US public pension profile
City of Atlanta Firefighters Pension Plan
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Georgia ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,620 | 88.21% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,593 | 77.49% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 0.3 billion | 1,578 | 77.18% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,650 | 73.05% | 7.75% |
| 2005 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,675 | 58.36% | 7.75% |
| 2006 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,792 | Not reported | 7.75% |
| 2007 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,909 | 64.20% | 7.75% |
| 2008 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,898 | 57.60% | 7.75% |
| 2009 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,790 | 60.50% | 7.75% |
| 2010 | USD 0.4 billion | 1,799 | 65.80% | 7.75% |
| 2011 | USD 0.5 billion | 1,888 | 69.80% | 7.75% |
| 2012 | USD 0.5 billion | 1,844 | 69.50% | 7.75% |
| 2013 | USD 0.6 billion | 2,048 | 71.50% | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 0.7 billion | 2,059 | 80.81% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 0.6 billion | 2,055 | 78.34% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 0.6 billion | 2,025 | 71.88% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 0.7 billion | 2,021 | 74.74% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 0.7 billion | 1,938 | 84.20% | 7.25% |
| 2019 | USD 0.7 billion | 2,056 | 74.23% | 7.25% |
| 2020 | USD 0.7 billion | 2,019 | 74.44% | 7.00% |
| 2021 | USD 0.9 billion | 2,088 | 74.73% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 0.8 billion | 2,232 | 74.57% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 0.8 billion | 2,274 | 67.88% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 0.9 billion | 2,325 | 68.46% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7.00% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | 70.00% | 30.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2013 | 77.00% | 23.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2014 | 80.00% | 19.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2015 | 74.30% | 22.90% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2016 | 70.40% | 26.10% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.20% |
| 2017 | 72.90% | 23.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2018 | 74.10% | 22.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2019 | 72.20% | 23.10% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.40% |
| 2020 | 70.20% | 22.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.40% |
| 2021 | 77.30% | 17.30% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2022 | 63.40% | 26.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.20% |
| 2023 | 70.30% | 25.10% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.50% |
| 2024 | 71.90% | 23.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 1.19% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -5.90% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 15.47% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 9.12% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 4.84% | 4.70% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 2.68% | 5.00% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 14.50% | 9.20% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -4.35% | 5.17% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -13.86% | 0.31% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 14.40% | 2.07% | 3.38% |
| 2011 | 25.58% | 6.27% | 5.63% |
| 2012 | 1.68% | 3.77% | 6.46% |
| 2013 | 15.34% | 7.73% | 6.44% |
| 2014 | 21.01% | 15.31% | 7.55% |
| 2015 | 0.79% | 12.43% | 7.13% |
| 2016 | -1.13% | 7.18% | 6.72% |
| 2017 | 13.15% | 9.49% | 6.60% |
| 2018 | 9.85% | 8.43% | 8.08% |
| 2019 | 5.74% | 5.54% | 10.32% |
| 2020 | 2.47% | 5.89% | 9.11% |
| 2021 | 32.90% | 12.20% | 9.50% |
| 2022 | -14.72% | 6.10% | 7.60% |
| 2023 | 8.95% | 5.90% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | 11.30% | 7.10% | 6.20% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |