US public pension profile· ATRS
Arkansas Teacher Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Arkansas ·Fiscal year 2025
ATRS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 23.7 billion
- Total membership
- 143,663
- Funded ratio
- 84.38%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.25%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 45.05% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 16.95% |
| Private equity | 11.24% |
| Real estate | 6.07% |
| Hedge funds | 4.55% |
| Cash | 0.71% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 9.40% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 11.00% |
| Ten years | 8.50% |
ATRS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 7.6 billion | 89,537 | 95.40% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 7.1 billion | 92,594 | 91.90% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 7.1 billion | 95,259 | 85.90% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 8.1 billion | 98,042 | 83.80% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 8.8 billion | 102,391 | 80.40% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 9.9 billion | 106,406 | 80.30% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 11.6 billion | 110,235 | 85.30% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 11.0 billion | 113,291 | 84.90% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 8.8 billion | 115,870 | 75.70% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 9.9 billion | 119,327 | 73.80% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 11.9 billion | 116,831 | 71.80% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 11.5 billion | 122,441 | 71.20% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 12.8 billion | 120,013 | 73.30% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 14.9 billion | 120,190 | 77.27% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 15.0 billion | 126,046 | 79.59% | 8.00% |
| 2016 | USD 14.6 billion | 128,264 | 81.01% | 8.00% |
| 2017 | USD 16.3 billion | 129,641 | 79.47% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 17.5 billion | 131,709 | 80.04% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 17.7 billion | 133,874 | 80.21% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 16.9 billion | 134,010 | 80.56% | 7.50% |
| 2021 | USD 21.5 billion | 135,077 | 80.64% | 7.25% |
| 2022 | USD 19.7 billion | 138,112 | 82.31% | 7.25% |
| 2023 | USD 20.7 billion | 140,388 | 82.12% | 7.25% |
| 2024 | USD 22.4 billion | 142,198 | 84.65% | 7.25% |
| 2025 | USD 23.7 billion | 143,663 | 84.38% | 7.25% |
ATRS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 53.45% | 30.97% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.69% |
| 2002 | 52.20% | 34.00% | 6.20% | 7.00% | 0.00% | 0.60% |
| 2003 | 50.50% | 26.90% | 6.40% | 8.00% | 0.00% | 0.70% |
| 2004 | 58.10% | 18.00% | 5.80% | 7.40% | 0.00% | 5.00% |
| 2005 | 61.40% | 23.20% | 6.10% | 5.40% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2006 | 63.00% | 22.80% | 5.50% | 6.10% | 0.00% | 0.60% |
| 2007 | 63.00% | 22.50% | 5.20% | 7.20% | 0.00% | 0.50% |
| 2008 | 56.96% | 25.22% | 6.11% | 7.11% | 2.50% | 2.10% |
| 2009 | 54.94% | 26.77% | 7.49% | 7.09% | 3.30% | 0.40% |
| 2010 | 57.20% | 26.10% | 7.50% | 5.70% | 3.10% | 0.40% |
| 2011 | 57.10% | 20.90% | 7.40% | 7.40% | 4.40% | 2.80% |
| 2012 | 55.34% | 20.68% | 8.89% | 9.39% | 5.00% | 0.70% |
| 2013 | 57.70% | 18.00% | 9.30% | 9.00% | 5.40% | 0.60% |
| 2014 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2016 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2018 | 54.74% | 14.89% | 11.79% | 11.89% | 5.69% | 1.00% |
| 2019 | 53.10% | 16.00% | 12.40% | 12.00% | 5.70% | 0.80% |
| 2020 | 52.80% | 13.70% | 14.30% | 12.70% | 5.30% | 1.20% |
| 2021 | 59.20% | 12.50% | 12.70% | 10.40% | 4.40% | 0.80% |
| 2022 | 51.36% | 15.06% | 15.50% | 7.50% | 4.66% | 1.13% |
| 2023 | 54.10% | 13.80% | 14.00% | 7.30% | 5.00% | 0.80% |
| 2024 | 50.36% | 11.76% | 12.03% | 6.01% | 4.58% | 0.54% |
| 2025 | 45.05% | 16.95% | 11.24% | 6.07% | 4.55% | 0.71% |
ATRS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -2.90% | 10.80% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -6.20% | 5.10% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 2.00% | 2.40% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 17.70% | 3.50% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 9.40% | 3.50% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 12.40% | 6.90% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 19.10% | 12.10% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -3.70% | 11.00% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -18.00% | 3.20% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 13.50% | 3.70% | 3.68% |
| 2011 | 22.30% | 5.50% | 6.10% |
| 2012 | -0.90% | 1.70% | 6.68% |
| 2013 | 14.30% | 5.20% | 7.91% |
| 2014 | 19.00% | 13.30% | 8.10% |
| 2015 | 5.20% | 11.70% | 7.60% |
| 2016 | -0.50% | 7.10% | 6.30% |
| 2017 | 16.10% | 10.60% | 6.03% |
| 2018 | 11.60% | 10.10% | 7.60% |
| 2019 | 5.30% | 7.40% | 10.33% |
| 2020 | -1.40% | 6.00% | 8.79% |
| 2021 | 31.90% | 12.20% | 9.61% |
| 2022 | -3.90% | 8.00% | 9.28% |
| 2023 | 9.20% | 7.50% | 8.78% |
| 2024 | 11.40% | 8.80% | 8.10% |
| 2025 | 9.40% | 11.00% | 8.50% |