US public pension profile
Atlanta General Employees' Pension Fund
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Georgia ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.6 billion | Not reported | Not reported | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 0.7 billion | Not reported | Not reported | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.7 billion | Not reported | Not reported | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 0.8 billion | Not reported | Not reported | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 0.8 billion | Not reported | Not reported | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 0.8 billion | 10,606 | 42.43% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.8 billion | 11,142 | 45.85% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 0.8 billion | 10,413 | 46.71% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 0.9 billion | 6,766 | 42.99% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 1.0 billion | 6,360 | 41.90% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 1.0 billion | 10,112 | 51.00% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 1.1 billion | 10,019 | 42.60% | 7.50% |
| 2014 | USD 1.3 billion | 10,112 | 45.93% | 7.50% |
| 2015 | USD 1.3 billion | 10,356 | 48.46% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 1.2 billion | 10,297 | 51.08% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 1.4 billion | 10,493 | 57.58% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 1.5 billion | 10,576 | 59.44% | 7.25% |
| 2019 | USD 1.5 billion | 10,603 | 61.49% | 7.25% |
| 2020 | USD 1.5 billion | 10,857 | 61.22% | 7.25% |
| 2021 | USD 1.9 billion | 10,653 | 66.21% | 7.00% |
| 2022 | USD 1.6 billion | 11,939 | 68.68% | 7.00% |
| 2023 | USD 1.7 billion | 12,370 | 68.83% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 1.8 billion | Not reported | 69.23% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7.00% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | 39.80% | 60.20% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2009 | 47.40% | 52.60% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2010 | 62.20% | 37.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2011 | 71.60% | 28.40% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2012 | 72.31% | 25.54% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.15% |
| 2013 | 73.01% | 20.65% | 0.00% | 4.91% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | 66.03% | 19.38% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 7.49% | 2.60% |
| 2018 | 65.06% | 20.82% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.10% |
| 2019 | 73.35% | 18.96% | 0.00% | 2.79% | 0.00% | 3.29% |
| 2020 | 77.48% | 16.12% | 0.00% | 2.40% | 0.00% | 2.80% |
| 2021 | 73.60% | 21.20% | 0.00% | 2.60% | 0.00% | 1.60% |
| 2022 | 70.20% | 22.00% | 0.00% | 4.20% | 0.00% | 2.80% |
| 2023 | 73.50% | 21.20% | 0.00% | 3.40% | 0.00% | 1.20% |
| 2024 | 73.70% | 20.50% | 0.00% | 2.80% | 0.00% | 0.60% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -1.86% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -7.67% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 15.12% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 10.24% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 0.90% | 2.85% | 6.93% |
| 2006 | 0.06% | 3.42% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 9.06% | 5.59% | 6.73% |
| 2008 | -13.98% | 5.91% | 4.68% |
| 2009 | 17.62% | 1.25% | 1.98% |
| 2010 | 14.65% | 4.83% | 3.92% |
| 2011 | 1.02% | 5.03% | 4.22% |
| 2012 | 13.80% | 5.93% | 6.42% |
| 2013 | 16.32% | 7.11% | 6.54% |
| 2014 | 8.36% | 10.68% | 6.35% |
| 2015 | -0.26% | 8.73% | 6.95% |
| 2016 | 8.33% | 10.15% | 7.00% |
| 2017 | 13.32% | 9.07% | 7.48% |
| 2018 | 10.27% | 7.91% | 10.19% |
| 2019 | 6.09% | 7.45% | 9.06% |
| 2020 | 3.56% | 8.26% | 7.95% |
| 2021 | 13.80% | 12.50% | 11.30% |
| 2022 | -16.20% | 4.90% | 7.10% |
| 2023 | 13.10% | 8.90% | 6.20% |
| 2024 | 9.70% | 7.60% | 7.30% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |