US public pension profile· COAERS
City of Austin Employees' Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Texas ·Fiscal year 2025
COAERS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 4.1 billion
- Total membership
- 21,465
- Funded ratio
- 61.19%
- Assumed investment return
- 6.75%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 60.00% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 20.58% |
| Private equity | 0.00% |
| Real estate | 7.61% |
| Hedge funds | 1.92% |
| Cash | 4.85% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 14.90% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 6.20% |
| Ten years | 7.93% |
COAERS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 1.2 billion | 10,917 | 96.40% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 1.0 billion | 11,034 | 86.90% | 7.75% |
| 2003 | USD 1.3 billion | 11,051 | 86.90% | 7.75% |
| 2004 | USD 1.4 billion | 11,238 | 80.80% | 7.75% |
| 2005 | USD 1.5 billion | 11,605 | 78.00% | 7.75% |
| 2006 | USD 1.6 billion | 12,236 | 75.90% | 7.75% |
| 2007 | USD 1.7 billion | 12,819 | 78.30% | 7.75% |
| 2008 | USD 1.2 billion | 13,348 | 65.90% | 7.75% |
| 2009 | USD 1.5 billion | 13,362 | 71.80% | 7.75% |
| 2010 | USD 1.7 billion | 13,696 | 69.60% | 7.75% |
| 2011 | USD 1.7 billion | 13,946 | 65.70% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 1.9 billion | 14,266 | 63.90% | 7.75% |
| 2013 | USD 2.1 billion | 14,755 | 70.40% | 7.75% |
| 2014 | USD 2.2 billion | 15,467 | 70.91% | 7.75% |
| 2015 | USD 2.1 billion | 15,727 | 68.05% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 2.3 billion | 16,279 | 67.48% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 2.7 billion | 16,801 | 68.26% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 2.5 billion | 17,469 | 67.56% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 2.9 billion | 18,123 | 63.48% | 7.00% |
| 2020 | USD 3.2 billion | 18,365 | 65.29% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 3.6 billion | 18,818 | 65.98% | 6.75% |
| 2022 | USD 3.0 billion | 19,497 | 64.10% | 6.75% |
| 2023 | USD 3.3 billion | 20,584 | 62.06% | 6.75% |
| 2024 | USD 3.6 billion | 21,465 | 61.19% | 6.75% |
| 2025 | USD 4.1 billion | 21,465 | 61.19% | 6.75% |
COAERS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 69.70% | 30.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2002 | 63.00% | 37.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2003 | 67.10% | 32.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2004 | 70.34% | 26.91% | 0.00% | 2.71% | 0.00% | 0.04% |
| 2005 | 64.58% | 29.86% | 0.00% | 5.39% | 0.00% | 0.17% |
| 2006 | 67.74% | 26.86% | 0.00% | 5.33% | 0.00% | 0.07% |
| 2007 | 65.36% | 29.10% | 0.00% | 5.41% | 0.00% | 0.13% |
| 2008 | 57.00% | 36.98% | 0.00% | 5.57% | 0.00% | 0.45% |
| 2009 | 67.58% | 29.06% | 0.00% | 3.12% | 0.00% | 0.24% |
| 2010 | 68.48% | 26.63% | 0.00% | 4.85% | 0.00% | 0.04% |
| 2011 | 62.85% | 29.90% | 0.00% | 7.00% | 0.00% | 0.25% |
| 2012 | 65.97% | 26.85% | 0.00% | 7.01% | 0.00% | 0.17% |
| 2013 | 66.29% | 26.70% | 0.00% | 6.98% | 0.00% | 0.03% |
| 2014 | 63.50% | 21.45% | 1.58% | 7.61% | 4.84% | 0.19% |
| 2015 | 61.20% | 21.17% | 3.17% | 8.93% | 4.53% | 0.36% |
| 2016 | 62.17% | 19.67% | 3.53% | 9.10% | 4.68% | 0.17% |
| 2017 | 61.45% | 21.86% | 2.88% | 8.52% | 4.53% | 0.16% |
| 2018 | 58.08% | 22.26% | 0.00% | 9.94% | 9.54% | 0.18% |
| 2019 | 61.34% | 20.28% | 0.00% | 9.90% | 5.11% | 0.88% |
| 2020 | 58.40% | 19.70% | 0.00% | 8.97% | 6.86% | 0.93% |
| 2021 | 56.91% | 21.01% | 0.00% | 11.02% | 5.03% | 1.00% |
| 2022 | 55.20% | 19.12% | 0.00% | 10.74% | 4.94% | 4.87% |
| 2023 | 57.29% | 16.45% | 0.00% | 8.75% | 4.13% | 8.33% |
| 2024 | 59.44% | 17.26% | 0.00% | 8.24% | 4.38% | 5.66% |
| 2025 | 60.00% | 20.58% | 0.00% | 7.61% | 1.92% | 4.85% |
COAERS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -6.10% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -9.50% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 24.00% | 5.20% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 11.80% | 3.00% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 8.80% | 5.00% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 12.50% | 8.90% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 7.30% | 12.70% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -26.00% | 1.70% | Not reported |
| 2009 | 25.60% | 4.10% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 15.50% | 5.30% | 5.20% |
| 2011 | -1.30% | 2.60% | 5.73% |
| 2012 | 13.30% | 3.70% | 8.13% |
| 2013 | 15.50% | 13.40% | 7.37% |
| 2014 | 4.70% | 9.30% | 6.67% |
| 2015 | -2.00% | 5.80% | 5.56% |
| 2016 | 8.10% | 7.80% | 5.14% |
| 2017 | 16.60% | 8.40% | 6.01% |
| 2018 | -5.90% | 4.00% | 8.59% |
| 2019 | 20.70% | 7.00% | 8.16% |
| 2020 | 10.80% | 9.70% | 7.71% |
| 2021 | 13.00% | 10.60% | 9.18% |
| 2022 | -15.60% | 3.70% | 6.01% |
| 2023 | 12.30% | 7.40% | 5.71% |
| 2024 | 9.90% | 5.50% | 6.23% |
| 2025 | 14.90% | 6.20% | 7.93% |