US public pension profile
Arkansas Local Police and Fire Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Arkansas ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Assumed investment return
- 7.25%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | 4,767 | 112.00% | Not reported |
| 2002 | USD 0.4 billion | 5,646 | 96.00% | Not reported |
| 2003 | USD 0.5 billion | 5,800 | 88.00% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.6 billion | 5,956 | 80.00% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 0.6 billion | 6,120 | 78.00% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 0.7 billion | 6,340 | 78.00% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 0.8 billion | 6,623 | 78.00% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.7 billion | 6,673 | 66.00% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 0.8 billion | 6,935 | 64.00% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 1.0 billion | 7,100 | 65.00% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 1.0 billion | 9,422 | 65.00% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 1.2 billion | 10,118 | 65.00% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 1.5 billion | 10,629 | 67.00% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 1.6 billion | 11,462 | 69.52% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 1.6 billion | 11,876 | 69.33% | 7.75% |
| 2016 | USD 1.8 billion | 12,580 | 70.81% | 7.75% |
| 2017 | USD 2.1 billion | 13,276 | 71.44% | 7.50% |
| 2018 | USD 2.1 billion | 13,872 | 70.85% | 7.50% |
| 2019 | USD 2.5 billion | 14,571 | 71.26% | 7.50% |
| 2020 | USD 2.8 billion | 15,211 | 73.83% | 7.50% |
| 2021 | USD 3.3 billion | 15,833 | 78.78% | 7.25% |
| 2022 | USD 2.8 billion | 16,620 | 76.58% | 7.25% |
| 2023 | USD 3.2 billion | 17,392 | 73.74% | 7.25% |
| 2024 | USD 3.7 billion | 18,145 | 75.18% | 7.25% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7.25% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | 55.00% | 45.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | 39.00% | 58.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2009 | 43.00% | 54.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2010 | 41.00% | 47.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.00% |
| 2011 | 37.00% | 48.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.00% |
| 2012 | 40.00% | 47.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 3.00% |
| 2013 | 43.00% | 41.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.00% |
| 2014 | 43.00% | 41.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.00% |
| 2015 | 44.00% | 39.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 7.00% |
| 2016 | 41.00% | 40.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 7.00% |
| 2017 | 44.00% | 39.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.00% |
| 2018 | 41.18% | 38.24% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 6.86% |
| 2019 | 42.00% | 36.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 10.00% |
| 2020 | 43.00% | 35.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 10.00% |
| 2021 | 65.00% | 22.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2022 | 58.00% | 21.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 5.00% |
| 2023 | 62.70% | 19.80% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.50% |
| 2024 | 58.43% | 21.54% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.09% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -0.80% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -10.42% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 22.82% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 8.79% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 2.92% | 4.09% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 10.60% | 6.38% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 11.52% | 11.15% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -25.54% | -0.19% | Not reported |
| 2009 | 18.07% | 1.56% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 10.68% | 3.15% | 3.90% |
| 2011 | -0.42% | 1.10% | 3.94% |
| 2012 | 12.30% | 1.70% | 6.32% |
| 2013 | 17.76% | 11.47% | 5.87% |
| 2014 | 8.16% | 9.53% | 5.81% |
| 2015 | 0.10% | 7.35% | 5.52% |
| 2016 | 6.25% | 8.76% | 5.10% |
| 2017 | 14.48% | 9.18% | 5.37% |
| 2018 | -2.59% | 5.11% | 8.24% |
| 2019 | 19.00% | 7.13% | 8.33% |
| 2020 | 13.19% | 9.81% | 8.57% |
| 2021 | 17.45% | 12.03% | 10.38% |
| 2022 | -14.90% | 5.58% | 7.36% |
| 2023 | -15.90% | 9.32% | 3.80% |
| 2024 | 15.13% | 8.58% | 4.45% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |