US public pension profile
City of Austin Fire Fighters' Relief and Retirement Fund of Austin Texas
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Texas ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Assumed investment return
- 7.30%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | 1,278 | 97.30% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | Not reported | 1,323 | Not reported | 8.00% |
| 2003 | Not reported | 1,367 | 93.00% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | Not reported | 1,390 | Not reported | 8.00% |
| 2005 | Not reported | 1,413 | 85.10% | 7.75% |
| 2006 | Not reported | 1,468 | Not reported | 7.75% |
| 2007 | USD 0.6 billion | 1,522 | 99.60% | 7.75% |
| 2008 | USD 0.5 billion | 1,543 | Not reported | 7.75% |
| 2009 | USD 0.5 billion | 1,564 | 88.70% | 7.75% |
| 2010 | USD 0.6 billion | 1,558 | Not reported | 7.75% |
| 2011 | USD 0.6 billion | 1,551 | 87.30% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 0.7 billion | 1,635 | Not reported | 7.75% |
| 2013 | USD 0.8 billion | 1,719 | 91.80% | 7.75% |
| 2014 | USD 0.8 billion | 1,706 | 90.93% | 7.75% |
| 2015 | USD 0.8 billion | 1,760 | 85.18% | 7.70% |
| 2016 | USD 0.8 billion | 1,747 | 88.26% | 7.70% |
| 2017 | USD 1.0 billion | 1,840 | 88.33% | 7.70% |
| 2018 | USD 0.9 billion | 1,932 | 88.02% | 7.70% |
| 2019 | USD 1.0 billion | 1,994 | 86.80% | 7.70% |
| 2020 | USD 1.2 billion | 2,066 | 87.47% | 7.70% |
| 2021 | USD 1.3 billion | 2,128 | 89.62% | 7.30% |
| 2022 | USD 1.1 billion | 2,213 | 86.85% | 7.30% |
| 2023 | USD 1.2 billion | 2,277 | 85.59% | 7.30% |
| 2024 | USD 1.2 billion | 2,317 | 76.93% | 7.30% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7.30% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | 40.59% | 30.69% | 16.83% | 7.92% | 0.00% | 0.99% |
| 2018 | 36.00% | 31.00% | 20.00% | 9.00% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2019 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2020 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2021 | 40.54% | 27.63% | 20.02% | 8.11% | 0.00% | 1.20% |
| 2022 | 38.46% | 27.87% | 19.98% | 10.09% | 0.00% | 0.60% |
| 2023 | 42.40% | 28.60% | 17.70% | 7.70% | 0.00% | 0.70% |
| 2024 | 45.00% | 29.60% | 14.80% | 7.60% | 0.00% | 0.50% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | 9.04% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | -23.90% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | 13.28% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | 13.29% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | -3.40% | 0.57% | Not reported |
| 2012 | 12.68% | 1.23% | Not reported |
| 2013 | 13.30% | 9.62% | Not reported |
| 2014 | 5.00% | 7.97% | Not reported |
| 2015 | 0.81% | 5.48% | Not reported |
| 2016 | 7.13% | 7.68% | 4.06% |
| 2017 | 17.29% | 8.55% | 4.82% |
| 2018 | -2.66% | 5.30% | 7.44% |
| 2019 | 15.75% | 7.37% | 7.67% |
| 2020 | 12.90% | 9.83% | 7.63% |
| 2021 | 17.50% | 11.88% | 9.76% |
| 2022 | -10.80% | 5.92% | 7.23% |
| 2023 | 8.40% | 8.30% | 6.80% |
| 2024 | 4.60% | 6.10% | 6.80% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |