US public pension profile
Anchorage Police and Fire Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Alaska ·Fiscal year 2025
Fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Assumed investment return
- 6.90%
Asset allocation in 2025
Returns to 2025
Size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 0.4 billion | 825 | Not reported | 8.00% |
| 2002 | USD 0.3 billion | 840 | 89.25% | 8.00% |
| 2003 | USD 0.4 billion | 840 | 101.71% | 8.00% |
| 2004 | USD 0.4 billion | 841 | 106.68% | 8.00% |
| 2005 | USD 0.4 billion | 818 | 106.50% | 8.00% |
| 2006 | USD 0.4 billion | 816 | 112.08% | 8.00% |
| 2007 | USD 0.4 billion | 814 | 112.15% | 8.00% |
| 2008 | USD 0.3 billion | 812 | 74.51% | 8.00% |
| 2009 | USD 0.3 billion | 818 | 79.23% | 8.00% |
| 2010 | USD 0.3 billion | 816 | 85.09% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 0.3 billion | 752 | 76.63% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 0.3 billion | 754 | 81.44% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 0.3 billion | 754 | 88.82% | 7.90% |
| 2014 | USD 0.3 billion | 750 | 86.01% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 0.3 billion | 740 | 79.50% | 7.70% |
| 2016 | USD 0.3 billion | 733 | 80.45% | 7.70% |
| 2017 | USD 0.4 billion | 727 | 94.69% | 6.60% |
| 2018 | USD 0.4 billion | 785 | 83.35% | 6.60% |
| 2019 | USD 0.4 billion | 714 | 77.44% | 6.50% |
| 2020 | USD 0.4 billion | 710 | 78.63% | 6.00% |
| 2021 | USD 0.4 billion | 768 | 85.67% | 6.00% |
| 2022 | USD 0.3 billion | 753 | 70.91% | 6.00% |
| 2023 | USD 0.3 billion | 739 | 73.66% | 6.00% |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6.90% |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6.90% |
Asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2006 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2007 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2008 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2009 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2010 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2011 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2012 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2014 | 61.00% | 26.00% | 4.00% | 3.00% | 0.00% | 1.00% |
| 2015 | 59.00% | 27.00% | 5.00% | 3.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2016 | 60.91% | 24.29% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.36% |
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2018 | 59.98% | 24.85% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.21% |
| 2019 | 66.42% | 19.29% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.75% |
| 2020 | 68.30% | 18.34% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.20% |
| 2021 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2022 | 63.06% | 19.48% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.08% |
| 2023 | 65.68% | 19.59% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.52% |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -5.18% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2002 | -8.39% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2003 | 22.69% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2004 | 11.54% | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2005 | 6.60% | 4.85% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 13.25% | 8.64% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 5.20% | 11.69% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -27.12% | 0.64% | Not reported |
| 2009 | 20.36% | 2.18% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 14.58% | 3.67% | 4.26% |
| 2011 | -0.33% | 1.05% | 4.78% |
| 2012 | 13.95% | 2.68% | 7.09% |
| 2013 | 18.21% | 13.11% | 6.69% |
| 2014 | 5.96% | 10.26% | 6.15% |
| 2015 | 0.92% | 7.50% | 5.57% |
| 2016 | 8.71% | 9.38% | 5.14% |
| 2017 | 17.12% | 9.98% | 6.27% |
| 2018 | -5.01% | 5.28% | 9.12% |
| 2019 | 19.89% | 7.91% | 9.08% |
| 2020 | 11.97% | 10.18% | 8.83% |
| 2021 | 14.22% | 11.27% | 10.32% |
| 2022 | -11.65% | 5.17% | 7.55% |
| 2023 | 13.39% | 8.96% | 7.10% |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |