US public pension profile· APERS
Arkansas Public Employees Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Arkansas ·Fiscal year 2025
APERS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 11.9 billion
- Total membership
- 101,989
- Funded ratio
- 82.55%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.00%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 64.94% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 18.55% |
| Private equity | 0.00% |
| Real estate | 0.00% |
| Hedge funds | 4.02% |
| Cash | 0.00% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 11.11% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.43% |
| Ten years | 7.75% |
APERS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 4.0 billion | 66,688 | 106.00% | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 3.7 billion | 68,339 | 100.00% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 3.9 billion | 70,675 | 95.00% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 4.3 billion | 72,315 | 89.00% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 4.6 billion | 74,268 | 86.00% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 5.1 billion | 76,510 | 83.00% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 6.0 billion | 77,713 | 89.10% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 5.6 billion | 79,900 | 89.70% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 4.3 billion | 81,984 | 78.00% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 4.7 billion | 83,729 | 74.10% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 5.8 billion | 86,172 | 70.70% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 5.7 billion | 88,272 | 68.90% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 6.4 billion | 89,507 | 74.30% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 7.5 billion | 91,269 | 77.79% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 7.5 billion | 92,466 | 79.10% | 7.50% |
| 2016 | USD 7.4 billion | 93,514 | 80.40% | 7.50% |
| 2017 | USD 8.0 billion | 97,227 | 77.61% | 7.15% |
| 2018 | USD 8.6 billion | 97,753 | 78.70% | 7.15% |
| 2019 | USD 8.8 billion | 99,340 | 78.52% | 7.15% |
| 2020 | USD 8.8 billion | 98,889 | 78.95% | 7.15% |
| 2021 | USD 11.2 billion | 98,233 | 83.69% | 7.15% |
| 2022 | USD 9.7 billion | 99,225 | 83.59% | 7.15% |
| 2023 | USD 10.3 billion | 100,875 | 81.40% | 7.00% |
| 2024 | USD 11.0 billion | 101,492 | 83.91% | 7.00% |
| 2025 | USD 11.9 billion | 101,989 | 82.55% | 7.00% |
APERS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 49.50% | 43.40% | 0.00% | 2.50% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2002 | 49.55% | 43.46% | 0.00% | 2.20% | 0.00% | 0.30% |
| 2003 | 53.20% | 38.90% | 0.00% | 3.60% | 0.00% | 0.10% |
| 2004 | 71.10% | 21.50% | 0.00% | 2.76% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2005 | 69.80% | 21.50% | 0.00% | 4.90% | 0.00% | 0.40% |
| 2006 | 71.42% | 19.51% | 0.00% | 5.39% | 0.00% | 0.20% |
| 2007 | 69.69% | 17.87% | 0.00% | 6.20% | 1.95% | 0.46% |
| 2008 | 64.94% | 19.78% | 0.00% | 6.58% | 4.05% | 0.40% |
| 2009 | 59.39% | 24.20% | 0.00% | 5.92% | 3.42% | 0.30% |
| 2010 | 62.96% | 23.29% | 0.00% | 5.37% | 1.80% | 0.35% |
| 2011 | 67.03% | 19.71% | 0.00% | 5.55% | 2.20% | 0.40% |
| 2012 | 63.72% | 18.88% | 0.00% | 6.01% | 6.00% | 0.70% |
| 2013 | 64.48% | 17.10% | 0.00% | 6.04% | 7.76% | 0.66% |
| 2014 | 67.29% | 15.70% | 0.21% | 5.98% | 7.99% | 0.60% |
| 2015 | 67.05% | 16.01% | 0.42% | 6.69% | 7.22% | 0.53% |
| 2016 | 61.20% | 17.10% | 0.41% | 11.43% | 7.46% | 0.60% |
| 2017 | 63.81% | 16.08% | 0.54% | 10.95% | 6.84% | 0.42% |
| 2018 | 64.61% | 15.10% | 0.00% | 15.30% | 4.65% | 0.33% |
| 2019 | 63.61% | 15.90% | 0.00% | 14.59% | 4.95% | 0.95% |
| 2020 | 63.80% | 17.10% | 0.00% | 13.50% | 4.90% | 0.70% |
| 2021 | 69.35% | 14.87% | 0.00% | 11.26% | 4.52% | 0.00% |
| 2022 | 60.24% | 19.18% | 0.00% | 15.68% | 4.90% | 0.00% |
| 2023 | 64.34% | 19.68% | 0.00% | 13.89% | 2.10% | 0.00% |
| 2024 | 59.06% | 15.72% | 0.00% | 11.09% | 1.78% | 0.00% |
| 2025 | 64.94% | 18.55% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 4.02% | 0.00% |
APERS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -3.82% | 8.77% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -5.74% | 4.46% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 5.53% | 2.52% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 13.40% | 3.49% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 9.85% | 3.56% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 12.24% | 6.82% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 18.01% | 11.73% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -4.45% | 9.53% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -20.89% | 1.92% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 11.95% | 2.31% | 2.94% |
| 2011 | 26.00% | 4.70% | 5.76% |
| 2012 | -0.33% | 1.22% | 6.35% |
| 2013 | 15.58% | 5.18% | 7.32% |
| 2014 | 19.68% | 14.26% | 7.90% |
| 2015 | 2.45% | 12.25% | 7.15% |
| 2016 | 0.30% | 7.29% | 5.95% |
| 2017 | 12.30% | 9.85% | 5.43% |
| 2018 | 10.23% | 8.82% | 6.94% |
| 2019 | 5.78% | 6.16% | 10.10% |
| 2020 | 2.41% | 6.11% | 9.12% |
| 2021 | 31.49% | 12.01% | 9.63% |
| 2022 | -10.54% | 7.03% | 8.43% |
| 2023 | 8.83% | 7.76% | 7.78% |
| 2024 | 10.42% | 7.65% | 6.90% |
| 2025 | 11.11% | 9.43% | 7.75% |