US public pension profile· Alaska PERS
State of Alaska Public Employees’ Retirement System
Funding, investment choices and long-term returns.
Alaska ·Fiscal year 2025
Alaska PERS: fiscal year 2025 at a glance
- Market value of assets
- USD 12.3 billion
- Total membership
- 61,251
- Funded ratio
- 68.04%
- Assumed investment return
- 7.25%
Asset allocation in 2025
| Public equity | 42.75% |
|---|---|
| Fixed income | 22.33% |
| Private equity | 15.28% |
| Real estate | 0.00% |
| Hedge funds | 5.68% |
| Cash | 0.00% |
Returns to 2025
| One year | 10.10% |
|---|---|
| Five years | 9.52% |
| Ten years | 7.98% |
Alaska PERS: size and funding over time
| Fiscal year | Market value of assets | Membership | Funded ratio | Return assumption |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | USD 5.8 billion | 66,305 | 100.90% | 8.25% |
| 2002 | USD 5.3 billion | 67,460 | 75.20% | 8.25% |
| 2003 | USD 5.3 billion | 69,135 | 72.80% | 8.25% |
| 2004 | USD 5.9 billion | 71,009 | 70.20% | 8.25% |
| 2005 | USD 6.1 billion | 73,299 | 65.70% | 8.25% |
| 2006 | USD 6.6 billion | 76,346 | 78.20% | 8.25% |
| 2007 | USD 7.4 billion | 75,659 | 77.80% | 8.25% |
| 2008 | USD 6.9 billion | 74,489 | 78.80% | 8.25% |
| 2009 | USD 5.1 billion | 73,772 | 63.00% | 8.25% |
| 2010 | USD 5.4 billion | 73,475 | 62.40% | 8.00% |
| 2011 | USD 6.3 billion | 72,194 | 61.90% | 8.00% |
| 2012 | USD 6.1 billion | 71,116 | 57.10% | 8.00% |
| 2013 | USD 6.7 billion | 70,212 | 54.50% | 8.00% |
| 2014 | USD 7.7 billion | 69,289 | 59.71% | 8.00% |
| 2015 | USD 8.6 billion | 68,448 | 66.96% | 8.00% |
| 2016 | USD 8.2 billion | 67,498 | 66.43% | 8.00% |
| 2017 | USD 8.9 billion | 66,534 | 66.73% | 8.00% |
| 2018 | USD 9.3 billion | 65,740 | 64.56% | 7.38% |
| 2019 | USD 9.5 billion | 64,882 | 63.68% | 7.38% |
| 2020 | USD 9.5 billion | 64,108 | 63.57% | 7.38% |
| 2021 | USD 11.9 billion | 63,172 | 67.88% | 7.38% |
| 2022 | USD 10.8 billion | 62,216 | 68.11% | 7.25% |
| 2023 | USD 11.1 billion | 61,882 | 66.96% | 7.25% |
| 2024 | USD 11.6 billion | 61,251 | 68.04% | 7.25% |
| 2025 | USD 12.3 billion | 61,251 | 68.04% | 7.25% |
Alaska PERS: asset allocation over time
| Fiscal year | Public equity | Fixed income | Private equity | Real estate | Hedge funds | Cash |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | 61.13% | 31.58% | 0.00% | 7.29% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2002 | 56.63% | 35.54% | 0.00% | 7.83% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2003 | 59.79% | 33.21% | 0.00% | 7.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2004 | 58.25% | 30.67% | 3.29% | 7.69% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| 2005 | 55.53% | 27.59% | 4.42% | 9.64% | 2.45% | 0.00% |
| 2006 | 55.35% | 25.27% | 6.03% | 10.04% | 2.55% | 0.00% |
| 2007 | 55.76% | 21.63% | 6.69% | 10.87% | 3.88% | 0.00% |
| 2008 | 50.54% | 20.98% | 8.53% | 12.50% | 4.18% | 0.00% |
| 2009 | 51.39% | 15.85% | 8.82% | 0.00% | 4.25% | 0.61% |
| 2010 | 49.97% | 18.91% | 9.76% | 0.00% | 5.06% | 1.19% |
| 2011 | 53.85% | 16.53% | 9.20% | 0.00% | 4.40% | 0.74% |
| 2012 | 51.38% | 16.28% | 9.94% | 0.00% | 4.25% | 1.68% |
| 2013 | 55.00% | 13.23% | 8.96% | 0.00% | 4.41% | 1.19% |
| 2014 | 51.54% | 12.05% | 8.17% | 0.00% | 8.14% | 3.27% |
| 2015 | 52.01% | 11.88% | 7.69% | 0.00% | 9.41% | 1.77% |
| 2016 | 50.26% | 12.23% | 7.99% | 0.00% | 10.85% | 0.66% |
| 2017 | 49.19% | 13.29% | 8.43% | 0.00% | 10.18% | 1.96% |
| 2018 | 44.86% | 9.07% | 9.23% | 0.00% | 17.12% | 0.63% |
| 2019 | 45.07% | 10.50% | 10.54% | 0.00% | 15.50% | 1.86% |
| 2020 | 46.10% | 22.63% | 12.34% | 0.00% | 5.43% | 0.00% |
| 2021 | 45.78% | 21.18% | 14.88% | 0.00% | 5.85% | 0.00% |
| 2022 | 40.36% | 22.57% | 16.49% | 0.00% | 5.83% | 0.00% |
| 2023 | 41.54% | 19.12% | 16.09% | 0.00% | 9.05% | 0.00% |
| 2024 | 41.91% | 21.17% | 15.72% | 0.00% | 7.20% | 0.00% |
| 2025 | 42.75% | 22.33% | 15.28% | 0.00% | 5.68% | 0.00% |
Alaska PERS: investment returns
Each year shows the return over the preceding one, five and ten years.
| Fiscal year | One year | Five years | Ten years |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2001 | -5.25% | 9.35% | Not reported |
| 2002 | -5.48% | 4.57% | Not reported |
| 2003 | 3.67% | 2.47% | Not reported |
| 2004 | 15.08% | 3.29% | Not reported |
| 2005 | 8.95% | 3.06% | Not reported |
| 2006 | 11.74% | 6.54% | Not reported |
| 2007 | 18.88% | 11.54% | Not reported |
| 2008 | -3.06% | 10.06% | Not reported |
| 2009 | -20.49% | 2.20% | Not reported |
| 2010 | 11.39% | 2.65% | 2.87% |
| 2011 | 21.22% | 4.33% | 5.44% |
| 2012 | 0.46% | 0.86% | 6.08% |
| 2013 | 12.50% | 3.92% | 6.96% |
| 2014 | 18.56% | 12.58% | 7.27% |
| 2015 | 3.29% | 10.89% | 6.70% |
| 2016 | -0.36% | 6.64% | 5.49% |
| 2017 | 13.35% | 9.24% | 4.99% |
| 2018 | 9.61% | 8.68% | 6.28% |
| 2019 | 6.40% | 6.35% | 9.43% |
| 2020 | 3.83% | 6.46% | 8.66% |
| 2021 | 27.62% | 11.86% | 9.22% |
| 2022 | -4.08% | 8.19% | 8.72% |
| 2023 | 7.03% | 7.68% | 8.18% |
| 2024 | 9.22% | 8.25% | 7.29% |
| 2025 | 10.10% | 9.52% | 7.98% |