1,999 | 73.16% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 0.2 billion | 2,054 | 72.81% | 7.40% |
| 2020 | USD 0.2 billion | 2,040 | 71.58% | 7.30% |
| 2021 | USD 0.2 billion | 2,352 | 70.59% | 7.20% |
| 2022 | USD 0.2 billion | 2,481 | 69.69% | 7.10% |
| 2023 | USD 0.2 billion | 2,566 | 66.89% | 7.10% |
| 2024 | USD 0.2 billion | 2,623 | 66.27% | 7.10% |
| 2025 | USD 0.3 billion | 2,623 | 66.27% | 7.10% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | 60.80% | 22.80% | 0.60% | 5.20% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2010 | 38.60% | 43.30% | 0.70% | 4.00% | 0.00% | 1.30% |
| 2011 | 35.70% | 34.00% | 1.30% | 4.00% | 4.50% | 1.90% |
| 2012 | 34.84% | 33.53% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.40% | 0.80% |
| 2013 | 37.00% | 29.50% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.60% | 0.80% |
| 2014 | 36.05% | 29.99% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.57% | 0.00% |
| 2015 | 35.73% | 34.53% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.69% | 0.00% |
| 2016 | 69.97% | 27.23% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.70% |
| 2017 | 71.60% | 17.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2018 | 68.97% | 19.32% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.60% |
| 2019 | 69.40% | 20.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2020 | 70.23% | 20.18% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.60% |
| 2021 | 76.52% | 16.18% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2022 | 71.20% | 18.10% | 0.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.40% |
| 2023 | 71.37% | 23.82% | 0.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2024 | 69.13% | 26.97% | 0.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -9.91% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -9.81% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | -0.13% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 13.63% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 7.35% | -0.21% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 8.98% | 3.67% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 16.89% | 9.18% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -7.69% | 7.48% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -19.50% | 0.32% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 18.70% | 2.36% | 1.07% |
| 2011 | 20.70% | 4.47% | 4.07% |
| 2012 | 1.90% | 1.64% | 5.80% |
| 2013 | 8.20% | 4.92% | 6.60% |
| 2014 | 13.62% | 12.41% | 6.19% |
| 2015 | -0.15% | 8.59% | 5.43% |
| 2016 | -0.15% | 4.55% | 4.51% |
| 2017 | -1.30% | 3.88% | 2.76% |
| 2018 | 10.25% | 4.27% | 4.60% |
| 2019 | 5.20% | 2.68% | 7.43% |
| 2020 | 5.25% | 3.77% | 6.15% |
| 2021 | 31.10% | 11.70% | 7.80% |
| 2022 | -13.20% | 5.70% | 6.10% |
| 2023 | 10.20% | 5.80% | 6.40% |
| 2024 | 12.80% | 7.40% | 6.30% |
| 2025 | 12.64% | 9.76% | 6.72% |