US public pension profile· Alaska TRS
State of Alaska Teachers’ Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Alaska ·Fiscal year 2025
Alaska TRS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 6.5 billion
- Total membership
- 19,041
- Funded ratio
- 77.91%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.25%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 42.88% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 22.38% |
| Private equity | 15.32% |
| Real estate | 0.00% |
| Hedge funds | 5.69% |
| Cash | 0.00% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 10.12% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.52% |
| Ten years | 7.98% |
Alaska TRS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 3.3 billion | 20,122 | 95.00% | 8.25% |
| 2002 | USD 3.0 billion | 20,724 | 68.20% | 8.25% |
| 2003 | USD 2.9 billion | 21,220 | 64.30% | 8.25% |
| 2004 | USD 3.2 billion | 21,865 | 62.80% | 8.25% |
| 2005 | USD 3.2 billion | 22,376 | 60.90% | 8.25% |
| 2006 | USD 3.4 billion | 22,976 | 67.80% | 8.25% |
| 2007 | USD 3.8 billion | 22,675 | 68.20% | 8.25% |
| 2008 | USD 3.6 billion | 22,401 | 70.20% | 8.25% |
| 2009 | USD 2.6 billion | 22,195 | 57.00% | 8.25% |
| 2010 | USD 2.7 billion | 22,059 | 54.30% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 3.1 billion | 21,846 | 54.00% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 3.0 billion | 21,573 | 49.90% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 3.3 billion | 21,411 | 48.10% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 3.8 billion | 21,213 | 54.49% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 5.2 billion | 21,028 | 76.90% | 8.00% |
| 2016 | USD 4.9 billion | 20,827 | 75.82% | 8.00% |
| 2017 | USD 5.3 billion | 20,625 | 75.88% | 8.00% |
| 2018 | USD 5.5 billion | 20,392 | 76.16% | 7.38% |
| 2019 | USD 5.5 billion | 20,157 | 75.31% | 7.38% |
| 2020 | USD 5.4 billion | 19,986 | 75.02% | 7.38% |
| 2021 | USD 6.7 billion | 19,774 | 79.10% | 7.38% |
| 2022 | USD 6.0 billion | 19,494 | 78.17% | 7.25% |
| 2023 | USD 6.1 billion | 19,312 | 76.79% | 7.25% |
| 2024 | USD 6.2 billion | 19,041 | 77.91% | 7.25% |
| 2025 | USD 6.5 billion | 19,041 | 77.91% | 7.25% |
Alaska TRS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 61.06% | 31.68% | 0.00% | 7.26% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2002 | 56.46% | 35.70% | 0.00% | 7.84% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2003 | 59.59% | 33.43% | 0.00% | 6.98% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2004 | 58.11% | 30.93% | 3.39% | 7.57% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2005 | 55.35% | 27.83% | 4.41% | 9.60% | 2.44% | 0.00% |
| 2006 | 55.26% | 25.39% | 6.02% | 10.02% | 2.55% | 0.00% |
| 2007 | 55.66% | 21.62% | 6.71% | 10.97% | 3.87% | 0.00% |
| 2008 | 50.80% | 20.40% | 8.59% | 12.57% | 4.21% | 0.00% |
| 2009 | 51.97% | 15.34% | 8.86% | 0.00% | 4.27% | 0.56% |
| 2010 | 50.18% | 18.78% | 9.80% | 0.00% | 5.08% | 1.00% |
| 2011 | 54.14% | 16.37% | 9.23% | 0.00% | 4.43% | 0.52% |
| 2012 | 50.99% | 16.78% | 9.86% | 0.00% | 4.22% | 1.70% |
| 2013 | 54.60% | 13.13% | 8.89% | 0.00% | 4.38% | 1.80% |
| 2014 | 51.54% | 12.05% | 8.17% | 0.00% | 8.14% | 3.27% |
| 2015 | 52.04% | 11.89% | 7.70% | 0.00% | 9.41% | 1.72% |
| 2016 | 50.20% | 12.20% | 7.98% | 0.00% | 10.85% | 0.77% |
| 2017 | 49.20% | 13.29% | 8.43% | 0.00% | 10.18% | 1.95% |
| 2018 | 44.86% | 9.07% | 9.23% | 0.00% | 17.12% | 0.63% |
| 2019 | 45.07% | 10.50% | 10.53% | 0.00% | 15.50% | 1.87% |
| 2020 | 46.14% | 22.58% | 12.35% | 0.00% | 5.43% | 0.00% |
| 2021 | 45.82% | 21.13% | 14.89% | 0.00% | 5.85% | 0.00% |
| 2022 | 40.41% | 22.48% | 16.50% | 0.00% | 5.84% | 0.00% |
| 2023 | 41.96% | 19.28% | 16.26% | 0.00% | 8.15% | 0.00% |
| 2024 | 41.87% | 21.24% | 15.71% | 0.00% | 7.19% | 0.00% |
| 2025 | 42.88% | 22.38% | 15.32% | 0.00% | 5.69% | 0.00% |
Alaska TRS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -5.35% | 9.37% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -5.49% | 4.60% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 3.68% | 2.48% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 15.09% | 3.29% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 9.01% | 3.06% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 11.78% | 6.56% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 18.92% | 11.57% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -3.05% | 10.10% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -20.62% | 2.20% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 11.58% | 2.66% | 2.88% |
| 2011 | 21.40% | 4.37% | 5.47% |
| 2012 | 0.51% | 0.90% | 6.12% |
| 2013 | 12.59% | 3.98% | 7.00% |
| 2014 | 18.46% | 12.66% | 7.31% |
| 2015 | 3.30% | 10.96% | 6.73% |
| 2016 | -0.36% | 6.67% | 5.52% |
| 2017 | 13.36% | 9.27% | 5.01% |
| 2018 | 9.62% | 8.68% | 6.31% |
| 2019 | 6.39% | 6.35% | 9.47% |
| 2020 | 3.83% | 6.46% | 8.68% |
| 2021 | 27.65% | 11.87% | 9.23% |
| 2022 | -4.10% | 8.19% | 8.72% |
| 2023 | 7.02% | 7.67% | 8.17% |
| 2024 | 9.23% | 8.24% | 7.29% |
| 2025 | 10.12% | 9.52% | 7.98% |